We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel well located downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel well located downtown”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, well siuated in downtown Helsinki. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. I deducted a point because they charge 10 euro per day for the internet and still could not get to our email server - do not know what was the problem. In my opinion, charging for internet in todays market is a ratings negative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    161
    64
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
147
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Made a quick stay in the hotel a couple of years ago and decided to return in order to re-assure the good feeling I experienced then. Yes, the hotel has kept its cozy charm and personal touch. I arrived in the middle of a snow storm when the city was in chaos, but in the reception I was met with a warm wellcome by a "real gentleman" that you seldom meet nowadays. My wife and friends were delyed by the snow, but the gentleman did his outmost to calm me down and answered all my special needs to have the group checked in and arranged taxi etc. Even the next morning he checked that everything has turned out right for me and this gave me the impression that they really cared for us. The rooms are cozy and personally designed and had all the necessary equipments. The only I really missed was a down pillow, but otherwise everything was in place. The breakfast room is small and just behind the reception desk, but at the same time it gave a very family-type feeling. The breakfast is placed on several different tables and you had an insight into the kitchen, which only strenghten the good feeling. The assortment was rich without being extravagant. Additionally, the hotel is just a block away from the very center of the city. If you're fed up with the big hotels belonging to international chains looking alike and if you're looking for a more personal option; this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was the first time we stayed in this Hotel while in Helsinki. Our room was small but comfortable, and very quiet. The location is good, just a minute and You hit the Esplanadi street. Breakfast was good finnish standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1fatfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've stayed at the hotel in August, 2012 when we had a private visit to Helsinki. Good location attracted us although we never stayed here before. Proximity of all central facilities of the city was critical for us as my wife was “low mobile” for some days after the knee surgery. And we surely enjoyed the hotel’s position with all the restaurants, railway station and the harbor in walking distance. The hotel itself appeared rather comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were great – Scandinavian style with a lot of salmon, nice grain bread, fruits and all other things we love. Unfortunately we experienced some inconveniences as well. First – towels in the bathroom were extremely worn out with the lot of hanging threads. We noticed it just upon arrival and shortly informed the receptionist. And we got another at once and later day by day but of the same quality. Second problem occurred with the air conditioner. It worked poor and did not react any controls. They tried to fix it but nothing changed. We had to open the window as the weather was rather warm that time. And at once we faced another problem – the inner court that looks so comfortable at daytime appeared too noisy at night. Some guys move the trash bins and other waste every night – one can imagine how it sounds inside the narrow court. So the overall impression of the hotel is very average especially if to compare with other hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank architect_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location, right in the city center. There are also a few good restaurants nearby. Also close to the train station (less than 10 minutes walking, a bit more from the bus station). The room was perfect, silent, great mattress and exactly like the picture. There was also a boiler and some tea in the room. The breakfast was great, fruits, fresh juice, bacon, eggs, salmon, yogurt..
The internet was not free, I did not have an internet offer for my room, so I had to pay 10 euros a day...
The staff was really nice and helpful. One even made me a map with all the good clubs and bars in Helsinki. I also had a really early flight and had to leave the hotel in the middle of the night. So a really nice girl prepared me some tea and gave me some biscuits and fruits so I could eat something before leaving!
Next time I'm in Helsinki I'll definitely stay again in this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sibelletorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my last stay on my Scandinavian trip and this was the best hotel. Service and stuff was very helpful and professional. My room was very comfortable with one of the best beds I ever slept in hotel anywhere. Well stocked breakfast buffet with fresh baked pastries in the hotel atrium was great start of the new day. Very convenient location to the most major tourist and shopping sites in the center of Helsinki. There is also good selection of restaurants near by and grocery store less than block away is a plus.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the center but in an inner court so you can not hear the noise of traffic there. It is not a luxus hotel but a comfortable place to stay. It has a kind of personality in the design of the rooms and the lobby. The breakfast is rich. I would choose this hotel rather that a hotel of big international chains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PekkaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#19 of 65 in Helsinki
595 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
439 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,321 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,139 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 65 in Helsinki
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Property: Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing