We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant- great food- but----”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Family dinner in August- great food- great table- spolit by a long hassle over a dish that didn't say mushrooms were a real part of it and not just the sauce, but they were and one of the party was allergic to mushrooms.
A long wrangle as one of the best restaurants and hotels in Helsinki was an example of how not to handle this complaint- but we persevered and all was well in the end- BUT the hotel endlessly tried to wriggle out of their responsibility and blame it on us!

Room Tip: A great hotel, great restuarasnt, great location - pity about the arguement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Davidpsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was one of my worst hotel experiences, the location was great, but everything else was bad. the deluxe room that I stayed in was small, outdated and with no view. The bed was uncomfortable and with tiny kids-size pillows! The staff were very unfriendly from the moment that I entered the hotel until the check out nobody had greeted or smiled to me or offer to help.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alhitmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A very well maintained and beautiful hotel. Perfect location, facing the downtown park and near attractions and shopping. A very helpful, friendly staff. Linens fresh and pressed, ample fluffy towels. The restaurant had local specialties which were unusual for us, service a bit slow on the Saturday night we were there, better the next night. I would definitely look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlhw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Sometimes you want to give quality time to yourself and to your loved one, or friends or person important to you. Kämp is place to stay. In case you are international traveller, you can compare this to quality of service in Chedi hotels. No mistakes and extremely nice stuff. Excellent room, beds and amenities. Price wise also worth when you look their deals and remembering Finland IS expensive. Consider to pay little extra compared to other Helsinki down town hotels and you get royal treatment instead staying in motel style self service hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FIN-BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a fine hotel. We were scheduled for just one night, but extended it to two because we enjoyed the hotel and its location. Expensive, yes, but a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and bath, shower facility accommodating. The restaurant served quality food at both dinner and breakfast. Again, very expensive eating. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Like other European hotels, we didn't experience bell help with luggage until we were in the front door. By then it is a bit late to be offering help. We would highly recommend this hotel to any who wouldn't mind the more expensive venue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank myrevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to use the hotel by friends who have a home in Finland. Our friends were meant to have joined us but had to pull out at the last minute The hotel upgraded us and included breakfast in our prices to compensate us for having bought through lastminute.com The front desk were friendly. The bar was friendly and the restaurant served us nice food with warm friendly service I will be happy to use this hotel again. Not cheap but convenient city centre location

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Classy hotel in the best location of Helsinki. Service is very nice.
However stayed in this hotel several times ( also in other hotels ) and housekeeping was very poor.
We were not sure if room were cleaned at all. We gave feedback twice during our stay and hotel did offer complimentary wine but we would have prefer had clean room. Dirty towels were not removed from the room and they were laying around the chairs, as well nothing was organized ( hotel staff told us they can't touch any personal items of the guests ). Anyway, good stay but very poor house keeping. Also internet is with charge which I find unreasonable with this level hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaMaria82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,092 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,209 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
567 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $252 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing