We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel near the heart of Helsinki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found the hotel to be most comfortable and the staff friendly. It is quite a busy place especially because it has many tour groups. With an all-day transit pass, the hotel is convenient to everything in Helsinki. There are four different tram lines that pass within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Furthermore, Helsinki is an easy walking city. In addition, there are many restaurants nearby.

Now the for the issues. First, breakfast was OK, but nothing like we had in hotels in Oslo, Stockholm, or Copenhagen. Second, as we have been finding, controlling the room temperature is very difficult. While this was the coolest of four that we stayed in, we were unable to cool it down enough for comfortable sleeping. Third, while we had Wifi, access to the Internet was sporadic. Often we would have a connection and it would disappear. A number of people in our group made comments about its lack of reliability, especially when one was halfway through trying to send an e-mail. Finally, the shower (room 809) leaked at the bottom and made the bath mat useless. Simple caulking would solve the problem.

Room Tip: The do not appear to be any bad rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dick_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear dick_mary,

Thank you for your time when writing this review and staying with us in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. However, I am certainly disappointed by the too warm room temperature and stucked drain in your room. Wifi connections were under maintenance during your stay as its capacity was improved. I apologize that this fact was not told to you at that time.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to all person in this hotel reaaly it amazin we will go back to hotel again ee will be there very soon really we will be back very soooon staff is very nice and helpful you should go by your self to see the nice hoyel

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank أيمن ع
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear أيمن ع,

Thank very much for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti for your stay in Helsinki.

I am so glad to read your review of our hotel and your comment on our staff makes me especially happy.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just stayed at the last leg of our fjords and capitals trips organized by Authentic Scandinavia an excellent trip planning company which arranged all the trains, boats and hotels to allow us to travel independently. They made great selections except this hotel.
The Hotel Presidentti in Helsinki deserves a 2 out of 5 star at the most! The issues were:
--big hotel with lots of rooms but the front desk was always understaffed and long waits to get any information since there was no concierge
--the hotel is a block long but has only elevators on the front and therefore there was a very very long walk from elevators to the rooms. And we could not use the stairs which were locked (which caused up concern if there was a fire).
--the air conditioning did not work and and windows were locked and could only be opened by going to the front desk to get a handle to unlock the windows to get some air.
--the breakfasts were crowded—too small a room for the large number of rooms and the food was only fair.
I am sure there are better choices

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 802VtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear 802VtTraveler,

Thank you very much for staying at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti and for writing a review of us.

I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations concerning your stay. It is true that we do not have separate concierge service but our reception staff does always their best to help our guests in different matters. Unfortunately, sometimes we do have some overcrowding at the reception but we try to solve it best possible way.

Concerning the safety issue about the stairs I can ensure you that the staircase is always open from the guest room floors downwards and also you can use the stairs upwards by using your keycard.

Once again I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel this time and I highly appreciate your opinions.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lovely large rooms with comfortable beds and air con you can control. Nice and clean and well maintained
Good choice of breakfast and very central for everything from trains, trams, shopping, lots of restaurants etc. Also within walking distance of many attractions

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedragon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear bluegragon52,

I was so delighted to read your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. Thank you very much for taking your time to do that.

I wish you nice summer time and hope to see you again at our hotel when you next visit Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to Finland.
When checking in I was surprised and impressed by the friendliness of staff. They were so helpful and it made my day. The room was functional, the sauna was very nice. Breakfast was impressive - they offer a great buffet. Location is convenient. Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LunaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear LunaJ,

Thank you so much for your review and your positive opinions on Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. Especially your comment on our staff makes us so happy!

I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you also for recommending us.

I wish you most welcome to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti also next time when visiting Helsinki!

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel very good location and near to the parliament house of Finland and within short walking distance to train ,bus stops, near shopping mall, lots of indian restaurant....
Room check-in good way, staff are helpful ,room are large with nice and comfy bed.

breakfast was simple but good taste and superb good coffee.

over all superb location , room good & clean but little old ambient ,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasadrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear prasadrr,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. It really makes me happy that we have succeeded in offering you a nice stay at our hotel.

You are truly right with you comment on our location – we really are in the middle of everything you need at a nice city break!

We are looking forward to meeting you also next time when you come to Helsinki.

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is in a good location as it is close to the railway station and the hop on hop off bus stop. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room clean and comfortable and breakfast had a good selection of dishes to choose. Unfortunately they did not have a person to take our bags to our room, so we had to handle that part ourselves. It did not worry us too much but may be a concern to an elderly traveller with physical issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolyn545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Jolyn545,

Thank you very much for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti for your hotel in Helsinki.

I am very glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and liked your stay with us. We do not have a full-time porter at our hotel but we always try to offer our help to elderly people with their luggage.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time when you visit Helsinki.

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
958 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#26 of 64 in Helsinki
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $140 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing