We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic building, central location, book through hotel website for best deals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A TA friend suggested last year that I join the Radisson’s Club Carlson and I can’t thank her enough for the tip. Applying the reward points from our stay at another Radisson property, we were able to reduce the hotel rate at the Radisson Blu Plaza. There are other useful benefits too, like an automatic room upgrade for 20 €.

We took the Finn Air airport shuttle bus to the bus terminal next to the Central Railway Station and walked a few minutes across the plaza to our hotel. Although we arrived before 3 pm, we were able to check in immediately and begin our sightseeing day in Helsinki.

The hotel is a pleasant walk to the Esplanade and the ferry boat piers. It’s also easy to take the metro or trams to the Hakaniemi Market Hall. For dinner, we walked a few minutes to the main street near the bus terminal and hopped on a tram to Ravintola Kuu. During White Nights, going for a walk after dinner feels like taking an afternoon stroll!

Our room was a superior one on a higher floor. Spacious, with a sofa and writing table. Quiet and well-soundproofed, we slept like hibernating bears.

Breakfast at the hotel is a cornucopia of delights. Served buffet style in the main restaurant, there is something for everyone, ranging from made-to-order omelettes to Karelian pastries. There’s even a special non-buffet breakfast at 5-7 am, for people with early departures.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

As you mentioned Club Carlson reward program is a great and easy way to earn points and free nights. Thank you for beeing such a loyal customer to us.

Hope you´ll have time to see us soon again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel i located in the centre of Helsinki just across the street from the railway station. Public transportation to the airport can be found on both sides of the railway station.

The hotel has all the facilities you need, but it is quite expensive. I was there on a business trip. Else I would probably tried to look for a cheaper hotel.

The fitness room was quite small and not very well equipped. The brakfast was great.

There are several options for shopping, eating and nightlife in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGK190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time taken for writing us such a nice review.

Just to let you know for your coming visits, please make reservation at www.radissonblu.com
We have a Best Rate Guarantee when booking through our website.

So see you soon here at Plaza again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Average hotel. Very friendly helpful staff, but the restaurant is closed Sunday and Monday and they turn the air conditioning off at night so you are sweating in the morning. Located next to train station and close to market square and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizannC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear LizannC,

Thank you for your stay and for your feedback.

I´m truly sorry to hear that there has been some misunderstanding. We do serve food and beverages 24/7 every day of the year. Our lobby bar HUB serves food right after breakfast until late midnight.

Thank for your nice feedback of our staff. It´s always wonderful to hear.

Truly hope to see you here again!

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If location matters this hotel is then a rather no-brain choice. It's a few steps away from the main train station, in the very center of Helsinki, and from there you can easily walk to everywhere in downtown. No shortage of restaurant and bars around it - the contrary, actually.

Rooms are very nicely decorated, the colour scheme and look is nice and modern.

Internet was a bit ... sluggish. In my room the signal was not too strong, and it was rather slow. My colleague could not get connected from his room. So, that was a bit unfortunate.

Another small downside, as already noted, there can be long queues at check in, and as there is no concierge, if you need them to suggest a restaurant, or book anything for you, it can get a bit uncomfortable.

Overall, though, I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear krotas,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback.

I´m so sorry to hear you faces some problems during your stay. I´ll personally take care of those right away.

Hope you´ll have a change to come to visit us soon again.
Have a great rest of the summer!

Kind Regards,
Mr. Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good hotel in excellent location nearby city center attractions. The only negative experience was line in front desk in arrival and departure. No Concierge service, So if you want to ask simple advise you still need to get attention in the very same front desk.
Something in their beds makes me sweaty. Same in other Radissons in Scandinavia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of those hotels that make you think, I wish this were my home was like this. Beautiful room, super comfortable bed with many cushions. Even the sofa was exceptional. Many power outlets, all over the room, which is always appreciated, especially the ones at either side of the bed. I counted at least 2 3-pin outlets. Ginormous TV can be hooked up with your laptop, phone, etc via a variety of ports, and you can get the right cables from reception. Fast wireless internet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froZenFrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I usually stay in the Plaza, so this was a first time. Good and friendly service with great breakfast. Location central, but a little pricy for what you get. Will probably stay at the Plaza next time around...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
673 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 66 in Helsinki
1,409 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,061 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $150 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing