We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is situated in the center or the city. Like 5 minutes of walking to the closest railstation, the main street with many shops, and also very close to what night life means. Nice pubs and restaurants arround. Free wifi, password given for up to 10 devices per room. The rooms are very stylish and nice coloured.Very confortable bed. You have everything you need in the room, including an iron and an iron table You can also relax to the hotel spa. It would be usefull to have also a bath wrap, but there isn't one in the room.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the spa you should ask for a room at the second flor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreea921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Andreea921,

Thank you so much for your review.

Plaza is really situated in the heart of Helsinki. All major attractions, shopping and restaurants are within a walking distance as you mentioned.

Thank you for your kind comments of our newly renovated rooms. So nice to hear you liked our rooms and Magic Dreams beds and other services given.

Have a nice autumn and hopefully we´ll see you here at Plaza soon again.

Warm Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

A very stylish hotel, centrally located - 2 minutes walk from the main station and 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street. My room was good, although no desk which was inconvenient as I was visiting on business.
The breakfast buffet was superb - all sorts of food served and they use an iPad to control the drinks machine, very quirky!
The only downside was the hotel restaurant - stylish, great food but terrible service; extremely slow - you are given an iPad in here too to make your menu selection on which should make things quicker, but unfortunately the opposite was true. I ate there twice and on the second time, I was left waiting to be seated for over 5 minutes - staff didn't even acknowledge my presence. Disappointing, particularly as the food and ambience is very good. Just don't go there expecting a quick meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sologirltraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Sologirltraveller80,

Thank you very much about your kind review.

First of all I need to apologize that inconvenience what you have experienced at our restaurant.
We truly want to service all our guest´s personally and professional way, unfortunately there were lack of service during your visit.

Most of our rooms are equipped with working desk´s, some of without course those are suitable for families with extra bed. We are happy to offer rooms with desk when requested.

Thank you once again about your review, it was nice to read that liked our hotel and thanked that it is "Great hotel, worth the money".

I wish everything is fine in UK and have nice autumn - you are most welcome to Plaza again!

Sincerely yours,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is well located near Central Railway Station and the centre of the
city. Short walk to the shopping district or to the South harbour & Old market place.
Really comfortable bed / well furnished modern room with excellent but small bathroom /
fridge, kettle, ( ice m/c in outside hallway ) large HD t.v. set with plenty of channels.
The buffet breakfast has a great selection of hot or cold items ( touch screen controls for
the fruit juice dispenser!! ) really good coffee and wide selection of teas available.
Staff are excellent and all speak very good English & extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We opted for the modern style rather than classic rooms. ( Room # 507 ) The triple glazing makes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Robert G,

Greetings from our whole Team to you!
Thank you very much about your amazing review!

We hope to see soon back in Plaza!

Have a great autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very close to the station, in a quiet street.
Modern and comfortable with large common areas and high tech rooms.
We had a standard room and it was spacious (and so was the bathroom) and well equipped; the double bed was large and comfortable.
We had kettle, tea and coffee, and a lot of amenities. Wi-Fi is offered.
Of course there is a sauna for guests, but we did not use it.
Breakfast is terrific with a big choice of sweet and savoury food and it is served is a scenographic room.
the staff is helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvittoriaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear mvittoriaItaly,

Thank you very much about your kind review.

The Free WiFi is one part of our "Plaza Smart -concept" - what we offer to our guest´s as free of charge.Here is few more listed:

• All rooms have a connectivity panel that allows you to hook up your own device to the AV-system in the room, listen to your own music and watch your own pictures
• Business and Suite rooms are equipped with 3D TVs
• PowerKiss wireless charging is available in all shared facilities

We also have lots of concepts that our guest´s can use as free of charge,
Plaza Relax: for example:

• Back and foot massagers
• In the comfort of your room: borrow a yoga mat, stress ball, etc.
• Download Blu Dreams relaxation music from Spotify to your device.
• Try a Lumie Saraste bright light lamp

The breakfast room, witch you mentioned, is located on our historical part, that part is actually former headquarters of SOK Group witch is the operator company of our hotel.

I hope I can see you soon back in Plaza!

Have a great autumn!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a weekend with my family there.It was clean and comfortable hotel. Good and quality breakfast.Rooms are ok and big enough for Nordic standart - not IKEA type at leat :-))
next to train station , but quite safe area.and not noisy ..all moajor attractions are nearby..
I would recommend to stay there if you are planning to visit the city for shot time like weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wertyui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Wertyui,

Greetings from Helsinki to your your family.

It was very nice to read your kind review, so lot´s of thank´s to you spending your precious time.
You are most welcome to back in Helsinki and of course to Plaza, did you know that we borrow free of charge our bikes to our guest´s, so they can have sightseeing by bike?

Have a nice autumn!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights.The hotel is very well located, about five minutes walk from the main railway station via Kamppi Square, which was perfect for us as we we taking various rail trips around Finland and to St Petersburg. This is an upmarket hotel with very new, luxurious and clean rooms and the communal areas were rather nice, including the bar and restaurant. Contrary to some other reviews I thought the breakfast buffet was excellent in a relatively relaxed atmosphere, not the usual crowded scrum. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we were offered complimentary drinks in bar while we waited for a short time; a nice touch. Free wifi. Staff consistently excellent. The hotel is not too overpriced, so very much recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear dokelly,

Thank very much about your kind review.

I hope everything is fine and you are having a great autumn.
You are a most welcome back to Plaza when ever you are in Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very central location and only minutes walk into the town centre. The breakfast buffet was extensive, including a large variety of hot foods, pastries, meats, juices etc......there is something for everyone. Rooms were well appointed with modern appliances and comfortable beds. Only criticism was the pillows contained a sweaty odour.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Dennis M,

Thank you for kind review.
Our breakfast buffet contains also lot's of Finnish specialties - did you got tasted the Carelian pastrys? Those are my personal favorites with egg butter.

We are truly sorry about that inconvenience what you have found at your room.

I wish you a great autumn and I hope to see you back at Plaza some day!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
726 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,434 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,866 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $158 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Rezidor, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing