We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best hotel in Helsinki!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been in different hotels in Helsinki, but never managed to get a room at Rivoli Jardin. I wish I had known earlier how amazing it was. You couldn't wish for a better location to start with. This boutique hotel situated 5 min walk from the Trade Square in a small courtyard. The price is very reasonably, I would even go as far as saying that it was quite cheap. We paid 110 euros for one night for a triple room. The price included a very tasty breakfast which was served until 11 (!!!) am. Parking and wi-fi is free of charge. Also you get extra Finnair miles for your stay. Next time I'm in Helsinki I will definitely do my best to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    146
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
129
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location in the heart of Helsinki! Nice rooms and good service in the hotel. Great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pajula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a family-run hotel but still part of a chain in Finland. I arrived past midnight after a 15-minute walk from the Central Station, which tells you about how great the location is. The staff quickly checked me in and I was in my room. The room had some design elements which was great. The bathroom was not exactly what I had expected (tiled), but it was clean and everything worked just fine.

Breakfast was a very nice spread of herring (which I loved), salmon with lingonberries, ham, bread, eggs, fruit, sausage, bacon and more. So every morning (except the first one 'cause I woke up late) I took the time to have my yummy breakfast before I left for the day.

Staff was very helpful with whatever question you had, whether they'd be directions or just some advice.

The only thing was the cost of the Internet. It is 10 Euros per day, but if you stay 3 days it's 20 Euros. That is a bit steep.

I would definitely come back to the hotel again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I arrived at the hotel with a popular tour group from the United States. People at the front desk were very friendly. When I entered my room, a perfume type of odor was sprayed in it that was noxious. Everything seemed to be ok until I got into bed. There were dark hairs all over my sheets and pillows. I told the front desk the next morning and they were very apologetic. I discovered the next morning that my tour mate had hairs all over her bed as well. Yuck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveEnglandLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koskme, Manager at Hotel Rivoli Jardin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear our Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this.
Unfortunately I heard about this after you checked out.
I have discussed with the receptionist, who was working at that time and unfortunately she did not tell to me, that I could have to take attention to this matter.
I also discussed with the the Housekeeping company (with the team leader and team)
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Thank you once again for your review .

Merja Koski , general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

For a superior room, the one we were given appeared very compact and not very good value for money. Having said that, the room was well decorated, with sufficient hanging and drawer space for a couple of night's stay and most of the usual amenities - mini bar, coffee making kit (although no milk or equivalent), hairdryer, slippers.
Our view, from floor 5, was out onto a tucked away corner of a central courtyard and mainly consisted of the surrounding dark gray/black metal rooftops and chimneys.
The small bathroom was not very well lit and had no bath, only a shower cubicle with somewhat antiquated shower fitments. After a lot of fiddling with the tap and knobs, a reasonable flow of water at a good temperature was produced.
Breakfast was usually crowded. It was a completely self service buffet with a very good (frequently replenished) selection - particualrly of rolls and crispbreads.
We found it to be quiet, with friendly reception staff and a good location for sight-seeing and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Gracious, fast, efficient front desk, but my room was very spare and utilitarian. A third rate Ikea style sofa fails to make up for the ugly bed frame, and the worst pillow I encountered in three different Finnish hotels. The pillows were filled with polyester fill that had started to clump together, so I had a soft but lumpy pillow.
Wireless wifi is an a additional fee, although there is a serviceable free wired (ethernet) connection for a laptop. For Ipads or other devices requiring a wireless connection you will have to pay the additional nightly fee.
Om the other hand,the included breakfast was quite good, and the lobby's coffee maker allows you to stop by for a free late afternoon coffee. The design of the lobby and breakfast area were quite nice. So if your room is only for sleeping and you don't mind matted polyester filling in the pillows this hotel will work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I live in Helsinki, so I have not stayed there. I have booked my business associates for many years to stay at this hotel. The rooms are not very big but they are clean and decorated with style. Hotel is owned by private family. Don't be surprised if the room has been cleaned by the owner.
The location is great in the middle of the city. If you want stay in good standard hotel but not like the big hotels, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Property: Hotel Rivoli Jardin
Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing