We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city centre location”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Was here on a business trip and even though my meetings were well outside the city the hotel location was great. Its right in the heart of the main shopping areas so perfect for a city break. Rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again for sure - its a very good hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The Kamp is a typical top end city hotel, a bit bland and corporate, but very comfortable and well appointed. Service was fine although no one offered to take our bags to the room which is unusual for a hotel in this price bracket. The location in central Helsinki makes it a great base and the are some fabulous design stores nearby to check out.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The Kämp has a nice atmosphere, but attention to detail is lacking.

For example, the 30 EUR breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, including decent scrambled eggs.

Housekeeping is unacceptably poor - I slipped when out running and scratched myself quite badly. The next evening, I came back to the same blood stained sheets I had left in the morning (see photos).

Leave your shoes for polish, and the shoe bag will not be replenished.

Leave the ironing board out, and it will not be put back in the cupboard.

Etc.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times and I still find it the same as mentioned in the title, it's still probably the best hotel in Helsinki but lacking the real five star qualily both in service and the hardware. This time I spent one night in July with my husband just to finish our summer holiday in the city center.

The rooms are a little bit plain and worn. I noticed the mattress cover was way too small for the bed which felt unhygienic.

However we found the the breakfast was better than on earlier visits which is a plus. And the location is the best possible in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. The location was superb, the room was big and well equipped. Loved the bathroom, it was beautiful and clean. However the air conditioner was a little cold and humid, not good for my throat.

Breakfast was quite nice, not just the usual greasy 'hotel-stuff'. The lobby was quite small. The corridors were beautifully furnished and I felt safe here. However the staff weren't very friendly, there were some celebrities staying there at the same time, so that may be why they treated us 'nobodies' like air.

I think it was a bit pricey for Helsinki, but well, location costs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent a night in the deluxe king size room and the whole experience from check-in till check out was superb. The decor was excellent, the room luxurious, the sound proofing and privacy without par. Breakfast was tasty, and full of variety. Definitely my choice every time I need to stay in helsinki.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was truly a 5 star. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and well furnished. It was conveniently located to the main sites, marina and an easy walk to the train station. We would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to this charming city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,064 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $269 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing