We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but beware the iPad dinner menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel but beware the iPad dinner menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Overall a great hotel, rooms clean and comfortable and staff helpful and polite but beware the iPad menu.
It's a good concept as you can browse and order through the pad and they bring you food etc. however the menu was not very well laid out.
It was split into all sorts of sections for styles of cooking (Italian, Local, Seafood) instead of the simple, starters > mains > sides > dessert which would have been much clearer and easier to use.
We ordered two mains but one came as a starter (even after we enquired) and we had to re-order a 2nd main. It was sorted out by the staff and discounted from the bill but a better menu would have prevented the confusion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyMonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for time taken to write so kind review.

We are so pleased to here you liked our Plaza Hotel. So nice to hear our renovated rooms are comfortable, that was one of our main goals.

Thank you for your comments according tablet pc, our new electronic menu, in our new restaurant Kitzens. It´s totally new systems in Finland and there is some improvement to be done still. Thank you for your comments, those are taken under consideration.

See you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    683
    132
    37
    16
See reviews for
300
599
113
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Radisson Blu Plaza in Helsinki is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for the money I paid ($262 for 2 nights). It is centrally located, about a couple of blocks from the train station and very close to many restaurants, museums and shopping areas. Many of the major tourist sites, galleries and museums are within walking distance.

Our room was very quiet, clean, nicely decorated and best of all, the beds, pillows and bedding were absolutely luxurious. The bedding was called Blu Dreams, made by Finlayson Oy, and included an intelligent foam mattress, high-quality down pillows (a lot of them at different firmness) and a very comfy down duvet. They also offer a one Touch service, which allows you to call a number for other offerings, such as earplugs or a foot massager. I didn’t use the service, although when I did try to call the number (looking for the front desk), no one answered. So I am not sure if this really works. But regardless, the bed, room, bathroom and location were exceptional.

I found it quite interesting that there are buttons on the inside of the room for “maid service now” and “do not disturb” that, when selected, change the color of the room number that is projected on the floor in front of each room. Normally blue, the number changes to red or green if you select one of the options above. I thought it was rather clever and much better than the little doorknob signs.

The breakfast, included in the price, was amazing, with many options for people with different appetites. As a fan of fruit, yogurt and granola, I was thrilled with the many options available; on the second morning to my delight, I discovered the Nespresso machine. The breakfast area is so big that I did not notice it along a side wall.

The front desk is somewhat busy – we had a bit of a wait to check in, but it is a fairly big hotel. The customer service was good – one of the front desk agents booked us a restaurant on a busy Friday night and succeeded after trying a few places. Booking and checkout were easy.

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Radisson Blu Plaza again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hornetvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are so thrilled of our kind feedback. Our consept Blu Dreams means that our guests have a good night sleep, get revived and regain energy for next days. We have received only positive feedback of our beds and sleep experience. Thank you for mentioning Finlayson Oy. They have together with us developed our Blu Dreams consept.

As a part of our aim is to be a very responsible business hotel we get rid of some doorknob signs and used new technology instead. So nice to hear you liked it.

Once again thank you so much for your kind feedback. I truly hope to see you here with us soon again.

Have a great autumn!

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

As many have noted, you cannot beat the location of this hotel, just a block from the central train station of Helsinki. The rooms, which are newly renovated in a very modern style, are a good size for a city hotel with comfy beds and a big flat screen TV. We arrived very late and were put in an interior courtyard room with scaffolding outside the window. Very early the next morning we were awakened by very loud construction noise outside our window. We called the front desk and they instantly sent someone to help us move rooms to the quieter street side of the building. They were apologetic and referred to me by name for the rest of our stay. Thus, it was poor planning on their part to put us right in the middle of the construction work in the first place, but they did try to remedy the problem as quickly as possible. For breakfast there was quite a wide variety of food of good quality - though it would have been nice to see some fresh berries instead of frozen ones given the season. It is Finland after all. It would also have been nice to have breakfast go slightly later. The computers in the lobby were a nice plus for printing off boarding passes. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again - for just under 100 EUR/night, it was a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sphem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear you liked our newly renovated rooms and our Magic Dreams beds. Also our new 42" flat TV´s are very liked.

I´m truly sorry for inconvenience caused to you from our facade repairs. I´m happy to tell you and to all readers and viewers, scaffoldings have been taken down. Very nice to hear situation was taken care of right away. Our employees all are trained to Make It Right to guarantee 100% Guest Satisfaction.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well I say "our" but as my husband had a very unexpected stay in hospital, I should say "my" stay. The room was spacious and decorated lovely. I felt very safe at this hotel on my own and so glad of the location. It was close to shops and very easy to locate, and also close to the train station and bus terminal, only about a two minute walk. The staff were friendly and were quick to order a taxi at 3am for us to get to the hospital and they enquired after him each time I spoke to them. I would not stay anywhere else in Helsinki and hope to return one day to visit this beautiful city, with my recovered husband!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escapader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind feedback of our staff. It´s so lovely to get positive feedback of our employees.

I truly hope you and your husband are doing great and we´ll see you soon here with us again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in Helsinki recently and had the pleasure of staying at the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel for several nights. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking around the city and is very close to the bus and train stations; for example, we wheeled our luggage over to the hotel for our stay. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the restaurant is exceptional, and everything is beautiful inside and I could easily write very positive details about those things. But what stands out for us is the absolute excellence of the hotel staff. We have never been treated so well at any large hotel. They were courteous beyond belief, answered our numerous questions about Helsinki’s restaurants and stores, provided suggestions for driving routes out of the city, and ordered a rental car that was delivered to the door of the hotel. Every time we went to the front desk for any reason or to the restaurant for breakfast or dinner, we were treated like VIPs! Their positive attitudes and willingness to help made our stay there extraordinary.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Especially that our service is in such a high level. Your kind comment "But what stands out for us is the absolute excellence of the hotel staff" makes me so proud of our employees. I will for sure share your kind feedback with all of them.

Once again thank you for your lovely review. Hope you´ll have a change to visit us soon again.

With Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Some renovation noise but on the whole a pleasant experience. Good breakfast and a comfortable bed. It is just off the main square with easy access to shopping and sightseeing. It is a short walk to the markets along the quay where local specialities can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your kind feedback regarding the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. I´m pleased to hear you liked our hotel and you had a pleasant experience here with us.

The location is definitely nice, near all possible transportation. Also Plaza Hotel is surrounded by shops, galleries and cafes etc. Also near by the sea and market square. Something to everyone to see and visit.

Thanks again for your feedback. See you soon again here with us.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

To be positive - the bed and pillows were wonderful and everything was clean apart from the tile which was coming loose on the bath panel. Everyone is efficient and the position is convenient, especially for the railway station, shops and restaurants. But the corridors are dark and narrow, illuminated by small spots aimed at the corridor carpet. Anyone with sight impairment might well find this confusing - I found it rather claustrophobic and disorienting. The room was dominated by a purply/burgundy construction which went from behind the bed, over head and down the opposite side: a large television was set into it. Unfortunately the teal and pink colours also in the room clashed alarmingly with the burgundy and the central light shade was obviously a poor attempt at modern art. A good hotel, very functional, but I found it very depressing.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have aroom which does not look into the courtyard - it might be more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieThamesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay here with us at Plaza Hotel. It´s very nice to hear you liked our bed and pillows wonderful. Finnish company Finlayson Oy has designed and manufactured those exclusively to Finnish Radisson Blu Hotels.

I´m so truly sorry to hear that our newly renovated corridors and rooms were not quite to your liking. Perhaps on your next stay here with us you would like to try one of our old fashioned rooms instead the modern room you had during this stay. We also have seven differently decorated suites for every guest to choose their own colors and favorite once.

So once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you as our guest in the near future again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Rezidor so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing