We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of the city making it easy for walking around, near the water near the main cathedral. The rooms themselves are nice (a little worn but not bad) I'd recommend the hamburger on the room service menu it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    350
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
460
110
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Unidentified
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Fabulous rooms -- we had one night in the old building and a few nights in the new wing. The new wing room was generic, looked like any other hotel room at any other major international chain, but there was a lot of space. Almost enough to do yoga in one corner. And the bathroom was huge.

The room in the old wing just had a bit more flavour & atmosphere. A huge bed with another big bathroom, and although it was a bit smaller in space, it was well laid out. Felt very old world European.

Lots of nice amenities like fluffy bathrobes, huge bathtub, slippers, etc.

Flat screen tv and wi-fi.

We did not dine at the restaurant, but it's so well located that you can walk anywhere around the capital.

The entrance is a bit tricky to find as you need to go in by the side street.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the old wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Kamp in the heart of Helsinki is in a perfect location to shopping , dining, museums and nightlife. The hotel offers fantastic dining, the rooms are superb- not to mention the spa - this is the ultimate for anyone looking for a superior service levels and luxury In a genuinely caring environment !!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyfinn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Helsinki and very much enjoyed my stay. At check-in I was given a deluxe room with Kingbed, and I was surprised how spacious the room actually was. I also noticed how quiet it was at night - despite being reasonably close to the lifts I did not hear a sound. Slept like a baby and woke up refreshed. Service was fantastic - I forgot my plug adapter and within three minutes the concierge came up to deliver one. The Japanese restaurant serves a fantastic dinner. I will make this my hotel of choice when staying in Helsinki. Thank you very much to Hotel Kaemp.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for a night during a quick weekend visit to Helsinki recently. We arrived quite late with the airport bus to Helsinki's railway square and walked about 5 minutes to the hotel. Check in went smoothly and front desk staff were nice enough.

The room was quite nice and felt appropriate for a five star hotel. Carpet looked a little worn, but apart from that the room was great - there was an excellent bathroom with a marble tub, hi-tech tv, comfy bed, robes, slippers, mini bar and the usual amenities for a five star hotel. Also liked the signature Kämp rubber duck, and had to restrain myself from bringing it with me upon check out. :) The public areas look nice and especially the lobby is quite impressive.

What struck me as a little annoying was the cost of most things at the hotel. In Kämp's defence we paid a quite reasonable rate, but, Wifi in room was at a cost (altough free in public areas), the sauna was priced €25 a head (in Finland!) if you stayed in a standard room. I also paid roughly €12 for a draft Lapin Kulta, which I think is the highest price I've ever paid for a standard beer.

The breakfast was priced €29 and was actually worth the price tag. Excellent selection of cold cuts, local Finnish Karelian pasties with egg butter, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, several tasty freshly squeezed juices, great bread and also very nice presentation of the food. The breakfast room additionally looked great and had classical music playing in the background.

Location is great at the Esplanade. The hotel is connected to the Kämp shopping mall and is just across the street from Stockmann department store which has a very nice food hall. One thing that impressed me was that after checking out from Kämp I realized that I had forgotten my phone-charger and emailed Kämp about it. Within the hour they had replied that the charger was found and that I could pick it up in the lobby.

Had Kämp included the sauna and wifi in the room I'd given it a five without a doubt. But all the small costs felt cheap. I would stay again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed three nights following our trip to Sochi for the Olympics as we exited from St Petersburg on our way home. A beautiful City and an awesome hotel. Thank you, Anna (Front Desk Staff) for booking us our little side trip to Tallinn, Estonia for the day. Perfect. Charming little city and obviously why UNESCO picked it up! Helsinki is quite small but really has it all in the way of atmosphere, shopping, and great eating! Anna referred us to Fishmarket a short walk from the hotel which was an amazing dinner of local fish and caviar. Actually, though, and surprising to me was the excellent restaurant within The Kamp itself. Great breakfast buffet, particularly, if you like fish! We loved our trip to Helsinki and would certainly stay at The Kamp when we return.

Room Tip: I stayed in a junior suite facing the street on the sixth floor (611) and this was an awesome room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBeachly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel right in the center of Helsinki. Everything is marvellous - the rooms are clean, spacious and all the facilities are new. I haven't had a chance to sample breakfast yet - I always sleep in - but hopefully will in the nearest future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moscow_Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing