We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, just shy of great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Radisson Blu Plaza is a perfect base for exploring Helsinki, with a super central location. The lobby is a bit disappointing, but the rooms themselves are quite nice, though a bit on the small side. The gym was surprisingly small. The staff was super friendly, and the breakfast room and spread was one of the nicest I've ever had. It is a very large hotel, as a warning for folks who care about that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamYWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear AdamYWW,

Thank you so much for your stay here at Plaza and for your nice review.

It´s alwayd great to hear so positive of our staff. Highly appreciated. Will forward your kind words. Our breakfast room and our restaurant are from 1920´ and protected by the National Heritage Board. It´s great you liked those.

I truly hope to see you here at Plaza again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very central location for a city trip, within close proximity to all tourist attractions and the bus and train stations. The hotel is also within walking distance to the ferry terminal where you take the Linde line ferries to Tallinn, Estonia. Hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast is amazing, spoil for choices of what to eat in the morning. Staffs were friendly and helpful. WiFi is free in the rooms. Overall, it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Naiza A,

Thank you for kind review.

I truly liked your comment: " Overall, it's a good value for money. " And It´s also nice to hear you liked our rooms as well our breakfast and restaurant facilities. It´s always so great to read positive feedback of our staff. Thank you kindly for that too.

Take care and have a great autumn in Qatar!

You are a most welcome back to Plaza in the future!

With warm regards,

Mr.Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

+ Location, Location, location! In the centre of Helsinki
+ price meets the value
+ nice breakfast
+ good beds
+ minibar and water heater in room! For coffee.

? Ask for free a better pillow for example Futurex pillow
? Ask for bathrobes, free of charge again
? No free water bottles, but tap water is ok.

- their staff didn't know about those two features above, so they don't tell you :)
- If you like Late hour walking, keep this in mind. At night this part of centre can be wild, not for noise, but don't go wandering to near by alleys or speacially to park. They are famous for gangs. Nothing to worry in hotel area, though.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Darrya,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I loved your comments:
"+ Location, Location, location! In the centre of Helsinki
+ price meets the value
+ nice breakfast
+ good beds
+ minibar and water heater in room! For coffee."

Did you noticed that you can even borrow an foot and back massager´s after walking or sports?
Those are part of our Plaza Relax -concept and also as a free charge!

I will make sure that all of our new Plaza Team members and trainee´s have all the information to tell it to our guest´s. Thank you very much that you shared your knowledge with the other TripAdvisor users.

I wish you a pleasant autumn and peaceful winter time!
Looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza! Take care!

Warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I love Radisson Blu, one of my favourite hotel chain. Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki is in walking distance from Helsinki main train station, about 5 minuts walk. Hotel rooms are well decor, very modern and colorful. The bed are very comfortable, make me sleep well. Bathrooms are clean and tidy. Love Radisson Blu bath amenities as always. Buffet breakfast is good, many choice and good taste.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwanvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Kwanvin,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We wish you a pleasant winter time in Thailand, It is bit warmer there than here. Looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1night.Awesome location.Easy walk from the train station.5 minute taxi ride to the Linda line ferry terminal. The hotel has fantastic breakfast. Rooms are good sized and clean.Staff were very friendly.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOMAD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear NOMAD070,

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased to hear you liked our Plaza hotel, our spacious and clean rooms and our Super Breakfast. Location in the heart of Helsinki is one of our UPS (Unique selling points) and very important to our guests too.

Also like to thank you for your lovely comment "Highly recommended":

Hope you´ll be able to visit us in the near future again.

With Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The lady that did my check in was very friendly. She indicated on map attractions that she thought would be worth seeing. In Europe I find it hard to find relatively spacious rooms. I was very happy on entering room. Bathroom was spacious as well. This hotel is in a very central, upbeat area. All the sites, which were very few in my book were walking distance away. On leaving bellman was very courteous and took our bags to the taxi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markphillip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Markphillip1,

Greetings from Helsinki to Trinidad and Tobago!

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments of Plaza Hotel. Makes me so proud to reading your lovely feedback of our staff. Will for sure share your comment to them.

I´m also very pleased to hear you really liked our rooms and other facilities too. And the location is very central as you mention.

So hope we´ll have a change to see you here at Plaza soon again.

With Warm Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Good located/ good accommodated - nice place for leisure. Too much staff in breakfast. Including local cuisine. Very friendly atmosphere and crew. The best one in Helsinki for sure. Miss our comfy suite. Thank u! Hope we will meet again!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Natalie_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Natalie_Holland,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. So nice you enjoyed your stay here with us at Plaza. Your lovely comment, "The best one in Helsinki for sure" delighted us everyone.

We also hope to see you here soon again. Your more than welcome!

With Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
673 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 66 in Helsinki
1,408 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,061 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $150 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing