We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very convenient, close to the center and great airport link!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very convenient, close to the center and great airport link!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a conference and enjoyed it thoroughly.

You get a great view of the area, you're close to nice restaurants, little supermarkets and a park to go running in the morning. It's 5 minutes from the central station and the airport link bus stops almost in front of the hotel. The staff was very accommodating and I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the higher floors give you a great view and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis_Bours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    414
    110
    27
    19
See reviews for
68
201
96
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
1,108 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,030 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When I read the earlier reviews I was a bit concerned about the location. In fact, the location turned out to be the highlight of this hotel. Yes, it is away from the Center, but who wants to be bang in the middle! It is a very pleasant 10-15 min walk or tram ride. In fact, a walk by the lake towards the Center was my highlight of the day. Also, the Finnair airport bus stops almost outside the hotel in both directions, so no need to spend on a taxi.

I had booked a Junior Suite at a very attractive rate, and it turned out to be quite spacious with a large bathroom with a tub, though no separate shower as is the norm now. If you look very closely, only then will you notice that the hotel is showing its age. But otherwise it is very well maintained. However, the biggest problem I had was the street noise. Even on the 8th floor with all the windows shut, I could hear the trams, the cars and the odd amateur musician singing away. Opening the windows was a mixed blessing. In the middle of spring, it provided fresh air. I never had to switch on the a/c even once.

As a Platinum member I expected an upgrade, but none was given. But then, Interconti group is notorious for treating its most loyal members as dirt. Only if you have bought their paid Ambassador status do you get any kind of special treatment. Breakfast in the Executive Lounge was pathetic. During the 6 days I was there, it was rarely staffed by any one even during breakfast time. Tables were dirty, plates were left uncleared, food items were not refilled. In fact throughout my stay it was clear that the Hotel was woefully under staffed. I never saw any one at the Concierge desk and there were no bell boys ever.

Staff were very business like without much warmth. Wifi was fast and excellent. Overall, if you can get a rate of less than 100 euros, this is probably the best located hotel and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you like gym, this is the hotel to go. It has a proper full gym on the basement with all the machines you can think of, sauna and big pool for swimmers.
The service is very good.
Breakfast is very nice, they even have Nespresso coffe.
Rooms very functional, spacious and elegant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raff_Man_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, Nice location with great view (from higher floors). Not really close to downtown but with good weather just 10 minutes walking. If you are lucky with a room on 9th Floor, there is a bar with complimentary drinks and snacks and breakfast.
The restaurant and bar offer good food for fair prices. Overall experience is very good!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EwaldIking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We got this hotel at random on a last minute website that hides the name until payment. It was rated as a 4+ star hotel for E180. Which is inexpensive for Helsinki but way more than I usually pay. The hotel decor is somewhat stark because there are strange design factors I could not figure out and are not important here.
The three things I liked best:
Even tho about half a mile from the city center the Finnair airport bus stops across the street from the hotel going to and from the airport.
The area has real neighborhood restaurants and a supermarket close by if you want to buy some fruit and rolls instead of spending E19 for a hotel breakfast.
The rooms and bathrooms are very large and super comfortable w free Internet.

Soulless but think we got a good deal for Helsinki and would definitely do it again.

Room Tip: They have central air and heat but if that is too cold for you they will bring a small radiator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My experience at Crowne Plaza is a bit mixed.

I enjoyed my hotel room and service provided around. However, I found the Maku Restaurant very very disorganised. It seems they were struggling to serve the few customer on time.
It took them 30 min for a waiter to come to my table to take my menu order. It took them another 30 min only the drinks ....I wait another 20 min and still no food. I just cancelled my order and left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Nomadcitizen,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the service, however, we regret your stay was negatively impacted by the poor service you experienced in the restaurant. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights, checked in very late but extremely handy for the Finnair bus from the airport. Receptionist was friendly, informed me that breakfast was 22€ and there was free wifi access. Hadn't expected the free wifi, it was great - high speed and a great connection.

Rooms were well appointed, contemporary feeling, wooden floors, spacious - including the bathroom with a lovely selection of toiletries. Minibar, bathrobe, trouser press, iron, ice bucket - and machine just outside on the landing... Everything you could need really.

I used the sauna and swimming pool, both of which were really nice and located in the hotel at a fitness club used by many locals. There are a couple of shops nearby selling groceries, so I didn't bother with the overpriced breakfast. Location was a 15 minute walk from the city centre, but very well located for anyone visiting Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Park Helsinki
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing