We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As many have noted, you cannot beat the location of this hotel, just a block from the central train station of Helsinki. The rooms, which are newly renovated in a very modern style, are a good size for a city hotel with comfy beds and a big flat screen TV. We arrived very late and were put in an interior courtyard room with scaffolding outside the window. Very early the next morning we were awakened by very loud construction noise outside our window. We called the front desk and they instantly sent someone to help us move rooms to the quieter street side of the building. They were apologetic and referred to me by name for the rest of our stay. Thus, it was poor planning on their part to put us right in the middle of the construction work in the first place, but they did try to remedy the problem as quickly as possible. For breakfast there was quite a wide variety of food of good quality - though it would have been nice to see some fresh berries instead of frozen ones given the season. It is Finland after all. It would also have been nice to have breakfast go slightly later. The computers in the lobby were a nice plus for printing off boarding passes. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again - for just under 100 EUR/night, it was a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear you liked our newly renovated rooms and our Magic Dreams beds. Also our new 42" flat TV´s are very liked.

I´m truly sorry for inconvenience caused to you from our facade repairs. I´m happy to tell you and to all readers and viewers, scaffoldings have been taken down. Very nice to hear situation was taken care of right away. Our employees all are trained to Make It Right to guarantee 100% Guest Satisfaction.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well I say "our" but as my husband had a very unexpected stay in hospital, I should say "my" stay. The room was spacious and decorated lovely. I felt very safe at this hotel on my own and so glad of the location. It was close to shops and very easy to locate, and also close to the train station and bus terminal, only about a two minute walk. The staff were friendly and were quick to order a taxi at 3am for us to get to the hospital and they enquired after him each time I spoke to them. I would not stay anywhere else in Helsinki and hope to return one day to visit this beautiful city, with my recovered husband!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Escapader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind feedback of our staff. It´s so lovely to get positive feedback of our employees.

I truly hope you and your husband are doing great and we´ll see you soon here with us again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in Helsinki recently and had the pleasure of staying at the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel for several nights. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking around the city and is very close to the bus and train stations; for example, we wheeled our luggage over to the hotel for our stay. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the restaurant is exceptional, and everything is beautiful inside and I could easily write very positive details about those things. But what stands out for us is the absolute excellence of the hotel staff. We have never been treated so well at any large hotel. They were courteous beyond belief, answered our numerous questions about Helsinki’s restaurants and stores, provided suggestions for driving routes out of the city, and ordered a rental car that was delivered to the door of the hotel. Every time we went to the front desk for any reason or to the restaurant for breakfast or dinner, we were treated like VIPs! Their positive attitudes and willingness to help made our stay there extraordinary.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Tamra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Especially that our service is in such a high level. Your kind comment "But what stands out for us is the absolute excellence of the hotel staff" makes me so proud of our employees. I will for sure share your kind feedback with all of them.

Once again thank you for your lovely review. Hope you´ll have a change to visit us soon again.

With Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Some renovation noise but on the whole a pleasant experience. Good breakfast and a comfortable bed. It is just off the main square with easy access to shopping and sightseeing. It is a short walk to the markets along the quay where local specialities can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lino737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your kind feedback regarding the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. I´m pleased to hear you liked our hotel and you had a pleasant experience here with us.

The location is definitely nice, near all possible transportation. Also Plaza Hotel is surrounded by shops, galleries and cafes etc. Also near by the sea and market square. Something to everyone to see and visit.

Thanks again for your feedback. See you soon again here with us.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

To be positive - the bed and pillows were wonderful and everything was clean apart from the tile which was coming loose on the bath panel. Everyone is efficient and the position is convenient, especially for the railway station, shops and restaurants. But the corridors are dark and narrow, illuminated by small spots aimed at the corridor carpet. Anyone with sight impairment might well find this confusing - I found it rather claustrophobic and disorienting. The room was dominated by a purply/burgundy construction which went from behind the bed, over head and down the opposite side: a large television was set into it. Unfortunately the teal and pink colours also in the room clashed alarmingly with the burgundy and the central light shade was obviously a poor attempt at modern art. A good hotel, very functional, but I found it very depressing.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have aroom which does not look into the courtyard - it might be more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddieThamesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay here with us at Plaza Hotel. It´s very nice to hear you liked our bed and pillows wonderful. Finnish company Finlayson Oy has designed and manufactured those exclusively to Finnish Radisson Blu Hotels.

I´m so truly sorry to hear that our newly renovated corridors and rooms were not quite to your liking. Perhaps on your next stay here with us you would like to try one of our old fashioned rooms instead the modern room you had during this stay. We also have seven differently decorated suites for every guest to choose their own colors and favorite once.

So once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you as our guest in the near future again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I always like to share with my positive experience. We spent two night in this great hotel. It was partially in renovation process, but we didn’t feel any inconvenience. Everything was great, we’ve got renovated room with two TV. Our son was happy to have TV in a bathroom! In our room we had everything we need. Great location, extremely well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octobernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It´s so wonderful to hear about your positive experience and most of all your comment "our new favorite". Feels so good.

I truly hope to see you and your family soon again here with us at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel.

Have a nice autumn!

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After several weeks of travel, we landed in Helsinki staying in this lovely hotel. It had a large comfy room with a huge flatscreen TV, including one in the toilet! Staff is very helpful and informed, there's a great Restaurant on site called Kitsens (SP?) and a beautiful breakfast buffet is included in the tariff. The location is near the central train station, so everything is within a reasonable distance. Helsinki is great and Radisson Blu plaza is a must stay!

Room Tip: I think the location allows all rooms to be comparably quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay here with us and thank you also for your very nice review.

It´s wonderful to hear you liked our hotel and our renovated new rooms. We do have new 42" flat screen TV´s in all our hotel rooms and in Business Class Rooms we also have a TV in toilet. While shaving or doing your make up you can see check out news, weather etc.

We actually opened our new Restaurant Kitzens just a few weeks ago. Very nice to have so positive feedback. It encourages us for even better service.

I´m pleased on your comments on our staff. I´ll forward your kind regards to them.

Once again I would like to thank you for your nice review. Hope we´ll have a change to see you here with us soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
724 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,433 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,865 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $158 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing