We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service was great, the hotel is dated with some maintenance issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Service was great, the hotel is dated with some maintenance issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Check in was fast. I got a room in the conference portion of the hotel. The hallways and room seemed a bit dated, and I was dismayed when I walked into the room to bathroom stench. It got better if I put a wet towel over the drain...but at times it was overwhelming.

The room was ok, the desk was kind of an after thought and not really comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room did cool down nicely for sleep. As mentioned, I struggled with the drain a bit. I found I could limit the stench, by closing the bathroom door...but them the morning shower was unbearable as the stink was confined and overpowering. My complaints to the front desk led to disinfectant sprayed throughout the room...but when that wore off, I was in the same situation.

Some more good stuff, the hotel is in a good location near the train station and seaport. A wonderful area to walk in. The hotel restaurant was tasty. I appreciate the breakfast and internet included.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room, change rooms immediately if the drain stinks...this only gets worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Regarding the stench in the bathroom, we have taken actions to fix this problem. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this problem caused.

Have a great autumn!

Regards,
Jukka Vantsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    605
    202
    47
    15
See reviews for
157
336
109
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We checked into the Radisson Blu, last week, for our stay in Helsinki. The reception desk was busy, the staff were very friendly, and very efficient. We were given great details for our stay. Our room was very corporate business orientated, but very clean, comfortable and extremely spacious. However their beds, pillows, and sheets were the most comfortable I have ever found. We want a Radisson Blu dreams bed, simply beautiful. Breakfast was an overwhelming choice of 140 different items from fruit smoothies to smoked salmon or personally cooked eggs which ever style you want. A really great stay, for business, couples or family and friends.

Room Tip: Get a 3 or 7 day pass for buses, a great tram network, and the ferries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgieEam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Magic Dreams beds were designed and manufactured exclusively for Finnish Radisson Blu Hotels by Finlayson Oy. The material reacts to body temperature and molds individually according to the person.

Have a great autumn!

Kind Regards,
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Fantastic value for money and great location. Corridors a bit dated but rooms are nice. Just had a major complaint with the bathroom door which swung open and banged against the wall very loudly when not bolted.

Good breakfast and nice bar. Very close to train station, bus station and Kampii shopping centre.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear about the trouble you had with the bathroom door.
When staying with us next time please don't hesitate to contact our reception about any problems you face. We will do our best to solve them.

Best Regards,
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my third time at thos hotel and I will be back. The room was good, the bed was excellent. The silence! I had my room forward busy street but nothing voices I didn't hear in my room (251).
The breakfast was fine! The staff was very good. The busterminal near.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ms. Marita V,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's always nice to get feedback from a regular guest.

Thank you!

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from our visit to Helsinki. We stayed in Radisson Blu. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right beside the Square , Railway and Bus Terminus. Room was of a very high standard. Extremely comfortable beds. Staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the first evening I had a dental emergency. The receptionist Camilla could not do enough for me. She arranged a dental appointment for me at 9.00 am the following morning. All problems sorted by 9.30. . Breakfast was extensive. Could not fault this hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were to front so very early on 2 mornings we were woken to sound of laundry trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fabulous position with adjacent tram stops (beware, tram line 2 heads north, line 3 heads south on the same route which includes the central station, market sq & some ferry terminals, route 9 goes to W harbour for Tallink ferry), the main bus station and a Metro line are in the adjacent large Kamppi shopping centre.
Our room was of reasonable size and comfortable.
Breakfast was good but crowded; the restaurant excellent food although a limited menu.
You have to stand up to use the PCs in the lobby - keeps the masses moving!!
Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
is very centrally located cityhotel with excellent traffic connections. Thank
you for your nice words about our staff and proberty.

I hope to see you again at Radisson Blu Royal Helsinki

Have a great autumn

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel is quite new and well situated in the city center next to Kamppi shopping center. Not the easiest thing to find the parking carage even if I looked at the map in advance, could be better signed. Friday noon there was plenty of space for cars, next day noon quite full.

We got a very tiny room with a very tiny bathroom, had a feeling of a single room whith no space for two people. Basic amenities in the bathroom, I loved the smell of lemongrass in the body lotion. Sink was blocked and I wonder why the cleaning staff doesn't bother to give the message to somebody to take care of it... We were in a rush on the day of arriving, so I forget to mention it to the front desk, but got apology and a discount of parking fee when telling that next day.

Breakfast room was crowded and could definetely be improved by making it a little bit cosier, now it is like a company canteen. Somebody to show you to your table would be nice! Food selection is fine, but coffee serving to the table would make a difference! You hardly can manage to bring both your food and coffee at the same time and that gives constant movement and turbulence during the breakfast.

It was just ok to sleep there for couple of hours, but I would never stay there longer because of the room and bathroom size!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that
you have felt lack of space in your room . Actually 90% of our rooms
are very large ( room 23-25 square meters and bathrooms 5 squaremeters).
Then we have hava few smaller rooms and usual those are in single use.
On your next trip to Helsinki we will take care that you will get one of those
large rooms.
You are warmly welcome back

Have a great autumn

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing