We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I had a 6 night stay in this hotel in November.

Everything was quite nice - Finnair bus stop is close to the hotel; good and friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, fast wifi access. Coffee/tea in the rooms. Nice sleep. Good restaurants around, city center and railway station are just 2-3 stops after.

Can highly recommend for stay in Helsinki, if you can negotiate/find a reasonable price per night :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khachikyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for the review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Helsinki. I am pleased that
you enjoyed the stay. We thank you for your stay and hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely, Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    469
    127
    33
    21
See reviews for
85
229
107
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

An ideal place to park yourself while visiting Helsinki, or, as was my case, to just hole up in the room if you need to work/write in peace. I was lucky to get a Junior Suite at a reasonable rate, and it was definitely worth it: modern furniture, extremely comfortable bed, newspaper delivery (if you become a IHG Priority Club member), free snacks every day at 5 in the lounge, choice of buffet breakfast downstairs or continental one in the lounge, Coffee/tea/hot chocolate/cookies in the room, video player, etc. The staff was very professional, and special thanks to the Concierge Mr. Ajit Singh for his helpful advice, friendly disposition and attention to personal touches (including lending me a Bollywood movie to watch in the room). I sought out the General Manager to express how satisfied I was with the hotel services. With my usual critical tendency and high demands, I could not help but be grateful here. She reciprocated with a box of chocolates afterwards. What can I say, it is that kind of a place.

The hotel is not in the middle of the shopping or touristic areas but that was its advantage for me. There is a gorgeous park and lake across the street for peaceful walking. The Tram, which stops 3 minutes away, gets you everywhere (including Tram 3T that takes you to Kauppatori, the market square by the port). The Finnair bus to the airport stops across the hotel and costs around 6 Euros. Behind the hotel there is a square with local restaurants, supermarkets, hair dressers, bank machines etc.

But there is one good reason to stay holed up in the hotel, and that is the gym downstairs. It is not your typical hotel gym, it is a mega affair, a commercial "Forever Health Club & Day Spa" with every facility you can dream of: pool, sauna, latest equipment and a variety of classes to which you are entitled for free, as a guest of the hotel, provided you sign up. A perfect way to meet Finns too as it is well-frequented without being too crowded.

The only two faults I could find were the lack of closet space in the room (it would be easy to install additional furniture with drawers) and the Internet system which works with cumbersome number codes that expire every 12 or 24 hours and which you have to keep entering.

Overall, though, Crowne Plaza is more than home away from home, it is the type of home you wish you had.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with GO Voyages

Helpful?
Thank bukhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so mush for your kind words about your stay at our hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could meet your expectations.
It is also a great pleasure to forward this review to our staff. Thank you for the stay
and hopefully we can welcome you back again.
Yours Sincerely, Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

My sister & I approached the Crowne Plaza from the back having taken the route from the Tallinn ferry port which was recommended by the Helsinki public transport on-line journey planner (tram 3T) and were puzzled by the name 'Royal' over the entrance. This seems to refer to the function suite. The tram route was not very direct so we were pleased that the hotel was not as far out of the city centre as it at first appeared, just 10 mins walk from the shopping/entertainment district and the railway station where my niece would arrive to meet us both days. Trams & buses stop outside for longer journeys.
Once inside, the hotel is as comfortable and well run as you would expect of an international hotel of its kind. Our standard room was spacious, warm, had comfy beds, widescreen TV, mini bar & hospitality tray. The bathroom was bright & sparklingly clean.
The breakfast buffet had something for everyone, hot & cold, sweet & savoury,meat & fish,fruit & salad, breads & pastries. Just the thing to set you up for a day's sightseeing.
The Crowne Plaza is further out than some of the large chain hotels but the end of the day there's the prospect of a swim and a sauna to look forward to. Unlike their British equivalents these are typically Scandinavian; the saunas are in the changing area so are single sex and the pool temperature was much lower than might be expected.
Hotels are expensive in Helsinki but at non-refundable weekend rates this was reasonably priced and a good way of seeing my niece and Helsinki with a couple of days either side in Tallinn.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel there's no view but no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Helsinki.
I am happy to be able to say that our staff will do their utmost to make your stay
comfortable.
I hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Crown plazais situated in the city center of Helsinki. The place is surrounded by good dining restaurants, good shopping outlets and is really very convenient. Very near to the local railway station. The hotel has an excellent ambience and the staff is very friendly and helping. Its good value for money including good food and a fine bar

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggarwal_ritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your views about Crowne Plaza Helsinki.
I will forward your feedback to the staff with thank you. It is important for
us everybody to know that we served our guests well.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in late September and early October. The hotel was the first and last stop as part of a Trafalgar tour but we booked two extra nights before the tour began. We arrived early in the morning after taking the Finnair bus from the airport. We were checked in immediately and the hotel staff was extremely helpful. Our room was large, clean, and well equipped. The breakfast was included as part of our room package and we found the food and service to be excellent. The hotel is is easy walking distance of several restaurants, a small grocery, and a tram stop.There are 2 computers in the business center that are free to guests and can be used to print boarding passes.
If we are in Helsinki again, I would certainly want to stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the side of the building are subject to less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roustabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Directort,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. We value your visit
and do our utmost to make every guests stay comfortable.
As we say, you are why we are here.
Hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely, Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The title of the review says it all really!!!

I have stayed at this property several times before and must say I do like to come back to this typical city centre Crown Plaza.
The staff is efficient, friendly, rooms are well furnished in a Scandinavian style, complimentary water, coffee/ tea facilities, trouser press, free internet and a very good gym and sauna.
Helsinki city centre with plenty of shopping facilities, restaurants and cafes is a 15min walk from the Hotel, for the more convenient way into the centre take the Tram which stops more or less right in front of the Hotel.

As most Scandinavian cities alcoholic drinks and luxury foot are very expensive but you can still find watering holes where you get a Pint for EUR4.50.

Room Tip: I always try to get a room as high up as possible as I like the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plane_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your verdict about Crowne Plaza Helsinki. We are pleased
that we have been able to provide the facilities and services meeting your needs.
I wormely welcome you back with us, next time you visit Helsinki.
Sincerely,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Checkin was both fast and friendly. Asked if I needed access to internet which was free.

Room was in good condition and a bottle of free water provided. Missed however a coffemaker which is typically standard at these kind of hotels.

Internet was rather slow but at least stable.

Outside traffic was rather disturbing although I hade room at high floor at not even close to the main road.

Breakfast was good having eggs cooked to order. However, scrambled eggs were made of powder making it unedible !

All in all average stay and I would not go here again because of proximity to main road.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your stay in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.
We had a street work the time you were staying at the hotel. I do apologize for
the inconvenience caused. Hope to welcome you back as our guest again.
With Best Regards,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#24 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing