We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivoli in the middle of the lively...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Plankstadt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rivoli in the middle of the lively...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Recomended by a colleague we chose this hotel for a business trip. The hotel is a bit hidden in a back yard, but don´t be sceptical - it is a really nice hotel. Big rooms and to my understanding they all look a bit different. No real bar in the lobby but friendly service from the reception if you need anything. Due being in the backyard very calm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    129
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
114
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rovaniemi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Previous physical descriptions of this hotel are accurate so I will not elaborate.

To sum it up, the location is good (walkable distance to the train station if your suitcases are not too heavy), by the Esplanade. Breakfast is excellent.

The hotel caters to a mature clientele. If you are under 45, you may end up occupying the worst rooms of the hotel (stained carpet, small, moldy air conditioner, etc.). Such was our room and for an extended stay of more than a week, it was quite uncomfortable.

The internet is not free (10 euros per day in Finland of all places!). The sauna is not complimentary either (10 euros as well), which is quite unusual for Finland.

The older male receptionist, with blonde hair, was unbelievable rude to me. We arrived by train from Savonlinna and probably did not look our best having dragged our suitcases to the hotel, and that gave him the right to pull the passport out of my hand to check if I knew how to write the passport number on the form you have to fill out upon check-in or to check my identity even though the hotel was pre-paid. We spent over four weeks in Finland in various hotels and, while the passport number was always a requirement on forms, no one even asked to look at it, least of all pull it out of my hand as if in disbelief that I held a valid Canadian passport. Subsequently, he was rude to me and to my husband on a number of occasions even though we did our best to say speak the few words of Finnish we knew so as not to sound too rude.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel nor will I return here in our future trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vovelle1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Great hotel in the very city center. Beds are perfect, rooms not too big but silent and breakfast is very good however a bit crowded during peak time around 9am. If travelling by car be careful with parking. The hotel has only five places and the parking nearby is extremely expensive (around 60 euro a day except sunday). Hint: at ten minutes walk you will find zone 3 parking for only 1 euro/hour and free in the night so max 10 euro /day. Best place is just behind the Silja Olympia terminal with unlimited time zone 3 parking.
Next to the hotel is popular club Kaarle XII. Open from thursday-saturday 9-4. No single problem with it: it's very handy if you visit the city for nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel is amazing for the price. We paid $100 a night for a twin room with bathroom and breakfast. The room wasn't huge but it had two twin beds, a lounge, a desk, flat screen telly and the most comfortable beds in Europe! The breakfast was excellent and there was tea and coffee and cookies available all day for free. The location is so central - we could walk everywhere and the serv ice was great. What a find in an otherwise expensive city. The supermarket is just up the road 50 metres and there are numerous take-aways in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelJamAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed here two nights as part of a tour (25 people), and I thought it was excellent. I had a room on the 5th floor, there is a tiny but speedy elevator. The room was beautiful, everything seemed very new! Nice light hardwood floors, lots of newer IKEA-like wood furnishings. My room wasn't huge but was spacious, a double bed, desk and chair, another chair, dresser, and TV stand. Lots of storage space, small refrigerator.
Bathroom was very nice, good sized.
I had a corner room, with a nice view of the courtyard and other buildings, so my room was quite bright. The hotel is set back off the street slightly so it was very quiet.

Had the breakfast buffet two mornings, and it was good, nice selection, typical european breakfast buffet.
The hotel staff were very friendly, and helpfull, and spoke excellent english.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel is classed as a 4 star on expedia. It isn't. The rooms and lobby are very dated and badly in need of refurbishment. The rooms use old-fashioned keys and at least my doorlock was a nightmare to operate (I had to ask reception for help, and the guy on duty told me they often had such problems).

The breakfast is quite disappointing when compared with allegedly equivalent Helsinki hotels (e.g. Helka, Torni, Marski), and the breakfast room is basically just in the lobby, next to the bar, which is not very pleasant.

Location-wise, it's handy for the esplanade, not too bad for the train station, but a long way to the bus station.

On the plus side, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and they have free copies of the FT and Economist for guests. However, this isn't enough to justify my staying there again when there are better options for the same or less money.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Judging for Finnish Toy Dog Assoc'n who booked our stay for 5 days. Friendly welcome & very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was nice & clean throughout, enjoyed the breakfasts which were inclusive, tea, coffee, biscuits & pastries freely available all day, much appreciated with high cost of everything. This is not a luxury hotel but a well run establishment that deserves the three star rating it enjoys.
Plenty of eating options nearby, from alfresco lunches in the market to top restaurants.
Ideal situation for tourism as everthing is on the doorstep, well used by a busy business community regularly filling the place to capacity, which speaks for itself.
Happily stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, helpful staff & breakfast
  • Disliked — the pillows
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbrenkojak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Property: Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing