We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

stayed here recently for business, good central location close to shops and all central areas. Received a room upgrade which was very nice and appreciated, rooms were clean and functional. Breakfast was OK but could be better, also breakfast room was dark and uninspiring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWilson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed wiht us.
And thank you for you tips for improving our breakfast
facilities. We are working on it currently and I am sure
we you will find it more pleasand on your next visit with us.

Have a great winter

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although slightly clinical looking from the outside this hotel offers great service and comfort. The hotel is next door to a shopping center and bus station. Taxi ride from the airport is around €50 but you could also take the bus. Interior is very modern and scandinavian. Staff speak good english, room was very clean and our bussiness class room, on the 5th floor, was very well equipped. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good although the vegetarian choice is rather limited. Breakfast is also good with lots to choose from. All in all a great place to stay. We certainly found the staff very friendly and most helpfull!

Room Tip: The upgrade to bussiness class is well worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna mari h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Anna Mari
Thank you for you nice comments conserning our staff and service attitude.
I am glad to hear you have had pleasand stay in our great business class rooms.
And as you said it is always worth of asking for a upgrade with reasonable rate at
check in. You can get pleasent surprice, if there is still some businessrooms or suites left.

Have a nice winter

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Centrally located hotel provides good access to the most of the city hot spots. It's next to Kamppi station, meaning withing walking distance from the very city center. Rooms are comfortable and specious, standard Radisson set of amenities. Room was a bit cold even with a switched on heating system. Very helpful and funny bar staff helped a lot and made my stay more pleasant. The only real problem is internet connection (it is funny, but they call it high-speed - id din't find neither high nor speed). But speed of the internet and strength of the wi-fi signal is a common problem in Finland's hotels, so it might be considered not as an issue but as a standard. Otherwise good hotel for a short stay with everything you might need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest
I appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding
your recent stay with us. And thank you for you improvement subject
concerning about Wlan-Internet. We heve allready ordered some
new hot spot transmitters to make our Wlan range even more
comprehencive.
Welcome back to check it out on your next Helsinki visit

Have a nice winter time

Jukka Väntsi
Front Offiice Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is very good hotel for 110 - 120 Euro/night price range. Reasonably big rooms with good amenities even at basic rate (they also have business class), good (slightly dated) bathroom, central location, a lot of restaurants and shops around, decent breakfast – this is almost ideal place for business trip unless you prefer to try some design hotels (which is totally different category).
Air-conditioning and ventilation is a bit offensive, but I must admit that I’m sensitive to that stuff – also I saw hotels with MUCH worse setup you can't controll at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are going through
and readjusting ventilation system and will be perfectly
tuned by the end of February.
Have a nice winter and welcome back

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good sized clean room. Comfortable bed, large bathroom with all the amenities.
Usual Radisson hotel, but better than average service.
Front desk helpful and no queues to check in or check out.
Breakfast buffet half decent, had everything you would expect.
Good for weekend breaks or business trips.
Wouldn't particularly recommend it for a romatic getaway - better boutique hotels around for that.
Large sized underground parking, but it can be difficult to find (follow bus route tunnels!) and is quite expensive - expect to pay around €30 for overnight parking.
The hotel can be decent value if booked in advance.
Great location in the middle of the city, but can be a little noisy.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotswolds_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Once again compliments for our staff is making me happy.
"Better than average service" as you said is something we
are aiming to every day. We are working hard to reach this
service level newly with our all guests.
You are warmly welcome back

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Okay, I am not really a big fan of Radisson network. I used to stay in Radisson Shanghai for a fortnight a couple of years ago and it was pretty awful. So I really was a bit hesitant when booking this hotel for my weekend stay in Helsinki. What finally made my decision was the location of the hotel. Yes, this is one of the strongest advantages of the hotel - it's close to everything in Helsinki downtown.

Like I said, you can't get a better location, it takes 5 minutes walk from railway station. All the bars, subway stations, museum, shopping centers (there are at least 4 of them around, all huge, lots of brands, keep your wife AND your credit card away from them:)))

The hotel itself is really a true Radisson at its best. Great service, friendly staff, nice room and cool bedding. No complaints ever, everything is quite perfect. Yes, it's not really cheap, but in my mind, it's pretty worth it.

One thing that surprised me a bit in the "business class" room was the selection of amenities. The prospect in the room boasted "upgraded bathroom amenities", but... Well yes, it had a number of soaps, shampoos and even bath salt (!!!), but no toothbrushes and toothpaste. Okay, not really a big deal, but I'd say a person can live without bath salt, it's not that necessary after all. But it's quite common for people around the world to brush their teeth at least once a day. That was a bit surprising.

There is also a restaurant in the ground floor called "Grill it!". Again, absolutely perfect services, smiling and helpful waiters and pretty relaxed atmosphere. A bit overpriced, but it's quite ok for a hotel's restaurant. Recommended if you don't want to get outside into cold and windy weather. It's a northern country after all:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest
I appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding
your recent stay with us. Toothbrush and paste is availeble for
all the guests at the reception. We have to think would it be
good to have it part of amenities in every business class rooms.
Thank you for your nice words about service and staff .
You are warmly welcome back

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for good hotel with full servise in center of Helsiki Radison Blu is one of the best once.

All the transpotation ( underground, trams, busses, taxis ) are just few steps from the front door. Good food in the restaurant. Proper gym! Not the normal " we have a gym " and picture on a website. Gym is used also from people how do no stay in a hotel. And ofcause nice Sauna :0)

And thanks for helpfull staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaakko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your warm words recarding
our service and proberty. I am always glad
to hear that our service has been good and
food in the restaurant Grill It has been delicious.

You can´t go wrong as you said

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
166 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#25 of 64 in Helsinki
1,581 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
1,626 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $138 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing