We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Management very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Brisbane
Level Contributor
841 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Location and Management very good”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is situated a short walk from the esplanade and the markets/wharf. Restaurants are close - ranging from McDonalds to up-market eateries. The hotel is set back from the road and is therefore very quiet - even though there is a nightclub nearby. The staff and management are very helpful. (I had left my jacket in the taxi that we had caught from the airport and the manager eventually tracked it down and had it returned, which was excellent as I did not know the cab number or even the company).
Breakfast is very good without going overboard with a huge number of choices. The room that we had was on the small side and the lighting was a little dim. There is free Wifi in the room which was OK. There was no safe, but reception had a safe deposit if required. Coffee was available all day as was fresh fruit. (The chocolates on the reception desk were excellent).
Nothing was too much trouble and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    159
    63
    11
    8
See reviews for
42
142
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two nights last week. The location is great, the room was comfortable, bath nice when compared with other hotels in Finland (included small size shampoo, conditioner, lotion, sewing kit, etc.). Breakfast was good and free coffee / tea available in the lobby was a nice touch. This is a smaller property with friendly service. I did not have any problems connecting to the WiFi in my room. Will definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieKayRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a cozy hotel of moderate size very close to the center of the city but sitting in a receded entrance from the street. Therefore it is quiet. It is understated in its elegance. Attention is excellent. The rooms are of moderate size. A double-bed room had enough space for a sitting sofa and a desk in addition to the TV console and space for baggage. Fruit was welcoming the traveler--a nice note. The bathroom was of a good size and well appointed--with slippers for the tired feet!. Breakfast is served downstairs in two spaces adjoining each other: one is in dark decor and the other is cheerful white and green. The menu was varied and satisfying.
I stronlgy reccommend this hotel. It is centrally located, comfortable and well appointed. If you are seeking for a moderately-priced and central place with class--this should be your choice.

Room Tip: We had two different room and both were very quiet and overlooking a pleasnt view of the adjacent bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A nice spot within walking distance to esplanade / marina. Clean and modern rooms. Nothing special, but nothing wrong either. Lousy wi-fi was a disappointment. Quiet location. Decent breakfast. Professional service.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesseldoc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. The location is very convenient to central Helsinki (harbor, shopping) and if you are there on business or as a tourist this would be a good hotel. Just try to get a larger room.The room size was on the small size though that was more likely the choice of the tour operator. The bathroom/shower was very small though modern. One had to be careful not to hit the shower handle with your elbow and suddenly find yourself in an all hot or cold water shower.
The hotel does charge for wi fi which we found annoying. European hotels/B&B's are all equipped with free wi fi these days but for reasons known only to the hotel they charge. Clearly out of step with the trend.
One very good feature is their very good breakfast. It had a wide selection and was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had an excellent two day stay in this hotel Rivoli Jardin Helsinki with my husband. Location of the hotel is the best you can have, near the harbour, shopping streets and culture. We had a really nice room in the top floors with spacy bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and staff was very helpfull. Wonderfull warm atmosphere. Just the right size hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summer321_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was in Helsinki on business and my work's travel agent picked this hotel for me. The location is good, within walking distance from most main attractions and shops. Since I often stay in Helsinki I'd still like to add that the 10 minute walk to Stockmann, Forum, Sokos and the railway station is nice in spring and summer, but in freezing January I prefer staying closer to the airport bus stops or the railway station, simply because walking icy streets in cold winds dragging my luggage along doesn't appeal to me.

My room was booked for one person, but was actually a twin room. The room was big enough to fit two beds, a couch, a desk and a tv. Everything was clean. The bathroom was pretty small but clean. The tile looked a bit dated.

My room faced away from the street with a window towards a small courtyard. I have never stayed in a room this quiet before, it was like I was the only person left in all of Helsinki. The fact that I can't remember what the bed was like probably means that it was good.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room not facing the street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TofslanVifslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#19 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
419 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#32 of 65 in Helsinki
1,422 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Property: Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing