We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Modern and comfortable”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotels for new years eve. The location is perfect, it is in the heart of Helsinki. The receptionist offered us late check out as a compliment. The room was modern and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. The room where they serve breakfest is beautiful. The only unpleasant thing about our stay was that the housekeeper came in without knocking 2 times! This happened all though we had the do not disturb -light on. Apparently she/he wasn't aware of our late check out... .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Henna K,

Thank you for your review.

I am truly sorry about those inconveniences you had found during your stay. I have discussed with our Housekeeping Manager, and we will ensure that the whole team will be aware late check outs etc.

We loved your comment: "...and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in."
If you want to buy that kind of bed to your just contact to us and we can help you.

Have a nice autumn!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    743
    141
    40
    16
See reviews for
316
641
124
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We experienced excellent service at this hotel, firstly the welcome at reception and next when we had to complain about the air conditioning which comes on randomly and is set at lowest 23.5 degs, which in August when it is warm even in Finland is too hot to sleep with no opening windows, they brought us a fan immediately. The beds are very comfortable as they have deep mattress toppers which is good and the shower is good. Only complaint was the air con.Shame. Breakfast was good on first day but on the second day when we were there at a busier time a lot of the juices and milk etc had run out so was a bit less than it could have been, however, that said, there was an excellent choice and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear jandono,

Thank you very much about your review!
Our sincere apologize about those inconveniences about aircondition and the lack of service at breakfast.

We hope to see you back in Plaza!

Have nice autumn!

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice location, great breakfast buffet, good service, but the windows are sealed shut in the old building - " to protect the guests". Nice cool evenings with the fan running continuously making it hard to sleep.

Stay away from the Casino side if possible. A lot street noise all night from the bar near by.

Room Tip: stay away from the Casino side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear R W,

Thank you for your nice review.

I´m so sorry to hear there was minor disturbance from nearby bar. I haven´t receive any complaints before. But will of course contact that bar and their manager to solve this out rigght away.

Nevertheless I truly hope to see you here again.

Warm Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Bit late getting to this (Stayed there in 2010 see date below) Convenient, clean and accomodating staff. Food nice.
Bedrooms nice, clean and temperature controlled.

Would stay again when next in Helsinki.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSIB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear NSIB1962,

Thank you for your stay and for your kind review. I´ll send your greetings to our staff here at Plaza.

I truly hope you´ll have a change to visit us again very soon.

Have a nice autumn.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finn in Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay in this four star hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and offered a late check out without charge. The room was a decent size but had a nice design feel. Finnish design products used which made it more unique. Amazing breakfast as others have mentioned. Huge selection of different breakfast items!! There is a free bike hire in the hotel as well which was a bonus. We had an amazing stay and would highly recommend to all the travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anunutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Anunutty,

So wonderful to hear you had an excellent stay here at Plaza.

Nice to hear you liked our renovated rooms with finnish desing; Double Bubble by Eero Aarnio, Divan and chair by Yrjö Kukkapuro etc. Just to mention few...

Once again thank you for your stay and your kind feedback. Hope to see you here at Plaza soon again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The best hotel we have stayed in Finland so far. We spent two nights at Radisson Blu in June 2013 and my god we were amazed! Our room was very clean and it had a neat decor. The bed was huge and covered with giant, soft pillows. Staff was helpful and we got a room though we checked in early. The buffet breakfast was awesome! I really recommend it and this hotel to everyone. The location is great as well: the bus station and railway station are really close and the city center is basically in front of you.

And to all dear headbangers around the world: This hotel was the accommodation choice for Tuska 2013 artists. We saw Ihsahn and a few other artists there. HELL YEAH!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your very nice review.

And as you mentioned most of the artist of Tuska 2013 stayed here at Plaza. Hope to see you next year with us and hopefully those artist for Tuska 2014.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Will never return here and I haven't even checked in yet!! Arrived at 6am after my overnight flight from Portugal, unfortunately there are no rooms open for me to check in, understandable. 930 am after a few tours groups and others have checked out, "sorry sir, but we have to keep rooms open for tour groups coming at 11am or 12, so you're going to have to wait til 3pm, regular check in time. Although we have executive rooms that u can check into right away." Are you kidding me!?! I can't check into an empty room early and I've been sitting here politely, half asleep because I'm on no sleep, so I need to sit in the lobby for 9 hours because some tour groups also have booked rooms starting the same day!! Treating your customers differently is absolutely unacceptable!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank danielmeirinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear danielmeirinhos,

We still want to send our sincere apologies for your inconvenience.
I hope that you accept our apologies.

I am personally truly sorry that you had to wait so long to get your room. It was actually me (signed) who gave you a room at 10.38am. Normally we start check in around 3.00pm, in the middle of tourist season it is sometimes a bit difficult to give rooms earlier than 3.00pm.

We usually recommended to our guest who arrives early at the morning to book a room also for the day before - that is the bets way how you can make sure you get the room right in the morning.

I also want to apologies the way how it was handled before I came to discuss the matter with you. If there is still something what you want to discuss please contact directly to me.

We wish you all the best and great autumn.

Sincerely yours,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
598 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
442 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,345 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing