We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Huittinen, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Location of this hotel is really good, short walk to the railway- or busstation.
Staff was really kind and helpful. I had made booking via some booking system, first they couldn't find it, but it wasn't problem and I got the room. I asked later and they have found my reservation. But that's ok, the lady in reseption was really friendly! And corridor is big and cosy, lift was quick, everything seems very clean.
Room was basic and clean, peaceful also. Bed was good, and also pillow (I have often problems with pillows and my neck)!
Tasty breakfast, many different foods...
Conferenceroom is also basic, good.

I would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaK239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    448
    294
    76
    29
See reviews for
161
224
108
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imatra, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very Basic cuty hotel these days, maybe it was even more origina yeara ago. Rooms ok, long corridors. Sauna department in the ground floor very basic. Location is very good, restaurants and services all around. All hotels were crowded, and the check-in procedure was very quick, thanks for that. Good for business and maybe shopping if you plan just to sleep there. Very good breakfast, Original Sokos style.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner yard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Harri H,
Thank you for this rewiev and choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti when visiting in Helsinki.
I was happy to read that our facilities and services overall met your expectations. Your tip regarding room location is most likely appreciated by our other guests.
Welcome to our hotel again when returning to Helsinki.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My visit here was just a short night. Due to overbooking, I was given a lower lovel room than what I had reserved and paid, but this was later compensated for, so no hard feelings. The location of the hotel is really central: about 5 minutes walk from the railway station and right next to the main bus station and metro. This also means that the neighborhood is busy also late in the night. Despite of this, the room was really silent: no traffic noise, no scremas from outside, nothing. At least the basic level rooms are, well, basic. Still, they function well with ony maybe the air conditioning being a downside (slight noise, draft, dry air). The breakfast buffet was ok and fulfilled the need. As a small hint, be there early enough especially in the weekends, it's getting quite crowded near the closing time. There would have been a possibility for a morning sauna, but sadly I didn't have time for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Average rooms with mildly modernized furniture. Modest but clean. Rather thin walls. You can hear if phone rings in next room. Also some music sounded through in the evening (not during night). WiFi was very hard to use - had to try username/password several times. Got it working when changed browser from Chrome to Safari.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank priitliivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Within walking distance of harbor market and downtown attractions and shopping. Buffet breakfast was vast and varied, appealing to all tastes. Service was prompt. Lobby coffee was expensive, but free internet and printing was available. Moderate price, nothing outstanding, but rooms were clean and adequate. Desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamandDRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear pamandDRJ,

Thank you for staying with us in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti and this encouraging review.
It was nice to read that our service met your expectations, and our staff managed to carry out that kind of successful service that we have aimed.
I welcome you again as our guest when next time returning to Helsinki.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You couldn't get more central location than this. We asked for a quiet room and we were given a room in the top floor, facing Kamppi square. It was amazingly quiet, I really appreciated it. The hotel breakfast was crowded starting from 7 am in the morning and they run out of some items. Check-out is very fast: you just leave your key cards to a box beside the front desk (if you have no open bills). Hotel has popular restaurants and bars, so Friday and Saturday evenings were busy in the lobby. There is a 24/7 lobby cafe, which is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a good hotel very centrally situated.The room was spacious enough for my needs & was very well cleaned.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice & there was no problem finding somewhere to sit.There was a tram line close by,though it was easy enough to walk to many tourist sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmutmac`
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
939 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#24 of 65 in Helsinki
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing