We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Option in Helsinki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Super Option in Helsinki”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very good hotel in the heart of Helsinki, the city center is 1.5 kms from the hotel and is a pleasant walk (weather permitting) .... there is a beautiful park opposite the hotel ideal for a leisurely run or walk .... excellent gym and sauna facilities, wi-fi works very well, breakfast is good, tea coffee maker which is missing in the room but as a hotel guest there is tea coffee available complimentary for the guests 24x7 ..... friendly staff and decent sized rooms .... would surely like to stay whenever I am in Helsinki

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishiraj_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Rishiraj_s,

thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in Crowne Plaza Helsinki. I am so pleased that you liked our hotel and the striving efforts of our staff. I am sorry to hear that the tea/coffee supplies were missing from your room. Next time when you visit us, just give us a call if the coffee making facilities are missing and we will bring it to you.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward of welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    489
    138
    34
    21
See reviews for
92
243
116
414
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Currently half way though a 2 week stay, the Hotel its self is nice, check in was easy and the staff were pleasant, we have 2 club rooms, in arrival the rooms were clean at first glance but it you look deeper its not as clean as you would hope for and both rooms have maintenance problems, once pointed out to reception they have got them resolved. ( i.e Door handles falling off, shower not working correctly, windows don't shut/lock)

The cleaners spend a max of 5 mins in the room "cleaning" and yes as u walk it it looks like they have been but they miss the little things, ( refilling the tissues, shampoo, pen, chocolate, tea bags) and then its taken them 6 days before they changed the sheets and about 4 to change the towels even when left of the floor. ( as they ask)

The club lounge is very nice, although if the foods run out at breakfast you may wait a while for them to top it up ( if they do)

It has a very nice clean gym and pool area, and can not go wrong with that.

The hotel retrain is very nice staff are good and the food is of good quality, only down side a little limited if staying for a long time.

All the staff have been helpful and polite and you can't get much better. Just needs to have a little more time spent on the things to make it a perfect stay and not just a hotel room.

Room Tip: Try and get a club room on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Philip N,

thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve.

We are pleased to hear that you think our staff is helpful and polite. We are sorry that you had some problems during your stay. Gladly you were able to discuss about these matters with our general manager before you checked out.

Once again, thank you for taking time to write to us. We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Fairly central to shops and museum There is a nice park opposite good for early morning walks. Restaurant on ground floor for all meals. not inspiring atmosphere food ok. rooms average. Felt slightly let down compared to other Crowne Plaza Hotels Would look else where.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear noosasunshine,

thank you for your visit at our hotel and for taking time to leave your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. The park next to us is very nice for walks.

Your comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our service continually. We hope to see you again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

So.. I hadn't specified a non smoking room so ended up in a smokers one and boy did it stink. The hotel said they couldn't change because the hotel was full which is fair enough. To make matters worse though the room cleanliness wasn't great and the room " cleaning" in the morning was very cursory, consisting of straightening the duvet ( but not pillows) and putting in clean towels. Restaurant was boring and repetitive at breakfast. The only positive was the location as it's a 15 min walk to the center and across from the lake. I shan't be coming back, even to a non smoking room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Off_shore_rib,

thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am sorry to hear about your issues with the cleaning and that you think our restaurant is boring. I am pleased that you like our location next to the park.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments. I have also forwarded these comments to our housekeeping department and to our restaurant.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed there twice in a week - the first time very nice and the second bad.

A fire alarm went off around 3 a.m. and I dashed out of the hotel like crazy. It was still cold outside. I have been travelling in Finland from time to time for almost 20 years and I know Finland is a very nice and safe country. When a fire alarm went off, I believed something very unusual must have happened. I was told it was a false alarm and went back to have some sleep. After an hour, the fire alarm went off again. I ran and I shivered outside again. A false alarm again! The entire night was ruined...

I asked for 50% refund of the room rate for that night because I didn't get any value after 3 a.m. but was turned down by the management. The management did cancel my breakfast bill as a goodwill gesture. But, as a matter of principle, they should have charged me for breakfast and given me the 50% refund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear C H,

thank you for writing a comment regarding your stays in Crowne Plaza Helsinki. We are pleased to hear that your first stay was pleasant.

We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel because of these alarms. Alarms were caused by a sudden failure in the system and these alarms informed us that something in the system needed urgent maintenance.

We have taken a note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose our hotel for your future travel needs in Helsinki.

Best regards
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is from the outset a very interesting hotel. It has a very nice Finnish design and it is a typical landmark. Its big, has an excellent gym, very good rooms and overall feels nice. This is a hotel that should seriously be among the best in the city, but by some reason there is no attention to the service.

On the day of arrival, I went to the reception, only to be greeted by a non smiling trainee that didnt really seem amused. She was obviously also a bit insecure on handling my check in, but its ok not to know everything as a trainee. But, I am surprised that the management has not taught first to smile and communicate well with guests. This should be priority number 1 for trainees.

When I checked in to my good looking room, I decided to take a Fazer chocolate from the minibar. I took a piece in my mouth, and felt that it was soft, hard, tasted very weird and somehow disgusting. I checked the other pieces of the chocolate bar and saw that they were brown, white, light brown etc, in other words spoiled. The expire date was in January 2014, and now its April. I checked the other chocolate bar and it was also expired. And so was the bag of nuts too ?!?! At this point I decided to pay a visit to the reception and tell about the incident. They apologized and blamed housekeeping. And this naturally sounds a bit alarming, as we can expect that other rooms are infected with these expired products. I left the products to the reception and decided to buy my own foods for the nearby shop. The hotel never refilled my minibar with new fresh chocolates and nuts, which I found extremely weird. They just decided to forget the situation. In the morning while checking out, they asked if I had had something from the minibar. I had to tell the story again, and they apologized and blamed the housekeeping again. But thats it.

I can see that the management in this hotel has huge lack of customer attention and it affects the whole staff. The staff should know how to handle situations when things go wrong and see it as an opportunity to prove that the hotel and staff takes their customer relations seriously. Service recovery as a concept is where hotels and service sector shines or dies. As all involved staff in this case acted in the same nonchalant way, I see that this attitude comes from the management. Crowne Plaza chain should know better, especially in these days with social media and tripadvisor where people all over the world can read negative feedback immediately.

When I think of this hotel, I see the piece of chocolate from the minibar. You can enjoy the photo below...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Kai H,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write us a review.

We apologize that there were some expired products in your minibar and that you did not receive service with a smile. Our hotel is proud of its level of service and quality of its products and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into.

Your comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our service continually. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will give our hotel another try.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here a few times before, this is the first time I've been back here in 3 years. Had a couple of minor annoyances with my room, the staff however were very helpful and moved me to another room. Breakfast was very good, free wifi. Good location next to the park land and a brief walk into town for all the main sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky_Potton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Marky_Potton,

thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our rooms. I am very glad to hear that you liked our service and that you were also enjoyed our breakfast and liked the location of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Helsinki soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#23 of 65 in Helsinki
1,831 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing