We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great smokesalmon sandwich, safest toilet in town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salutorget

Salutorget
Ranked #62 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great smokesalmon sandwich, safest toilet in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were today on terrace. We ate smokesalmon sandwich, karelian pies and lemon meringuepie, house coffee and latte. Everything was delicious. Location is the best you can hope. Stuff is very friendly. Price is reasonable. What else you can hope for. The safest toilet in town is also worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hakjuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    137
    43
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Historical atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Salutorget is the high quality restaurant with very classic interior.
Food and service are very good quality. There are also an excellent sunday brunch buffet. I think it is closed for brunch in the middle of the summer. Location is very good if you are in the city.
It is at market square near the president castle. I visited there with my wife and had Scandinavian menu. It was perfect. I recommend this restaurant. Price level 50€+, but worthy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a peaceful business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Impressive interior and a really peaceful atmosphere make this place a really good traditional business lunch place. It is a Scandinavian bistro so the food is pretty simple. The price level is pretty high (menus are about 50 euros per person), but the location is excellent and the place is rarely too crowded. Service is also really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
412 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“A good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was going to sit outside, but it began to spit with rain, so I went in. As others have remarked, the interior is a treat.

Service was excellent and attentive. As soon as my beer was finished, someone came up and asked if I wanted another. Plates were cleared promptly.

I love whitefish and ordered the whitefish and asparagus dish to start with. A very good choice. And for the main course, I had reindeer shank. It was melting and tasty. Dessert? Rhubarb crumble and a cardamom sauce. I never thought that these would go together, but they did.

So why not a five? The reindeer was very good - but too salty for my taste.

Would I go back? Yes, next time I'm in Helsinki, I'm sure I shall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical athmosphere & good food place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A lovely restaurant in the middle of Helsinki. Excellent food and good service. You can feel the old history from the walls and the achitechture. Beautiful place. Their menu has many good possibilities to enjoy of a tasty food. And we had as a dessert passion mousse & youghurt ice cream, that was a heavenly combination!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaspis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salutorget also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Salutorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing