We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Helsiniki is here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Rijeka
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helsiniki is here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Been in this hotel already four times and there is absolutely nothing to complain about it. I also always get an excellent price because booking it trough a local agent in Finland. Location totally central, next to the kamppi shopping center. The train and bus station are less than 1km away. Free WiFi. Beautiful breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regenerator101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    391
    250
    62
    22
See reviews for
133
188
96
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel for more than 3 years. I really the size of rooms (plenty of room and well equipped). The breakfast more than decent one of the best I have ever tried on similar level hotels across Europe. The location is just in the town centre, next to the Kampi Shopping Mall.

Maybe in the net years they could consider renovate the rooms or the building but this is not a blocking factor for selecting this hotel.

I have never had any problem with the stuff, always helping and kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apostolopoulosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean and is in a central location which means it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city and the central rail and bus stations. Take the airport bus from the airport and you'll save around €35 on the cost of a taxi. The room was large, clean and quiet and there was a large selection of items for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garethpauljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed in Sokos hotel Presidentti half a dozen times during business trips in Helsinki. Hotel is very well located, right in the center of the city. Main train station is about 5 minutes walk away and metro station locates just a cross the street. Also busses and trams stops nearby.

Rooms are big enough. I have always stayed in two person rooms so I'm not sure how big are the rooms for 3-4 person. If you get room with view to street, the noise from trams and trucks might be disturbing. I recommend you ask room with view to mall Kamppi or inner court. Rooms are clean and bathroom is ok. In my room there was shower together with bathtub. And if you are big person you might have difficulties to take shower. I prefer shower more than bath.

Breakfast is really good. There are lot of different breads and cold cuts to choose from. Of course there are eggs and bacon, porridge, cereal and meatballs. I'm sure there something for everybody.

I would recommend this hotel to my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotspur_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Location is very good. It is possible to walk around the city centre. Trams and metro stops nearby. Hotel room can be quite noisy because of the trams, depending where your hotel room locates. We stayed there one night as a family and we got a quite big nice room with views to two directions. Bathroom ok. Nice breakfast and good customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is a good business hotel located in downtown in 5 min from Rail way terminal and in a walking distance from numerous stores. Hotel provides testy buffet breakfast and access to sauna. Staff is kind and good-skilled. I recommend to stay in this hotel to businessmen who have tight schedule but want to see the capital city after work.

Room Tip: Any rooms on floors 4-8 are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent one night there in mid April 2012. Hotel is centrally located, about 5-7mins from the airport bus and train station, but in fairly quiet location. Many bars and restaurants are close by, so is metro station and supermarket, so the location is perfect- also just across the street from the Sibelius Academy.
The hotel is very big- maze of corridors that feel very cold and impersonal. Room was clean, quiet, relatively spacious and modern but the bathroom was very small and a bit dated- think mid 80's. The bathtub sits rather high and is not very easy to get inside. I am early 30 and getting in and out was rather uncomfortable- can't imagine someone much older with mobility problem.
Breakfast was OK- self service but not much an option of warm breakfast for vegetarians.
Free internet is a bonus but the sauna is open only in the morning until 10 am and then for a few hours in late afternoon- not ideal.
The price seems rather high -GBP 120. It is only a 4star- decent quality, but nothing very special. I would stay there again quite happily, but the price should be more around GBP 80 mark.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing