We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Sokos Presidentii was recommended to me by a professional friend of mine for stay here. The hotel's location was very convenient. Everything we wanted: restaurants, shopping places, access to the Metro, Trams and Buses were just around corner. Even the airport bus shuttle stop is within walking distance from the hotel. This is especially helpful if you are hauling a big suitcase around.

The rooms were a little dated, atleast didnt meet my expectations, but they were clean and very functional.

The morning buffet breakfast was always crowded, and offered a very little choices for a vegetarians such as my wife and I. The pool was fairly big for a hotel pool and the sauna was clean and I would say definitely hygenic.

The staff were however very patient and helpful and usually had all the information available at hand, and were helpful in making recommendations for things to do in Helsinki, good places for shopping amongst other things.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudarshan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here to have some meetings with a small group of people. The conference room was well priced, staff was helpful. Rooms were a good size and well equiped. It is worth the stay if you are planning some meetings.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kanadaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and found this to be a decent, convenient hotel. The room was large and clean, the breakfast ample, and the new shopping area (with lots of shops and restaurants) is literally behind the hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Don't let the corridors and ugly corridors scare you off, the rooms are allright. Breakfast is pretty good.
It is more of a business hotel than a romantic getaway, so it isn't cozy at all but it is clean and well run.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britta_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is just too big. The rooms and breakfast are OK but if all guests come down to breakfast at the same time it's total chaos. It's a conference venue and what seemed like half of one conference decided to continue their discussions in the room next to ours until 1 AM! We had to call the management, and to be fair they came up quickly to sort things out. It is noisy anyway, a bar in the square outside pumping out drum and bass beats until the early hours and which the double glazing couldn't cope with. There was air con, but it was a cold June and the heating was permanently off. There are far better hotels in Helsinki and we will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an inward or front facing room, not one overlooking the Kampi square.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclarke1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for visit and feedback regarding your stay at Sokos Hotel Presidentti. I regret that our location in Helsinki downtown and other hotel guests caused problems to you during the night. It is definitely our goal to make every guests stay as safe and comfortable as possible.
Music that you mentioned came from the neighbouring restaurant which is not owned by hotel and they do have licence to play music until 10 p.m. Neither the disturbing noise caused by other guests as long it's not inappropriate is very difficult to control from our side.
I am truly sorry for inconvenience caused to you. I still hope that this incident will not affect to your confidence against our hotel nor Sokos Hotels chain in a future.
Sincerely,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The grand old days of President hotel are gone. Used to be the No 1 hotel in 1980ies, nowadays rooms are refurbished, but restaurant service is not good. A pity the casino moved out. Breakfast was average and overcrowded with tourists, and the bar though comfortable had staff wearing strange underground clothes. Certainly not a hotel uniform. Receptionist are mainly inexperienced hotel school grads or students. The Sevilla restaurant is run incompetently, as the food is sometimes very good and sometimes very bad. Care not to say more about that. Minibar poorly stocked. Lobby computers no place to sit, though the lobby itself is nice and spacious. Having said that the room fulfilled the purpose was quiet and the location is excellent. But SOKOS hotels as always tends to regress to the mean more and more. Still SOKOS is okay for a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while spouse did business. Close to shopping , restaurants and museums. Good value for this overpriced city.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pampemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
960 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#25 of 64 in Helsinki
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $140 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing