We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, clean, elegant hotel in heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, clean, elegant hotel in heart of the city”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Immediately on (very late) arrival we were welcomed with a smile and efficiency. The front desk staff provided outstanding service. It was no trouble for them to immediately bring a spare bed to the room for our 8 year old, and it still left plenty of space in the room. They also provided information about things to do and where to go during our short stay. The hotel itself is located in the centre of Helsinki and very close to the market square, shops, trams, restaurants and bars. Our room was very well presented and very clean. The only downside is that the breakfast was very expensive so worth going around the corner to sample some of the Helsinki restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    360
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
234
483
113
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

this is an excellent hotel and i had a very enjoyable stay. High quality room furnishings, comfortable bed and tastfully appointed room, outstanding service from the hotel staff, including very helpful front desk concierge services for the local area. I ate at Yume, an Asian restaurant in the hotel, and the food was excellent. I chose tiger prawn hot stone with Asian fried rice. the breakfast served daily is very good but a bit expensive (not for Helsinki-inline with other local hotels).

It is located in a very active part of helsinki, with lots of other hotels, restaurants, bars and shops. I was working very long days and odd hours while in town this stay, and i was able to order room service 24 hours a day and the food was very good, with healthy options at odd hours of the night which was a pleasant surprise. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSport22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations due to the fact that I was very positively surprised by the beauty of its simplicity which disproved my initial fears of some kind of ostentatious opulence one may expect of places like this, On the contrary, starting with friendly staff at the front desk who make you comfortable from the first encounter, finding room beautifully furnished and clean, to the relaxing night spent in its functional bed the whole experience is worth the value of its price. Location in the center of the city with easy access to main attractions is another valuable asset. Both check-in and check-out procedure are very smooth and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm usually not a huge fan of the Luxury Collection properties but this one does an excellent job of welcoming platinum members to it's premises. I was upgraded to an executive suite and I found the room to be charming. I've stayed at many Luxury Collection properties that are historic but look run down. I don't find this to be the case with Hotel Kamp. I thought the rooms were very well taken care of while maintaining some of it's historic charm. I was greeted with a welcome note and a small bottle of wine which certainly helped me feel welcome to this property. The breakfast is good but I wish there a tad bit more variety of food options. The internet speed is very solid and overall, I would certainly stay here again during a future visit.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This massive hotel in the centre of Helsinki is one of the best hotels in Europe. It is a shame that they ruin it with some extra costs like a horrendous price on wifi. 20€ for 24 hours of wifi that is not the fastest one ruins your impression of the hotel - the service is therefore at bottom level for my sake.

The rooms are massive and the bathrooms are quite something. The breakfast are ordinary but good. A plus for a really good bar with really good service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel kämp is in the old part of helsinki center next to the market squares n high class shopping streets.hotel kämp looks and feels elegant.service is ok but abit stiff and "too much" halls of the hotel are amazing.the rooms have seen better days i guess,curtains were dirty n there was stains on the walls n the rooms carpet were not the cleanest either.i was expecting luxury with such prices n reputation.i have visited the hotel many times after as a guest n some upgrade rooms are more elegant and clean but i dont know if the price is that right in this place! Restaurant in downstairs was abit over priced and poor.room service n breakfast was 10/10 though!old school charm it has,if your after that.big minus that there is not free wifi.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed one night for business & while it was a good experience overall, there were a few downfalls - such as the "king size bed" actually being two twins pushed together. Mattress was also very dirty (although comfortable). Gym was nice & is 24 hours. Room service menu leaves something to be desired. Bathroom including towels were top notch, plus you can't go wrong with a rubber ducky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bunny4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
965 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
345 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
416 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing