We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. Our room was clean, comfortable and inviting. The service we received from the front desk was efficient and quick. The lighting center computer next to our bed was not working when we arrived. This was promptly fixed. Our request to rent a car was dealt with quick efficiency. Breakfast was good. The location of this hotel is excellent, close to all sites, shopping centers, train, bus and tram stations.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JemG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear JemG35,

Greetings to Nahariya from our whole Team Plaza!
It is always pleasure to read this kind of reviews, I think that our quality of service is way how we like to do it - cause - We truly love what we do!

We hope to see you back in Plaza some day!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is situated In a very convenient location close to go restaurants, the train station and a museum. Breakfast is included and there was a large assortment to chose from. The rooms were well appointed but I would like to see robes provided as well as the slippers that were there, especially if you want to visit the sauna. We had lunch in the Kitzens restaurant which was good but nothing special. Reception was very helpful in making reservations and giving directions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmfMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear nmfMaine,

Thank you for your review.

We provide robes to our guest´s - free of charge of course - on request.
In business class and Suites there are available all the time.

Welcome back to Plaza next time when you are in Helsinki.

Have great autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our first room although nicely appointed was not cleaned properly. Upon arrival we saw there were blood stains on the bathroom door and dirty bed linen.  also, we did not receive a wake up call as requested.

The following day we encountered Roberto at the front desk whom we informed of the problems.  He was combative and not helpful.  he told us that he had to investigate the issues and would get back to us in the evening. 

In the evening we talked to Edmundo and it was apparent that the problems we raised to Roberto had not been investigated as Roberto assured us.  Edmundo quickly addressed the issues by providing us with a room upgrade and ensuring that even if the system went down again we receive a wakeup call.  

The following day we specifically spoke to the cleaning woman, Ramina, who was the same woman responsible for the first room.  As we departed for the day we even showed Ramina the part of the new room requiring her attention (the shower curtain). After the day of sightseeing we returned late in the evening and discovered our room had not been cleaned at all.  The "make my room" light was still lit.  To make matters worse the cleaning staff left at 8:00 p.m and the hotel could not clean our room but only offer fresh towels and emptying of the trash.

Although  we have encountered some pleasant staff at points during our stay, once again Edmundo was very kind and attentive but we are sorely disappointed in our Radisson Blu Plaza experience especially since their motto is "100% satisfaction".

The Radisson should not let cleaning staff ruin the experience of their guests. Otherwise the property is in a good locatio, well appointed with a solid buffet.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NikkiJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear NikkiJR,

Thank you for your feedback.

I´m truly sorry for the inconvenience. I personally discussed with you and your husband on Friday morning for quite a long time before your departure. It´s regrettable that we didn´t discuss all the things you mention on your feedback. Would have been nice to settle everything face to face.

At Radisson we do have 100% guest satisfaction as you kindly mentioned. First of all we gave you a free upgrade to Suite as Making It Right after your first night stay. Secondly, as per our discussion on Friday I gave you 1 night free of charge as 100% guest satisfaction. Taking care of our guests and their satisfaction as well delivering the promise is what we are here for.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Just I kindly ask you to remove all our employee names on your feedback. Thank you for your understanding.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Radisson Blu Plaza hotel is newly renovated. That had been done in an excellent way! We stayed in a standard room which was decorated and designed much over my expectations. I assume this hotel is used by business people but the style is somewhat trendy but not too much. Great!

The breakfast was a sad story. We where there around 9 am and most tables where occupied by dirty dishes. It seemed that no one picked dishes from the tables. Ones we cleaned a table we could start eat. The bread was hard, most have been at least one day old. Selection of food was acceptable but not in standard with the rest of the hotel.
Great hotel that just need to get the breakfast ok in order to be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulf_lofven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear ulf_lofven,

Thank you for your review.

It is nice to hear that you liked our newly renovated hotel.

The whole team from our breakfast send´s their apologizes to you, we are truly sorry about the inconveniences that you have found from the breakfast. I can guarantee that we will put more attention to staffing on rush hours at breakfast.

Warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A pleasant hotel in a good location, walking distance to touristic spots and the central station. Recently renovated room interior contains the beautiful and modern Finnish touch! The restaurant Kitzens provides high quality food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Travelling-White,

Thank you very much about your kind review.

You are most welcome back to Plaza when ever you come back to Finland and Helsinki!

Have nice autumn!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was excellent. Breakfast was nice but you can order grab box if you will have a fly or train early. Also the older second hand market and Synebrukoff museum - it's great point for visit and watching. Sure I can see a sovetic fly without bomb on the top verkkokaupan shop - my recommendation please go to the top a five floor and you will look a beautiful Helsinki and ships on harbor.
at last time - The rooms have kettle and coffee inside.

Room Tip: You should ask a room with harbor view, it's nice but don't worry no street noises but windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitry_Filatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Than you for your kind review.

I think you mean our sister hotel Radisson Blu Seaside hotel at Ruoholahti, witch is located next to Länsiterminaali harbor area.

Our hotel is located near by Main Railway station.

You are most welcome to visit our hotel next time when your are at Helsinki!

Have nice autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As per my experience, Radisson SAS consistently deliver a good service. This hotel in Helsinki reinforces this positive image.
The room (double standard) wasn't very large, but perfectly equipped and confortable. The breakfast was simply superb. The staff at the reception very professional and helpful (i needed their help to manage the loss of a bag at the airport).
Perfectly located right at the center of the city.
For this price, you normally get a lower level of service in most European capitals.
Only one negative remark: with 22°C outside temp, you should be allowed to open the window, not obliged to use air conditioned; especially in a so Green country

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldo_papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear aldo_papa,

Than you very much about your nice review.
Our whole team send greeting to you and we looking forward to see you soon back at Plaza!

Have great autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,117 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $155 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, has always been one of the city’s most vibrant places—an iconic destination for jet setters, culture seekers and business leaders alike. The historic building dates to 1917, when Finland gained its independence. Whether you’re here for business or leisure, the hotel’s close proximity to a number of local attractions puts the city within easy reach. Take a pleasant walk to the Esplanade park, or try your luck at the Grand Casino Helsinki. The Rautatientori Railway Square, right next to the central station, is only 2 minutes from the hotel. All of the 302 rooms and suites of Plaza guarantee a luxurious experience, each equipped with unique Blu Dreams sleeping experience including a plush Magic Bed® intelligent bed and classics of Finnish design. Our stunning rooms also come with upscale amenities such as free high-speed, wireless Internet and MediaHUB control panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing