We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stopped by for a very short stay - arrived 9.30pm and left at 5.30am the next morning!

Had a Junior Suite - the room and bed was extremely comfortable and a good size.

Will stay again on a longer trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWW4764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind views about you stay with us! We are happy to hear
that our staff and facilities met your needs and expectations. This is what we are working
for, to make sure that every stay is comfortable.
We hope to welcome you back again!
Sincerely, Mrs Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    449
    120
    31
    20
See reviews for
83
214
103
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August and really liked the CP Helsinki. The welcome was genuine and check in was handled quickly despite being busy. We were given a better room than we booked with a huge bathroom. The room was very newly redone, with a great big bed, very nice decor and all the faclities I would have expected from a seriously 5* hotel. Big flat screen TV, coffee maker, bathrobes, slippers and (bonuses) windows that open and free wifi. It is an easy and flat 10 minute walk to the centre of town, and less to the opera and Museum of Conetemporary art - well worth a visit - and the beautiful Rock Church. Another 10 minutes and you're at the harbour. Helsinki is a fascinating city and the CP is a great, central and super comfortable base to enojoy this lovely city.

On the way into town along Mannerheimintie, the street the CP is on, you'll find the big Kaampi mall, with restaurants, coffee shops and all your shopping needs.

The CP is a great base - nicely refurbished, excellent staff and a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We want to make sure that
our guests feel comfortable when staying with us. I am also pleased that our staff met
your expectations and served you well.
Hope to welcome you again to stay with us!
Sincerely,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Beautiful hotel! Enough is conveniently located, near public transport stop, if you wish, you can also walk to the centre (about 20 minutes). The girls at the reception were very friendly and quickly settled. There is a sauna in the hotel,which can be used free of charge from 9 am to 12 am. On the floor there is a cool ice maker, and in-room is worth a bucket of ice. So take a glass of champagne, if you go to this hotel)). There is underground parking for 21 euros, but we have noticed that some people leave their cars just next to the hotel and everything is ok! Definitely in the future I will be there to stop, because everything is wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So thank you
for your feedback! It is important for us to know that our service and facilities meets guests
expectations. We wish to welcome you here again!
Best Regards,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Whenever you check into a hotel of this category, you expect everything to be perfect. Because it's supposed to!
Bed littered with chewing gum, towels unfolded, soap used. This is not supposed to happen. EVER!
The breakfast personnel is extremely impolite, constantly pestering you with "Hotel policy": "Sit down", one of them barked at me when I asked for coffee and by way of excuse when she came to my table she tried to explain: "It is hotel policy that guests have to sit down to be asked what they want to drink", I just couldn't take it: "I was sitting and you didn't come". "Sir, you can't leave the breakfast area with that slice of bread or you will have to pay for it", that's what I had to stand the next day when I tried to leave breakfast in a hurry (of course the coffee didn't come on time, but I wasn't expecting it to!). I have other stories of hotel personnel finishing up their business with other hotel staff before serving the guest (me fwiw) but I think you get the drill.
I will never come back if I can avoid it.
On the good side, they serve Argentinean and Chilean wines and have comfy beds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaphodBeatlebrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconvenience caused! This is not the way we serve our guests.
I will forward this review to the food and beverage management and we will take actions
to serve our guests as we should.
Sincerely,
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for a week on our first trip to Helsinki. Straight off a 20+ hour flight and to the hotel at 10am it was great when we could check straight in with no hassles. Hotel rooms are a decent size we stayed in a junior suite which was great with one child. The facilities are good especially the sauna and health club.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatandPaulAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you review, we are pleased that your stay was pleasant
for all of you! We are doing our best to serve you consistently as expected.
Have a great Autumn and Best Regards to the family!
Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here while helping my daughter re-locate to Helsinki. It's clean, comfortable with a very nice staff who works hard to make your stay comfortable. It's located across from the Opera House and nearby Kaa, a wonderful Finnish restaurant. There's also a nice square with supermarkets and fresh produce behind it. The Health Club is wonderful too! Convenient to the Oopera tram stop and only 10 minutes to Kamppi. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmf757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed 2 nights. The room was large (certainly by Scandinavian standards), and well equipped. (Including free broadband). As often happens, the room did get too warm during the night, tho at least I was able to open a window.
Breakfast was the standard 'business buffet' which was a little overcrowded on the first morning.
I liked the location. It's close enough to walk into the city centre (10 to 15 mins), but far enough out to be quiet. Quite a nice park and lake opposite too.
If you like decent beer (i.e. not bland Euro-fizz), and want to go to 'real pub' nearby, I recommend St Urho's (Museokatu 10, 00100).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for the views about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that
you enjoyed the service and facilities. Hopefully we can welcome you as our guest again!
Best Regards, Anne Roininen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Park Helsinki
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing