We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. The location is very convenient to central Helsinki (harbor, shopping) and if you are there on business or as a tourist this would be a good hotel. Just try to get a larger room.The room size was on the small size though that was more likely the choice of the tour operator. The bathroom/shower was very small though modern. One had to be careful not to hit the shower handle with your elbow and suddenly find yourself in an all hot or cold water shower.
The hotel does charge for wi fi which we found annoying. European hotels/B&B's are all equipped with free wi fi these days but for reasons known only to the hotel they charge. Clearly out of step with the trend.
One very good feature is their very good breakfast. It had a wide selection and was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    159
    63
    11
    8
See reviews for
42
142
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had an excellent two day stay in this hotel Rivoli Jardin Helsinki with my husband. Location of the hotel is the best you can have, near the harbour, shopping streets and culture. We had a really nice room in the top floors with spacy bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and staff was very helpfull. Wonderfull warm atmosphere. Just the right size hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summer321_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was in Helsinki on business and my work's travel agent picked this hotel for me. The location is good, within walking distance from most main attractions and shops. Since I often stay in Helsinki I'd still like to add that the 10 minute walk to Stockmann, Forum, Sokos and the railway station is nice in spring and summer, but in freezing January I prefer staying closer to the airport bus stops or the railway station, simply because walking icy streets in cold winds dragging my luggage along doesn't appeal to me.

My room was booked for one person, but was actually a twin room. The room was big enough to fit two beds, a couch, a desk and a tv. Everything was clean. The bathroom was pretty small but clean. The tile looked a bit dated.

My room faced away from the street with a window towards a small courtyard. I have never stayed in a room this quiet before, it was like I was the only person left in all of Helsinki. The fact that I can't remember what the bed was like probably means that it was good.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room not facing the street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TofslanVifslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was great! The hotel was very close to Helsinki attractions including the harbor. It was also within walking distance to the train station. The breakfast was fantastic and they always had coffee and pastries available after a day of sightseeing. The staff was very good and the room was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin_TXTexex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is an easy walk from the harbor where the ships from Stockholm dock (Olympia Terminal Silja LIne). It is also very close to the center of town and sightseeing. Staff very nice and helpful. Our room on the 5th floor was large with large windows. Gladly held our luggage on the last day. Delicious breakfast. Helpfully printed out closings due to the holiday (Mid summer).

Room Tip: Courtyard hotel. Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My choice of this hotel was based on the central position and the nice photos of rooms with beautiful wallpaintings. However it turned out that there was only two such rooms (suites). We were offered a very ordinary small room, boring furnished - absolutely no luxury. So compared to the standard the price was far too high. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merja_Koski_GM, General Manager at Hotel Rivoli Jardin, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Rivoli Jardin we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologize that on this occasion we failed to provide this.
The images,which you had made ​​your reservation, were in different categories and
unfortunately we were so full we were not even able to upgrade you.
I understand your disappointment and hope we still have a possibility to serve you some other time.
I hope you still enjoyed your visit in Helsinki
best regards
Merja Koski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Enjoy your visit to Helsinki staying at the Rivoli Jardin, hidden back off a quiet and safe downtown street just a block off the Esplanade. Our two night stay included stone-quiet rest in a spotless room, along with a splendid Finnish breakfast buffet both mornings.

This was my third stay in downtown Helsinki and the first for my wife. I'll stop searching for good hotels there now that we've enjoyed this one.

We chose the Rivoli Jardin in order to be close by all the main sites yet not be stuck in a larger, more impersonal property as we came off of a business trip and launched our vacation time in Helsinki. We were not disappointed. The expected amenities are all tip-top. We needed to ship off a parcel mid-trip here as well as get a garment laundered in one day - both cheerfully handled. The hotel deposit boxes at the desk will hold a monster laptop for your peace of mind.

There's a modern, hidden grocery across the street, a bakery/cafe two doors down and loads of good dining and refreshment a block down the street along the Esplanade. It's a 10-12 minute walk from the rail terminal, easily negotiated.

Special treats included a cheerful nook for noshing if the main buffet area is busy, a fast elevator to our 5th floor room and that authentic Finnish breakfast fare, including good coffee and an espresso/cappuccino/latte machine. The cleanliness and comfort, along with the friendliness and good location combine to make for excellent value. Next time our travels take us to Helsinki this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTWTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
414 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#32 of 65 in Helsinki
1,420 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Property: Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing