We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, great location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Pros
-Excellent location, 3 minutes walk from central train station and airport bus (which terminates at the central station). There are several restaurants along the way to the central station.
-Modern room, nice decor
-Free internet, unlimited devices (Radisson generally offers free internet, unlike other chains)
-There is a large park nearby (1 minute walk)
-Quiet

Cons
-None.

Note there are many different types of rooms of various sizes. The junior suite is nice and substantially larger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi sea2skyaus,

So wonderful to hear you liked our hotel Plaza and enjoyed your stay here with us. I truly agree on pros you mentioned. Thank you for those.

Welcome soon again!

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    753
    145
    42
    18
See reviews for
324
654
126
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room was quite small and tight, we had to squeeze out two suitcases to fit and for us to be able to move around the room. The bed was quite high , but very comfortable . Breakfast was ok, apart from one incident, that we had to catch a tour and was trying to prepare a sandwich since we had no time to eat breakfast, but the waitress came (her name NADA) and in a loud voice told us that we are not allowed to take food outside the restaurant, although we saw quiet a few running out with more than one sandwich in their bags! We reported this incident to the Reception. If this is the case, there should be a BIG sign informing clients that food is to be consumed only sur place! to avoid embarrassment. The following day, we saw a lot of people packing their food, and the waitress on duty, just pretended nicely she did not see..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for prestigious time to give us this important feedback.
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience. We have been discussing this matter with employees involved. They send their sincere apologies as well.

Thank you for your great idea to place the sign at breakfast.

We´ll hope to see you soon here at Plaza again.

Have a nice autumn!

With Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen / Hotel Manager
Heikki Päätalo / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Again, Radisson Blu hotels tend to be very nice hotels. Nice clean, modern rooms. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast buffet. Wonderful service. For us the location near the train station was good -- and it's only a short walk to the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear PaulM1956,

Greetings to Chicago from our whole Team Plaza!
It is always pleasure to read this kind of reviews, I think that our quality of service is way how we like to do it - cause - We love what we do!

We hope to see you back in Plaza some day!

Have a great autumn!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent location across the square from the Railway station and bus stops make this ideal for quick access to the airport. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are in very good condition, furnished in typical minimalist scandiavian style. Bathrooms are bit small, certainly a case of one at a time. The desk staff are very helpful and gave us some good recommendations for food, which turned out to be exactly what we were looking for.

There are a lot of transit groups using the hotel especially for early morning flights so there is a fair bit of coming and going. The rooms are reasonably well insulated for noise but not perfect. Definately ask for a room at the back which overlooks a quiet residential block and garden area.

Overall, a very high quality city centre hotel, which is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonChrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear LondonChrispy,

Greetings from our whole Team to you!
Thank you very much about your amazing review!

We hope to see soon back in Plaza!

Have a great autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotels for new years eve. The location is perfect, it is in the heart of Helsinki. The receptionist offered us late check out as a compliment. The room was modern and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. The room where they serve breakfest is beautiful. The only unpleasant thing about our stay was that the housekeeper came in without knocking 2 times! This happened all though we had the do not disturb -light on. Apparently she/he wasn't aware of our late check out... .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Henna K,

Thank you for your review.

I am truly sorry about those inconveniences you had found during your stay. I have discussed with our Housekeeping Manager, and we will ensure that the whole team will be aware late check outs etc.

We loved your comment: "...and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in."
If you want to buy that kind of bed to your just contact to us and we can help you.

Have a nice autumn!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We experienced excellent service at this hotel, firstly the welcome at reception and next when we had to complain about the air conditioning which comes on randomly and is set at lowest 23.5 degs, which in August when it is warm even in Finland is too hot to sleep with no opening windows, they brought us a fan immediately. The beds are very comfortable as they have deep mattress toppers which is good and the shower is good. Only complaint was the air con.Shame. Breakfast was good on first day but on the second day when we were there at a busier time a lot of the juices and milk etc had run out so was a bit less than it could have been, however, that said, there was an excellent choice and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear jandono,

Thank you very much about your review!
Our sincere apologize about those inconveniences about aircondition and the lack of service at breakfast.

We hope to see you back in Plaza!

Have nice autumn!

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice location, great breakfast buffet, good service, but the windows are sealed shut in the old building - " to protect the guests". Nice cool evenings with the fan running continuously making it hard to sleep.

Stay away from the Casino side if possible. A lot street noise all night from the bar near by.

Room Tip: stay away from the Casino side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear R W,

Thank you for your nice review.

I´m so sorry to hear there was minor disturbance from nearby bar. I haven´t receive any complaints before. But will of course contact that bar and their manager to solve this out rigght away.

Nevertheless I truly hope to see you here again.

Warm Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
637 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
480 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,375 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing