We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a short visit to Helsinki.

We chose the hotel mainly because of it's central location, but also based on previous reviews. We do not regret it! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and both check-in and check-out was quick and easy, like it should be.

The room was clean, comfortable and modern - power outlets everywhere. I was kind of surprised when we went down for breakfast the first day - I did not expect such a big selection! Even though a lot of people ate breakfast at the same time, it never felt crowded due to the big space available.

The central location made getting around in Helsinki quite easy, walking distance to both train station, bus stops and tram stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    683
    133
    37
    16
See reviews for
301
599
113
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

7th floor room, definitely VERY specious room with great interiors , electricity slot everywhere, including USB ones in the wall, wireless internet for multiple devices, great location, middle of the town center. friendly staff

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadi_FromUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved it all. Crazy tech-loaded room (upgraded to Business Class room at check in). Lounge was nice....cocktails in the evening and snacks all day. Comfy bed, TV in bathroom, friendly staff. As others have said, the breakfast is amazing...only better one I've ever had was at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm. I'll try to upload some pics later.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Business Class room - worth the upcharge if you want drinks in the evening and snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC3702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed first in this hotel 10 years ago and what reminded me was the awesome breakfast served.
Check in was well done by a trainee....keep I up.
One annoying issue was to get to room and find the electronic key failed requiring a return to reception for a new key....and strangely a new room!
Room was small but for one night ok although €165 incl b/fast seemed good compared with Sweden, Norway or Denmark all of which have been visited in past months.
Wifi included was good and signal medium to strong. Note I refuse to use word 'free' since we all pay in the end.
Bed was soft and I think comfortable more because I was so tired.....
Breakfast as already mentioned......excellent.
Overall service was good and checkout uneventful......as should be expected.
Maybe I will not wait 10 years before coming back again.....trouble is my companies office is around €60 taxi to the north so it makes the choice difficult.
One final point.....great idea on video connections but it would help to provide av cables if required and a remote with strong batteries.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a standard room in the "old part" of the hotel and we loved it. For the price (about 80 euros - thanks to the hotel's own Best Rate Guarantee) it's a bargain in the middle of Helsinki. The room size was a positive surprise. The location is very central, but still hotel is located on a quiet street and because it is Finland, the noise isolation is perfect. There were absolutely no thrills in the room, decor was fine, the king size bed and pillows were the Blu Dreams standard - in other words - perfect. Tea making possibility is a big plus. Really, almost no complaints.

My only complaints will be addressed to the non-Finnish staff members at the reception and a lack of fresh fruit juice at the breakfast. The juice machine is ridiculously operated by iPad, and all fruit juices are terrible.

The Finnish guy with the Service Manager tag was amazingly good at his job. All in all, the Radisson standards are present, hotel is way better than its cousin in St-Petersburg (Sonya).

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel has maybe a bit more charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip, and having stayed on quite a few hotels, I can honestly say that this hotel was great. Beatuiful decor, the location of course, the single room was big enough, well lit, nice bathroom with everything you need, very good breakfast, nice staff, big beds, well equiped, and a lot of spaces to settle down for eg in the lobby or in the corner of the large bar area, to bring your laptop and do some work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinksFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had booked into Radisson Blu Plaza for a long weekend of sightseeing & catching up with friends and family. The hotel location is fabulous as you are only 2 mins walk from the main train station where you arrive if you take a bus to the city from the airport.

We were give a choice of a room and opted for a room on the top floor facing the courtyard, which meant that despite the central location the room was very quiet. We were very impressed with the room which was well designed and comfortable. We were unable to connect our iPod with the I room entertainment system but as we were mostly out it did not really matter.

Breakfast was served with a smile in the lovely restaurant. We enjoyed the choice - especially our 'made to order' omelettes in the morning.

The only minor things that disappointed us was a longish wait at the lobby bar ' the hub' as the drinks were served by the same person who was also manning the check in desk. It also transpired that the 7 Blings bar was closed on Sun & Mon evenings although that was not included in the hotel information.

We are already planning to stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Helsinki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing