We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Was here on a business trip and even though my meetings were well outside the city the hotel location was great. Its right in the heart of the main shopping areas so perfect for a city break. Rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again for sure - its a very good hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    328
    103
    26
    12
See reviews for
186
401
107
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The Kamp is a typical top end city hotel, a bit bland and corporate, but very comfortable and well appointed. Service was fine although no one offered to take our bags to the room which is unusual for a hotel in this price bracket. The location in central Helsinki makes it a great base and the are some fabulous design stores nearby to check out.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The Kämp has a nice atmosphere, but attention to detail is lacking.

For example, the 30 EUR breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, including decent scrambled eggs.

Housekeeping is unacceptably poor - I slipped when out running and scratched myself quite badly. The next evening, I came back to the same blood stained sheets I had left in the morning (see photos).

Leave your shoes for polish, and the shoe bag will not be replenished.

Leave the ironing board out, and it will not be put back in the cupboard.

Etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times and I still find it the same as mentioned in the title, it's still probably the best hotel in Helsinki but lacking the real five star qualily both in service and the hardware. This time I spent one night in July with my husband just to finish our summer holiday in the city center.

The rooms are a little bit plain and worn. I noticed the mattress cover was way too small for the bed which felt unhygienic.

However we found the the breakfast was better than on earlier visits which is a plus. And the location is the best possible in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. The location was superb, the room was big and well equipped. Loved the bathroom, it was beautiful and clean. However the air conditioner was a little cold and humid, not good for my throat.

Breakfast was quite nice, not just the usual greasy 'hotel-stuff'. The lobby was quite small. The corridors were beautifully furnished and I felt safe here. However the staff weren't very friendly, there were some celebrities staying there at the same time, so that may be why they treated us 'nobodies' like air.

I think it was a bit pricey for Helsinki, but well, location costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent a night in the deluxe king size room and the whole experience from check-in till check out was superb. The decor was excellent, the room luxurious, the sound proofing and privacy without par. Breakfast was tasty, and full of variety. Definitely my choice every time I need to stay in helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was truly a 5 star. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and well furnished. It was conveniently located to the main sites, marina and an easy walk to the train station. We would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to this charming city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Hotel Haven
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing