We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helsinkis grand hotel”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is the only 5 star hotel in Helsinki allthough I find it more of a 4 star establishment. Small rooms, even the deluxe ones, but nice spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was a disappointment. Location is great, middle of the beautiful Esplanadi with all shops and restaurants around the corner.nice spa.

Room Tip: The business deluxe rooms are ok but still small, try to get room in the old/original part of the bu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter .Lovely big room & bathroom ,I had a premier delux room .Nice and clean .Only downside of room is I would have liked a view to outside onto street instead of courtyard.The Cafe Brasserie was amazing we had the filet steak and I would highly recommend it.I do object though to paying extra for Internet usage as I feel it should be included in price of room .Also the TV channels are not great for price of room .You can pay extra for films which are not that new.I would however stay here again .

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well located in central Helsinki, close to the two cathedrals, harbour area and on a very nice shopping street. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and I can recommend the cocktails!

Good room / bathroom facilities and comfortable bedding.

I recommend the breakfast/brunch buffet at Fazer across the road!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Room is spacious (compared to other hotels in Finland) we travelled with 2 young kids and request for an additional small bed. It's free of charge and the service is good. Excellent locations where few major attractions are within walking distance. Remember to try Karl Fazer cafe just right opposite to the hotel, it's fantastic !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon2011727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Immediately on (very late) arrival we were welcomed with a smile and efficiency. The front desk staff provided outstanding service. It was no trouble for them to immediately bring a spare bed to the room for our 8 year old, and it still left plenty of space in the room. They also provided information about things to do and where to go during our short stay. The hotel itself is located in the centre of Helsinki and very close to the market square, shops, trams, restaurants and bars. Our room was very well presented and very clean. The only downside is that the breakfast was very expensive so worth going around the corner to sample some of the Helsinki restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

this is an excellent hotel and i had a very enjoyable stay. High quality room furnishings, comfortable bed and tastfully appointed room, outstanding service from the hotel staff, including very helpful front desk concierge services for the local area. I ate at Yume, an Asian restaurant in the hotel, and the food was excellent. I chose tiger prawn hot stone with Asian fried rice. the breakfast served daily is very good but a bit expensive (not for Helsinki-inline with other local hotels).

It is located in a very active part of helsinki, with lots of other hotels, restaurants, bars and shops. I was working very long days and odd hours while in town this stay, and i was able to order room service 24 hours a day and the food was very good, with healthy options at odd hours of the night which was a pleasant surprise. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaSport22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations due to the fact that I was very positively surprised by the beauty of its simplicity which disproved my initial fears of some kind of ostentatious opulence one may expect of places like this, On the contrary, starting with friendly staff at the front desk who make you comfortable from the first encounter, finding room beautifully furnished and clean, to the relaxing night spent in its functional bed the whole experience is worth the value of its price. Location in the center of the city with easy access to main attractions is another valuable asset. Both check-in and check-out procedure are very smooth and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,064 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $269 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing