We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Kapyla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Kapyla
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a lovely hotel to stay at. It is situated in a quiet, pretty are, yet only about 15 mins from the centre of town Bus 69 will get you to both the train and bus station. Our room was large, it was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and had everything we needed and more, except a kettle. That seems to be standard here in Helsinki though. I cannot praise the welcoming staff enough. We had arrived, after a horrendous trip on the St Peterline to St Petersburg,feeling quite shattered and tired.The lady on the desk gave us a wonderful room with views and told us to relax. She filled us in on all the details re the hotel. There were smiles all around, and after Russia's coldness, we instantly felt much better. In fact, all the staff here were a cut above average. Breakfast was a little different to what we are used to, but it was very tasty. Different only means that it served vegetables, etc It did not detract from our enjoyment of it an quite probably was a Finnish breakfast, which I am not familiar with. Brie cheese was yum. I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: I don't know about a good room, however a tip to English speaking travellers. If english is your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
23
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel is located adjacent to a beautiful historic protected wooden houses ensemble but quite far from city centre (closer to airport than city). Tram has end station in front of the house but operates only by 19:00, bus leaves ca. 50m but unreliable schedule. Taxi to city can cost up to 30 EUR one-way - so in a nutshell the location is biggest downside of this property!

The lobby looks more promising than the rooms can keep but in general you get all what you need in Finnish standards (small room, soft beds, good heating, TV, bathroom with shower, hot water). Breakfast was mediocre but "normal" in Finland: at least good coffee!

Note that they charge Sauna 25 EUR for 30minutes which is a scam for Finland! Wifi is also charged high.

If you get a tour operator rate around 55-65 EUR this is ok place, if you need to pay the flexible rate "pay at hotel" around 150 EUR it's not worth the money! Go elsewhere closer to downtown for same rate (if you available) - free parking in the streets from 18-9 - not sure if free somewhere closeby 24/7?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I arrived late in the evening in Helsinki and departed +/- 20 hours later. You can go directly from the airport to the hotel with bus 615; it's then a 5 - 10 walk from the busstop.
The rooms, breakfast and staff are ok. A tramline is stopping just in front of the hotel, but stops at 18h15, but other ways of transport to go to the city are in the neighbours. In less than 30 minutes, you are in the middle of the city.
Outside of the hotel there are no places of interest. I don't think the place is ideal for a longer stay, but the price I payed offered a more than excellent price / quality ratio!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank focus1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakobstad
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

First of all the hotel is very far from the city center and there is nothing aroud the hotel. Second issue I had with the hotel was the reception girls. It seemed that they were some students helping at the reception, and they had absolutely no idea of customer service. That same experiece continued in the restaurant.
There are much better hotels in Helsinki, so you do well to skip this one!

Room Tip: There are much better hotels in Helsinki for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

A nice hotel in a charming area and great value for money. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and a fantastic buffet breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulima100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel has been providing us accommodation for several times in the previous years. We have been happy on the service we have received and the value for the money.

The hotel not central, but the connection by public transport (tram, bus, even train) is good.

The rooms are ok, but may have some street noise if on the street side. The rooms on the yard side are quieter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_chap_from_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel as part of a customer consulting project in Helsinki. I was disappointed in the value for money, even though the hotel was relatively inexpensive. Also, the location turned out to be quite inconvenient. The additional irritation was that this hotel seemed to be in favor of certain kind of ladies, judging by the amount and kind of couples coming and going constantly.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nappanee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga
1.3 mi away
Ava Hotel
Ava Hotel
#45 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#48 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
2.8 mi away
Scandic Park Helsinki
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cumulus Hakaniemi
Cumulus Hakaniemi
#38 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kapyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kapyla

Property: Park Hotel Kapyla
Address: Pohjolankatu 38, Helsinki 00610, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kapyla 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Hotel Kapyla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing