We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed if you stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the outside, this hotel does not look very impressive, but inside is completely different, and you will think you are in a brand-new hotel. The location is very convenient, because it is across the plaza from the central rail station. The Finnair shuttle bus from the airport stops here, and this hotel is just on the other side of the rail station. There are many restaurants and shops located within a few blocks, including a casino across the street. The hotel itself is very new, clean, and well-maintained, and the rooms have modern amenities such as flat-screen, high-definition TV, USB charging port, etc. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, with an extensive breakfast buffet that is included in the price. But perhaps the best feature of this hotel is its outstanding staff - everyone is very friendly and eager to be helpful, We did have one issue, but the staff immediately corrected the situation and even gave us an extra discount to compensate for our inconvenience. We would highly recommend this hotel, and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Helsinki in the future.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you should avoid rooms that faces the Aussie nightclub across the main s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear tomtinaz,

Warm greetings from Helsinki!

On behalf of our Team Plaza I want to thank you for your kind review!
It is our passion to keep our guest's at good hands - we all love what we do!

We wish you and your family a pleasant autumn!
You are most welcome back in Plaza in the future!

Kind regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is really central and next to the train station and tram stops if you wan to go further afield. The room was lovely - quiet with an excellent bed, well sorted media equipment including hdmi and audo jacks plus wifi included. Staff were freindly, helpful and efficient. The hotel has a (very quiet) guest sauna. Plus the breakfast is one of the best we've had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Julia P,

Thank you for your lovely review!

It is always nice to read comment's like this: "Plus the breakfast is one of the best we've had at a hotel." - direct copy from your review. I have forwarded your kind feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager and he sends greetings back to you.

Did you know that there was a "friendship" game between Manchester City - Arsenal at Helsinki last Saturday? (10th of Aug)

Lot's of greeting to Manchester and looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza!

Kind regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for pleasure, not business. A disappointing looking building in a bland street but lots of bars / restaurants nearby. Walking distance to train and bus station and only 10-15 mins to Market sq. & Senate Sq so good location for sightseeing. Reception empty on arrival and checked in quickly and efficiently. Room OK for size and no desk not an issue as for pleasure. Bathroom on smaller side size wise, but heated flooring nice. Bath towels a bit on the small side and not that soft. Everything worked and everything was clean. No noise issues. Wifi worked well. Shower was interesting on 2 of 3 days as it changed temperature of its own accord which is always interesting. Breakfast had a really wide choice and was generally good but hot food was not that hot, a bit lukewarm. The most frustrating thing was the toaster, took forever to vaguely toast anything. A new toaster is required. Overall, a good stay, just with those few niggles described. Staff all friendly and helpful and all spoke English well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear chrian,

First I need to apologies that there was few issues that did not meet your needs.
I'd like to inform you that we have already started renewing our exterior, so it will look much nicer in the end of august 2013.

Nice to hear that you liked our breakfast, we will take into consideration with few things that you mentioned on your review.

Looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza!

Kind regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having a 3 night stay pre-booked by our holiday company as an extension to a 2 week river boat cruise in Russia we couldn't have made a better choice had we chosen it ourselves. From checking in to checking out things could not have been better, a super room with excellent wi-fi, clean and modern and above all quiet. Having arrived by train from St. Petersburg the location was not only good for the station but 'downtown' and the harbour were within easy walking distance. I can't finish this review without mentioning the breakfast feast that was offered, this was one of the best if not the best we've had anywhere on our many travels.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kingspanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear kingspanda,

Thank you for your amazing review - you even made me smile!

It is always nice to hear that our guest's are as satisfied as you are. We had took lot of attention about our service and products, on our breakfast we have many Finnish and local goods such as Lappland cheese, Carelian pastry's, smoked salmon etc.

We hope to see you soon again and have a pleasant autumn!

Kind regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been in a lot of Radisson and Radisson blu and I'm totally disappointed with this hotel. It's a very expensive one and its look like a two stars one, it was really surprising for me, even the room looks like a two stars hotel. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Ozzy24,

Thank you for your review - it was sad to read that you did not like our architecture or style.

Our hotel is Finnish/Scandinavian design hotel with twist of international elements.
There is lots of furniture's from such as designers Alvar Alto and Eero Aarnio on our interior, Alvar Aalto is one of the most famous architectures from Finland.

All our rooms, restaurants, bars and public areas was renovated last year 2012 - we spent total amount of 14 million euros on our renovations.

Once again thank you for your review and you are most welcome to our hotel when you are next time in Helsinki.

With best regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is situated very conveniently located next to the main railway station in Helsinki but is extremely quiet and comfortable. Having seen the locations of the other hotels on my shortlist, this is in the best location as its within short walking distance of the majority of the sights and shops.

The staff are wonderful and very helpful. On entering the lobby, it is rather deceptive and at first looked plain and disappointing, but once up in the rooms I found that they are very well equipped and extremely comfortable. We stayed in the new wing and the rooms are equipped with all sorts of gadgetry that are iPhone friendly. Free wifi is included in all areas and the fun lighting in the rooms are refreshing.

The breakfast buffet is generous with a wide choice. There is a hi tech fruit juice station, using an iPad to dispense the juice. Coffee is from a Nespresso coffee maker. In the restaurant, the menu is in a digitalised form and the order goes directly to the kitchen.

Room Tip: I liked the new wing. Many restaurants are closed in Helsinki in July so avoid if possible
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear DianaW,

Thank you for your marvelous review.

During 2012 we renovated all of our 302 rooms, restaurant, bars and public areas. We focused on new technologies such as menu Tablets at our restaurant - as you kindly mentioned. I believe our hotel and restaurant is the first location in the world where you can use this kind of interactive technology.

In the autumn of 2013 you will be able to experience our newest innovation, which are QR codes on the tables with which you can use our ordering systems on your own device. Let´s see what else we can create! :)

Our warmest regards to you - hope to see you again at Plaza!

Best regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very pleased with a recent 2 night stay here. Clean, helpful staff, sauna, very extensive breakfast provided in the morning, and convenient to bus station and Helsinki attractions. Blackout curtains helpful for the long hours of summer daylight and funky, fun design throughout hallways and lobby. This hotel made for a comfortable, affordable, and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMcK2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear SarahMcK2323,

Greetings from Helsinki and behalf of our Team Plaza!

It was truly nice to read your amazing review! We hope that you got easy flight back to home Middletown. Those blackout curtains are very useful at summer time but next 6 months they will be almost useless.

Hope to see you soon back in Plaza!

With best regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,410 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,062 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $149 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing