We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
NSW
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of Helsinki- approx 10mins walk from the Central Station, 5 mins to the shopping centre and restaurants on top of the nearby metro station and about 15mins walk to the harbour.

I was very impressed with my room which offered tv, free wifi, a minibar, hot beverages (incl very good hot chocolate), ample room for the luggage without leaving it all over the floor, a generous desk space, a rocking chair, ironing equipment, good sized safe (not one of those tiny ones which won't fit anything valuable), a marble bathroom with bath and lots of nice toiletries included. The only criticism was the fact that I was unable to open the window and, while I understand that double glazing is important in the Helsinki winter, I got very sick of air conditionind 24/7 and found it difficult to find a comfortable temperature.

The breakfast bar was the usual array of cold and warm foods with a thoughtful kids selection (complete with plastic plates and mugs with Disney characters). I would have like to see some pancakes for the grown ups as these were offered on the kids table only! The hotel also offers free copies of papers in English and Finnish and a number of news summaries in several languages.

There is a gym and sauna but I did not partake. Had I stayed longer, I would have liked to make use of the free bike hire on offer as Helsinki is a good city for cycling. I found all staff helpful and all spoke excellent English.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Helsinki. It was my 10th hotel of the trip but definitely the best in terms of room facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    677
    235
    55
    19
See reviews for
174
370
118
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel has everything for a nice stay in the centre of Helsinki.
- Accessibility (within walking distance of the bus station Kamppi and 7-9 minutes walk from the Finnair Bus to Vantaa Airport)
- Several shopping centers nearby, including just across the road;
- Good service, fast and efficient check-in process, payments, check-out;
- The breakfast is decent, but the dedicated breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests, and the people almost always flows smoothly into the adjacent restaurant tables (Grill It), which, however, is quite convenient, because there are more comfortable place to sit.

I highly recommend to visit the restaurant in the evening - a classy menu, delicious cooking, good wine selection.

The only negative during our stay - not working female sauna (closed for renovation), so that men's sauna work schedule adjusted to share with women. As a result, women received only 3 hours a day to visit - the intervals of 7-8 am and 16-18 pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyagywonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to
hear you have had nice stay with us.
Sauna renovation is now completed, and
the end result is magnificent.
Welcome back to check and enjoy it.

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A handy hotel within easy walking distance to the centre of the city. We spent two nights here, unfortunately the weather was poor. We experienced heavy rain. Good food was served for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelalotLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your nice feedback
Hopefully the weather is better, when
you visit the next time Helsinki.
I hope to see you again as our guests

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the hotel as part of a conference that I was attending at the end of May.....luckily the weather was warm with minimal rain.
The hotel is of good quality, very centrally located and has a nice conference centre.
Our room overlooked the metro station and street but was virtually silent.
Breakfasts were included in the reasonable price and there were always plenty of spare tables available.
The restaurant for dinner was surprisingly good for a chain hotel....recommended.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly so we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirflashpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

So we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Upon check in the guy thought we were only there for 2 had misread the booking. He then said he needed credit card for mini - bar (we would not be using this) I said no and he requested 150 euros cash. Nowhere on the booking on travelrepublic was this displayed. We asked for the minibar to be emptied so we could store our own products in there.

We were placed in a room on the 4th floor, soon after checking in we discovered the bathroom smelt of sewage very badly, we asked reception to sort this. We never had a call back from there or visit and spent the next 3 days in a room smelling of sewage. This is not satisfactory, when the hotel displays if you aren't satisfied you don't pay, we should of been offered a different room or a refund. The check out lady just said oh im sorry. This was not at all satisfactory and didn't make up for our smelly stay!!

The good points are hotel location, 5 mins from station, near shops, restaurants etc. Also free wifi and the maid service was very efficient.

However based on reception staff and lack of care for our smelly room I would not go back.
we stayed 27th-30th May under name Susan best. If anybody would care to contact us to actually explain why we weren't offered a refund when we said the sewage room wasn't satisfactory?!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aussie_dreams2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry about inconvenience you faced during
your stay with us. It is our company policy to take
credit card number from everybody when checking
in. But room changing we would taking care as soon
as we heard about problems in you room. Actually
the sewage was cleaned next day,but we never verify
your satisfaction. As a departmenthead I am sad about
that. Making sure that guests are satisfied is one most
important matter in serviceindustry.
Would you please send me your contact information
to solve this out properly.
And welcome back. I am sure we can do much better
on your next visit with us.

Best regards
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Send Radisson hotel we have stayed in Scandinivia, central location walking distance to town, pleasant stay, a bit noisy when we arrived because the ice hockey was on between Sweden and Finland and TV's were turned up in bar and restaurant. Food in restaurant was good, breakfast was ok, no choice with eggs on how you wanted cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebAustralind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice feedback.
You are warmly welcome back to Radisson Blu Royal
if you are coming again to Helsinki.

Have a great summer

Best regards
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is ok. A bit above average because of the minibar, individual climate control, free wireless Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and trouser press in the room.

The rooms are a little bit worn,

Quite good location.

The breakfast room is quite small. The breakfast is ok, but without surprises.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juustina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review.
We are improving our proberty all the time,
and next we are renewing our TV system
to the new level. Welcome to see brand new
TV`s and service´s on our next trip to Helsinki
and Radisson Blu Royal.

Have a nice Summer
Jukka Väntsi
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#33 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#23 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Rezidor, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing