We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very warm and pleasant service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very warm and pleasant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff is very helpful and welcoming.
Services are of high quality:
- quiet bedroom, and fun decor
- nice lobbies
- very good breakfast
- very good internet facility
it is not far from the centre (10/15 minutes walk or 2 metro stops).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves-bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Yves-bxl,
Your review gave us, as a new a hotel, a positive confidence. You appreciate and mentioned those five areas which we are committed to cherish at Paasi. Thank you for sharing and emphasizing those things for us. Hope to meet you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    423
    76
    11
    4
See reviews for
167
431
89
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
981 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife,. Nice personal room in 6th floor with lovely balcony(distant sea views) and sauna(!) and all that about 120€/night(and you get 6€-20€/night restaurant vouchers too, if you are loyal customer). Interior in room and in whole hotel is millions miles away from that normal boring stuff you usually find in big hotel chains, for example we had heart shaped pillows as decoration and boxing ball in our room :) Front desk was maybe the best I've ever seen, especially Ella(if I'm correct). When we left to shopping, she went to put more coins to parking meter outside! And whatever we needed, she was right there to help. Breakfast room was real nice too, you get juices by using IPad etc. It really was positive surprise and we both absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ville S,
Your friendly comments brought sun shine to our hearts, especially for our Ella. Thank you! That is our objective - to be right there for you when ever you need. How lovely to hear that you and your wife liked your room. Your nice pictures reveal that you stayed in our Twin superior extra room and name of the interior design was "leisure". And how delighted we are that you two have joined our "Scandic Friends" being our loyal customers. We are really looking forward to meet you soon again, so warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. It's one of Scandic's "story"-hotels, so it's something different from the usual chain hotel blandness. Rooms have a theme, either from 20's, 50's, or 2010's.

I got a nice room with a darkish 2010's theme in the modern part of the hotel, which was very nice and quiet. A big balcony to the inner yard, high rooms (over three metres), comfortable beds, nice bathroom with heated floors.

Hotel location is excellent, very close to the metro station, and withing walking distance of the city centre (10-15 minutes). Only minus would be the lack of own parking places or garages. You have to use the regular street parking, which is not free from Monday to Friday between 9-21 and Saturdays 9-18 in the vicinity of the hotel. And maximum allowed parking duration during the day is four hours, so don't plan on leaving the car there for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ilari,
Your so positive review summaries in a nice way Paasi's identity and also it's strentghts. Thank you so much for describing your experience and sharing pictures.You are right, parking is our important development area. We have now found very good co-operation with two parking halls close to Paasi; departments store (on the other side of our park) and Jaffa Station under Hakaniemi Square (150 metres from our main door). Both ask for hour based fee for overnight parking. Best and happy summer regards from our team to you in Germany, hope to see you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, super friendly staff. Super comfortable rooms - interesting design, but really nice to be there. Location couldn't be better - almost in the center of the city, there is a market nearby, and lost of public transportation in 1 minute of walking - buses, trams, and metro. Yet, it's so quite in the hotel, since it's not on the main street, but in the small park. Highly recommended. There's only one lack - no spa.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony are the best. No view, but it faces really quite inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Semyon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Semyon M,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience as our guest. How wonderful to hear that your trip all the way from Israel was pleasant. The title of your review inspires our team highly, thank you for that. Hopefully we can meet you soon again at Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spoilled yourselves for once and booked a room at this funky new hotel in the heart of Helsinki´s up and coming trendy area. Hotel has rooms in three different eras of history - 20´s, 50´s and 2010´s. We loved our room in the modern 2010 part of the building. We had a large balcony facing the inner jugend patio. I don´t know if we were aloud but I bought champagne to the room and we watched USA-Finland game in telly. Loved, loved loved this hotel and the reception staff. I will deffinitely come back! xoxo

Room Tip: 2010 design queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear maimai, all team members of Scandic Paasi's reception are sending their love back, and are so excited about your positive experience. We are looking forward to meet you two soon again as our guests! And thank you for sharing this super friendly review! Please take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have chosen staying at Scandic Paasi after reading many great reviews. And I must say I do not regret this choice. It is a very nice hotel with outstanding design and excellent service. Check in/out went extremely fast. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and always smiling. Our superior room was very comfortable. I don´t know about other room types but this one was large enough. It had a nice bathroom, too. The breakfast was great, a wide range of foods to choose from.
We also tried one of the hotel restaurants. The food was nice enough although we had higher expectations. All in all I do recommend Scandic Paasi :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the superior rooms. It was spacious enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear PetraB8, our best regards to you. And thank you so much for sharing your review and three very good pictures of the room, where you stayed as our guest. Room category was "superior extra" and we have that in three different interior design. The one you had is called "spectacular". We are so glad to hear that you felt it spacious enough and comportable. Hope to have you as our guest soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Scandic Paasi for one night on a weekend party trip to Helsinki and were very pleasantly surprised. The design, location and service are all top-notch.

I wanted to surprise my sister who's an interior designer and chose the hotel specifically because of its design. From the lobby to the rooms everything is aesthetically pleasing and also functional. Our room was in the modern wing and we had a big balcony overlooking the courtyard, a nice surprise. The breakfast room was also spacious and had plenty of room to move around and wasn't too crowded even on a Sunday morning.

The location of the hotel is in a part of Helsinki I don't usually frequent but was actually very convenient. There's a big department store right next door and the trams leave only a 100m away. There are also some really nice restaurants close-by, Finnish restaurant Sävel for example serves delicious food.

The service was super friendly from the start. Check in was smooth and made us feel welcome.

All in all it's one of the best hotel experiences I've had and will recommend this hotel to all my friends from now on. It's a true Helsinki gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theredone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear theredone, thank you so much for letting us to be part of your surprise for your sister. Your review and experience inspired us strongly, and made us realise we should bring out more our weekend "celebration package", which was created just for that kind of moments you and your sister had. How happy we are that you enjoyed your stay. And your last comment about true Helsinki gem makes us humbly grateful. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Property: Scandic Paasi
Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing