We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location- and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have used the Radisson Plaza as my "home" when staying in Helsinki for the last 6 years.
The hotel itself is a rebuilt headoffice, combining some of the classic charm and modern design.
The hotel is quite busy, both as traditional business traveller's hotel, and as a tourist hotel for groups.
The Restaurant offers a simple but good menu, to the Italian style side. The bar is often busy both as a dropin after work place and as the place you relax with papers - a book and a glass of wine or beer.
The location is excellent in the dead center of town- close to the main station and just 5 minutes walk away from the "Esplanade"

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest service agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Helge ,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

You are right : we are in the middle of everything . All the majority capital's spots are near by.
I am happy you liked the service of our staff , I will forward you feedback to them .

Let's hope to see you again at Plaza Hotel ,

Kind regards ,

Roberto Barbato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was at this place before. 5 minutes walking from the train station - great when you arrive/depart Helsinki by train. Walking distance to shopping and all major attractions. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is simple but with enough choices and very good quality. My only concern this time was a room on the second floor. It was of unusual design and attached to the exercise room - noisy if you want to get to bed early.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a really nice hotel in central helsinki, within easy walk of bus and rail station. Great service and the room was very clean with good facilities.Communal sauna was empty and clean, so worth a visit. The draw here is the brilliant breakfast, just about everything available, great buffet. Lots of bread, fruit, yoghurts and pastries and a nice cooked selection. I would visit again if just for the breakfast.Easy wifi, great shower and close to everything. Staff were nice and recommended good eats locally.

Room Tip: rooms in the new wing are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip_and_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a short visit to Helsinki.

We chose the hotel mainly because of it's central location, but also based on previous reviews. We do not regret it! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and both check-in and check-out was quick and easy, like it should be.

The room was clean, comfortable and modern - power outlets everywhere. I was kind of surprised when we went down for breakfast the first day - I did not expect such a big selection! Even though a lot of people ate breakfast at the same time, it never felt crowded due to the big space available.

The central location made getting around in Helsinki quite easy, walking distance to both train station, bus stops and tram stops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

7th floor room, definitely VERY specious room with great interiors , electricity slot everywhere, including USB ones in the wall, wireless internet for multiple devices, great location, middle of the town center. friendly staff

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Fadi_FromUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved it all. Crazy tech-loaded room (upgraded to Business Class room at check in). Lounge was nice....cocktails in the evening and snacks all day. Comfy bed, TV in bathroom, friendly staff. As others have said, the breakfast is amazing...only better one I've ever had was at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm. I'll try to upload some pics later.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Business Class room - worth the upcharge if you want drinks in the evening and snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABC3702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed first in this hotel 10 years ago and what reminded me was the awesome breakfast served.
Check in was well done by a trainee....keep I up.
One annoying issue was to get to room and find the electronic key failed requiring a return to reception for a new key....and strangely a new room!
Room was small but for one night ok although €165 incl b/fast seemed good compared with Sweden, Norway or Denmark all of which have been visited in past months.
Wifi included was good and signal medium to strong. Note I refuse to use word 'free' since we all pay in the end.
Bed was soft and I think comfortable more because I was so tired.....
Breakfast as already mentioned......excellent.
Overall service was good and checkout uneventful......as should be expected.
Maybe I will not wait 10 years before coming back again.....trouble is my companies office is around €60 taxi to the north so it makes the choice difficult.
One final point.....great idea on video connections but it would help to provide av cables if required and a remote with strong batteries.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
697 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
1,438 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 64 in Helsinki
1,388 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $151 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing