We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better Radisson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A better Radisson”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its been a while since I stayed in a Radisson - I gave up a while back, but chose this one in Helsinki due to its proximity to the station. It was pleasantly better than I remembered. The best part of the hotel is the breakfast room, which was one of the nicest I have experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Yarmas ,

Thank you very much for you review.
I am glad you enjoyed our hotel's services & products.
I also condider the breakfast the most important meal of the day and we continuosly keep our quality standards high in orfer to offer and strive the best .

Let' s hope to see you soon at Plaza Hotel ,

Kind regards ,

Roberto B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    715
    138
    38
    16
See reviews for
305
621
118
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iran
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late November and I am very surprized that despite cold weather that was freezing at nights, the warming system was not turned on yet ,so my son was staying under blanket all the times. And the tempreture could not be increased by ventilation system. The radiators were cold. After calling few times, finally they accepted that it was not working and gave us a heather!!!. Consider that this hotel charge you more than 170 Euros per night!!.
However there are three good things in this hotel too that should be mentioned: 1- It is in city center and very close to main shopping areas, central square, train station and bus stations. 2- It enjoys from modern architecture. 3- The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsiIran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Parsilan ,

Thank you for the accurate feedback.
I am truly sorry for the cold into your room .
I am happy you liked our super central location and the quality of the services & products offered.

Kind regards ,

Roberto Barbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Viking Tour. Because of construction outside the first room we were given the front desk graciously moved us to a quiet area of the hotel. This is a great location. The room numbers are unlike anything I have seen before. They are lights at the foot of the door with 3 colors that indicate your needs. The room itself was very comfortable and big for European standards. I loved the heated floors in the bathroom. Good restaurant and lounge. The breakfast service was very good. I would not hesitate to stay here if I returned to Helsinki.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hallway that is not in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear reet,

Thank you for your kind review. I´m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. It´s also nice to hear that innovations in our renovation pleased you.

The renovation is now over, so your more that welcome to see the final result.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family in Fairfax, VI, USA.

With Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trstenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for one Saturday night, mid-November, in order to go to the hotel's restaurant Kitzens (reviewed separately under Restaurants on here).

As the hotel's website and some of the reviews on here have highlighted the renovation work, I was a bit apprehensive but can say that in my time there, no work was visible or audible.

Upon check-in, my Concierge level membership of the Carlson Rezidor loyalty scheme was recognised and I was upgraded to one of the business class rooms on the top floor. The staff were professional & welcoming; perhaps conscious of the language barrier (upon arrival I knew the grand total of zero words of Finnish), they explained where all the main facilities were and also gave me a very handy aide-memoire sheet containing the 'key' guest information in English.

The rooms on the 7th floor look like some of the recently renovated ones. First point to note is that the hotel has proximity cards (using RFID?) instead of the usual coded key cards, so you don't have to insert the card into the door, just hold it next to the lock and an LED flashes to confirm entry. It's the first time I've seen these used and they are a massive plus over the traditional card key. Entry & egress to other parts of the hotel - such as the executive/club lounge - are also by the card.

The room numbers appear to be projected onto the floor outside the door and glow different colours to indicate the guest's preferred status; blue for 'I'm home', green for 'clean the room' and red for 'do not disturb'. This is controlled from a control panel just inside the door, in different languages. It's actually done via a plate in the floor but it looks like it's projected from above and you find yourself looking around for the projector so you can run your hand across it to interrupt the beam.

The room on first impression was a bit compact, although this was perhaps down to the absolutely huge bed and leather panelling that went up the back, over the top and down the end of it. A modern and rather funky take on the four-poster concept. In fact funky would be an apposite adjective to describe the room; the overall palette was clean, sparse white but interspersed with a range of bright colours, in the guide of the sofa, cushions and curtains. It's a bit in your face to start with but I quickly got used to it and it was actually quite intimate and welcoming.

Business class rooms in the UK are often just a standard room with a bathrobe and complimentary bottle of water but this one had clearly been designed with business travellers in mind. Firstly, there were plenty of plug sockets for charging devices, including a UK plug socket in case you don't have an international adapter. A clever touch.

Next, a huge 42" flat screen TV built into the leather panelling. Then, linked to this, an AV system panel on the panelling next to the bed, with Aux In, RCA, HDMI and USB connectivity. Wow; HDMI connectivity linked - presumably, as I hadn't bought a HDMI cable with the laptop - to the TV. Either side of the TV were wall mounted speakers and I guess that an iPod or other device connected by Aux or USB would playback through these. Compared to the usual tinny reproduction through an iPod docking station in most hotels, this is in a different league.

Next, another control panel allowing you to control the lighting. There was mention on the guest information that it can be dark for quite some time in winter in Finland, so being able to choose the optimum lighting is important to your wellbeing. The panel allowed you not only to select from a number of preset 'moods' but also to set the individual levels for each light, which included LEDs roof lights, ceiling lights and a brilliant night light that was outside the entrance to the bathroom and cast a 18" or so spot from the ceiling with virtually no light pollution into the rest of the room. Again, I've never seen this level of customisation in any other hotel and it showed a very clever attention to detail that enhanced the guest experience.

The control panels on the wall and the AV unit were inviting, even daring you to play with them which of course is participatory and involving. Rather than just some switches, the system wants you to have a play which - of course - means personalising the room and therefore enhancing your guest experience. Subtle and clever.

There was also a Nespresso machine, very good sized work desk with its own backlighting and the obligatory bathrobe & slippers. The Nespresso machine came with instructions (they often don't and different machines work in different ways) as well as a good selection of capsules (again, some hotels provide maybe 1 or 2 of each). There was also a good selection of tea & coffee making equipment, as well as cups and glasses, along with a decent stocked mini-bar. These were all in a purpose built unit that had soft, self-closing doors with lovely recessed handles - the main furniture may have been a rather boring white and looked a bit like Ikea but it seemed to be much higher quality upon closer inspection. The same for the wardrobes.

A couple of other nice touches was the general manager's business card, attached to a welcome card, inviting feedback & comments and offering a port of call if any issues arose, plus two bars of complimentary chocolate. I can't remember the brand but it was out of this world and I now want to go back just for the chocolate.

The bed was massive and offered Magic Dreams or Blu Dreams (or was that one of the TV channels I found?!). I've always been a very strong proponent of Radisson's beds and this one was no exception. It sat much higher than a usual bed, aided by what looked like a mattress pad and it provided a very comfortable night's sleep. Rather than one large duvet, it had two individual ones, well one for each side as each was bigger than a single. At first I thought this was daft but then realised that for two people sleeping in it, it ensures that each sleeper has their own duvet without one person hogging it.

The bathroom was compact but well equipped. The shower was OK - not blast you back against the wall powerful - but certainly good enough for a decent shower in the morning. Top marks for also having a non-slip bathmat you could put down, shaped and textured like pebbles, that worked a treat and wasn't some ancient, mouldy grey plastic thing that had seen better days. The best part of the bathroom was the built-in TV. I've stayed in The Mayfair in London before (another Carlson Rezidor estate property) and it had one but it was a) very small and b) built into the bathroom wall. This one was a decent size, very clear picture and was built into the mirror itself. Very cool and fun to watch reflected in the opposite mirror when in the shower...as that meant you could watch it the right way around even though facing away from it. I have a funny feeling someone thought of that when they designed it.

I wasn't really in the hotel for long enough to experience it's full range of services but gathered from reception that there are a couple of restaurants and bars, as well as 'pub' style bar directly behind the check-in area, that seemed to combine a bar, internet cafe, chill out chairs and a fab little gift shop. As for the other bars & restaurants, when the staff explain "...and this one opens until 4am...and that one opens until 3am" you begin to realise that the Finns seem to have got their priorities right. I ate dinner in Kitzens (as above, reviewed separately) and so will leave you to read those comments if you want - I would, as the place was stunning.

For breakfast, business class guests can use the executive/club lounge. This is like a cloister, running around the walls above the main restaurant. On one side it has tables for breakfast and on the other is a lounge. You gain entry by walking up a staircase either side and using your proximity key to gain entry. It is a great space in which to eat breakfast in a very relaxed manner, choosing from the buffet breakfast and/or your choice of separate cooked to order items, whilst being waited on almost on a 1:1 basis. Breakfast was the usual selection of buffet ingredients - both hot & cold - and it was good to see a very comprehensive selection of sauces & condiments.

From memory, the lounge is open for most of the day & evening as somewhere to have a complimentary drink before dinner. Also the place to relax after arrival at the hotel.

Wifi was free (the password was provided upon check-in in with the guest wallet) and was very fast both in the room and throughout the common areas.

The only downside was the work chair in the room. It looked very funky and I am guessing may have had excellent sustainability credentials (made from recycled plastics?). However it was far too small, particularly in width; with slightly raised edges, it was very uncomfortable on the side of my thighs when I was working. The back was also too pliable and so moved when you leant back on it. Given some of the best office chairs come from Scandinavia, I would have expected a higher quality work chair in a business class room, especially as so many of the other room features were high quality. It's only a small gripe though and certainly one that shouldn't put you off.

I saw signs for guest saunas on one of the floors and I gather than upon completion of the renovation, some of the business class rooms will have their individual saunas built-in. Sadly these weren't done when I visited although it does provide a very enticing reason to go back and see what they are like.

Overall, this is a brilliant hotel. Modern, comfortable, well-equipped and welcoming. The room was full of excellent features that allowed a high level of guest involvement & personalisation.

If you are looking for somewhere a bit different for a city break, this hotel should be on your shortlist. From just a one night stay, I have completely revised my opinion of the Finns; an awful lot of thought has clearly gone into the guest experience here, to create something that is well thought out, smart and most of all, fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Propaganda_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you so much for your marvelous feedback.

I´m just speechless. Can´t thank you enough for so great words and feedback. Have also read your feedback about or Restaurant Kitzens and there was great comments as well.

Once again thank you. And hopefully Plaza is your home away from home in your future visit to Helsinki.

With Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was outstanding. It's new, fresh, modern and state of the art.
A few notes:

- the room was clean and cosy
- the room had a/v input capability for t/v

- the bathroom was new and clean
- the bathroom has heated floors and a television
- there is a safe in the bedroom
- the decor was chic
- the do not disturb was computerized; the room number will change colour outside of the room door

- the hotel was only walking distance from the train station and shopping centre
- the breakfast was really good and provided a lot of options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a million for your nice review.

I´m so delighted to hear you liked so much of our renovated rooms and other facilities that you didn´t want to leave. Well in that case we´ll see you soon again, I hope.

Once again thank you for your nice feedback.

Have a nice Christmas time and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for just one night before leaving Helsinki. I have never slept so well. The bed was heavenly! We loved the funky decor. Complimentary breakfast was very good. There are so many range of restaurants close to this vicinity. We liked the easy access to the Finnair bus which would take us to the airport for only around 6 euros per person. We just needed to walk a short distance to the train station where the finnair bus was also. Did not need to pay for a taxi or expensive transfer to or from the airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank penml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

I´m so pleasend to hear you liked so much of our new Magic Dreams beds (from Finlayson)and the decor in our newly renovated rooms.

Nice review, thank you for that. Hope to see you soo at Plaza again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After renovation this is going to be on the top of Helsinki hotels. Lovely design details from room numbers to special design lamps in the rooms. Fantastic lounge facilities for business travellers and super Bling7 bar. Just visited the place and was amazed.

Room Tip: All renovated rooms are beautiful. Pay a little extra and have business roon with access to lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Tuula,

Thank you for your kind review.

I´m so thrilled to hear you liked our renovated rooms and our new Bar 7 Blings. We have done our best to make everything comfortable and cozy. It seem we have reached that.

See you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Rezidor, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing