We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Radisson Blu Plaza in Helsinki is very nice. The interior is very interesting since they have managed to combine old part of the building with the new one and at least I found the result appealing. Hotel guests are mainly from abroad, so it is easy to get an international feeling while staying there. The location is very convenient, close to everything - but it does not disturb your sleep. My room - 305 - was spacious and the decoration was ok. The bed was one of the best ones I have slept in at at a hotel. The con with this hotel was that one of my cream bottles - the most expensive one - disappeared when I was staying there. It could not be found and the last place where I saw the bottle was my bathroom at the hotel. This was the first time I ever lost anything while staying at a hotel. The next time I go to Helsinki I do not think I will stay at Radisson Blu Plaza

Room Tip: I would not like to have a room facing the street which leads to the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahtryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Kathryn,

First of all thank you for your kind review. We have been looking for your lost item,
but unfortunately we haven't found anything. Our housekeeping manager has been trying to reach you via email, for more information about the lost item.

We are truly sorry about the inconvenience during your visit at Plaza.

If it is not too much trouble for you, please contact directly us: info.helsinki.plaza@radissonblu.com

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was awesome! The location was amazing, close to everything! The rooms were super friendly and cozy and we had a comfortable experience. The room service and staff were awesome and did anything we wanted!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear HONdominik,

Thank you for your great feedback.

It´s so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Plaza. And I never get tired of hearing so positive feedback of our staff. That´s so nice...

Have a brilliant summer. We´ll be waiting for your next visit with us!

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a very nice and convenient place, right in the middle of everything (but quiet), my favorite place in Helsinki.
helpful staff and nice rooms, ... pity that the hotel was still under refurbishment last time I was there, the sauna was closed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your review.

Renovation is totally done, actually has been since beginning of this year. So please come to see new Plaza soon. We here are so proud of new Plaza.

And again it´s so wonderful to hear positive feedback of our staff. I´ll pass on your feedback for sure.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a glorious hotel that is slap bang in the middle of Helsinki but lovely and quiet. Newly decorated a few months ago, it's got so much attention to detail from an extensive menu at the restaurant being on computer tablets rather than a paper menu, to the gorgeous cocktail bar - very James Bond! - decked out in jewel colours, velvet upholstery, chandeliers and chic little table lamps, to the mattresses on the beds that are extremely comfy...I think I'd return for the mattress alone...!

The breakfast is every bit as luxurious and varied as they say it is. Allow some serious time in the morning to sample what is the largest breakfast buffet I've ever seen at a hotel - and there are lovely touches amidst a huge selection e.g. darjeeling tea, soy yoghurt and all manner of nuts and seeds, so if you want to stay healthy, it's absolutely no problem.

We found the staff warm, welcoming and were made to feel right at home. Which, in a large hotel of this size, is not always a given.

The sauna is a lovely touch and the gym, although small, meant you could work out with weights and cardio.

Some things that surprised us a little were that the cocktail bar was closed on Sunday and Monday evenings and we found the choice of movies you could buy (6 euro) via the TV in your room a little disappointing.

Overall, would highly recommend here!

Room Tip: If you want a view of Helsinki ask for a room that is on the outside of the building - there are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icelandic_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was not expecting that at all. A lovely hotel, great location in the city centre yet set apart from the train station and trams, so really quiet spot.
I was given a room on the 8th floor, superb and one of the most comfortable bed I had in some time. Yes, the lack of desk is a little unusual, but you can relax a little and still do some work. I was not able to try the food as was eating out with a customer and then had to rush really early for a flight so no chance to sample any food at all. But the service was superb, room was great and this is most definitely a place that I will want to stay when I am back in Helsinki.
Trendy, clean, friendly staff, it had it all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I really liked the hotel, it's fantastic location, room decor & size, breakfast, service, lobby bar...
But cleaner had forgotten to clean the toilet -there was need for using toilet brush- and the receptionist didnt really care.

Otherwise ok - might have been bad luck... Will probably return due to it's location and offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mokoma,

Thank you for your feedback. We had pushd up our service, but it looks there is something still need to do. Feedbacks and reviews helps us to make our service even better.

We truly hope to see you back in Plaza again.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Almost every visit to Helsinki I use this hotel. Now they renovated it and everything looking much better than it was before. The bed is now super. But other furniture in the room is from IKEA store, it's very Scandinavian, not so attractive. Still very good location. Generally recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitrosha_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mitrosha,

Thank you for your kind review, all our rooms, restaurants & bars and public areas are renovated at last year 2012 and is Now Open!

All our furnitures at rooms are Finnish design and made in Finland - not from IKEA store. Designers such as Pave Mikkonen and Sanna Pääkkönen from Archeus Architecture Ltd. were the main designers for our renovations. We also used lot Finnish famous desing on our hotel i.e.x Alvar Aalto and Eero Aarnio.

Our hotel is very easy to reach when arriving i.e.x by Allegro train from St. Petersburg.

Looking to see you back in Plaza - have nice spring time!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,505 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,117 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $154 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, has always been one of the city’s most vibrant places—an iconic destination for jet setters, culture seekers and business leaders alike. The historic building dates to 1917, when Finland gained its independence. Whether you’re here for business or leisure, the hotel’s close proximity to a number of local attractions puts the city within easy reach. Take a pleasant walk to the Esplanade park, or try your luck at the Grand Casino Helsinki. The Rautatientori Railway Square, right next to the central station, is only 2 minutes from the hotel. All of the 302 rooms and suites of Plaza guarantee a luxurious experience, each equipped with unique Blu Dreams sleeping experience including a plush Magic Bed® intelligent bed and classics of Finnish design. Our stunning rooms also come with upscale amenities such as free high-speed, wireless Internet and MediaHUB control panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing