We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the best in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maybe the best in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Kämp is a great hotel maybe the best in Helsinki, the other top candidate would be Hotel Haven but I have not yet stayed there. The location is great (you cannot get any better than this) and the service was according to the expectations. There was a minor fault in cleaning the room but the staff resolved this very well and quickly and a bottle of red wine with roses was sent to our room. Tha spa is small (and quiet) with three saunas and a relaxation area, no pool unfortunately.

I loved the overall athmosphere and history of the hotel. I find especially the stories about famous composer Sibelius drinking with his artist friends at the hotel bar for days in a row in the early 20th century very entertaining.

Breakfast had only few choices but all very good quality. My SPG Gold card gave us an upgrade to an executive room and free drinks in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krdn-ctlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    350
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
460
110
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well located in the hearth of Helsinki, next to the famous stores like Stockmann, Artek, Arabia, Marimekko , Mannerheimintie Street, but also rig next to the Sea shore, the Orthodox Church and the local market, without forgetting to mention the esplanade. Alvar Aalto's restaurant Savoy is across the place. As a Starwood Luxury Collection, the hotel is well furnished , from the lobby to the restaurant and the rooms. Room size are quite small but cosy, with very comfortable bed and marble bathroom. The wardrobe space was somewhat limited (15 inches wide only, the remaining room taken by ironing board and pants press, which makes it hard to hang 2 suits and 4 shirts). Perfect sound insulation from other rooms, from the outside, and from the corridor. breakfast is good but not as breathtaking as 5 years ago : no fresh squized juices, no more marinated herring in addition to smoke fish selection, and limited availability of cold cuts and fresh fruits. I expect a bit more from a 29€ buffet. Service is discret, you don't have 3 grooms volunteering to carry your small trolley bag upon arrival. Some would feel it is insufficient, I like it better this way.
Great experience altogther, and a highly recomemnded hotel in Helsinki, much better than the Hilton, Radisson and local Scandic/Torni/Rivoli for example.
Last time I was on vacation in Helsinki, this time was for business, in both case a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a room with a view on the Esplanade, they are soundproof and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thierry67200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. I found the hotel to be great. Breakfast was wonderful (expensive but wonderful).
Room was great, bed extremely comfortable, internet (again expensive) but never had a problem with it.
Perfectly located within walking distance of everything. Staff were all amazing and answered every question and need I had.
i Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear MichaelF8,

I would like to thank you for the wonderful comments you wrote following your recent stay at the Hotel Kämp.

Please rest assured that I will share your feedback with our team. Comments like yours make our work worth all the efforts. Thank you again.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and therefore I would like to offer my personal assistance in any requests you might have.

With Warm Regards,

Mika Makkonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I returned to this hotel with high expectations: I was here on business for just under a week and chose this hotel partially based on my previous stay, as well as due to the fact it is part of the Starwood group.

It is one of the best located hotels in Helsinki - perfect for meetings as well as for shopping and sight-seeing. It is a beautiful, traditional building with wonderful antique interior.

The hotel was admittedly very full, however, although there was very little delay at check-in, I did feel I wasn't taken as seriously as those who were wearing business dress, until the receptionist saw my booking...

Based on my room/suite I found the rooms/suites to be on the cramped side, although they are beautifully decorated - my bathroom was very spacious. I was very disappointed by both the room-service menu as well as the pricing - a €12/$15 surcharge before we even get started! Luckily there are tons of great restaurants nearby.

Finnland is the birthplace of the sauna and the spa and sauna do not disappoint. However the gym is very basic - it has good quality equipment but is small and very limited indeed.

I personally was not all that impressed by the breakfast. I again felt I was disadvantaged due to not wearing a suit, couple that with a slightly disappointing spread, cramped surroundings and sometimes very slow service.

I was told that the slight lack of friendliness is partially just the Finnish "way" - so maybe I'm being overcritical, but since most of the clientele are international I'm sure I'm not alone in my reaction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our experience of the Kamp was one of two halves. The rooms in the modern part at the back above the mall are all cookie cutter identical but are a good size and with fully equipped bathrooms with large baths and showers. We can confirm this as we were moved twice after finding the double bed not comfortable enough for my wife who is a light sleeper and asking to be moved to a twin. They did this without question although the first room they moved us to was still a double we ended up in a room at the end of a long corridor.

For a hotel with such a history I found the reception a little impersonal and modern, although the rooms in the older part at the front seemed to have more character. We had good breakfasts in our bedroom and ate very well one evening in the Brasserie. It would not be our choice for another weekend in Helsinki but is a very good business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a one of my favourites. Rooms are very spacious and beautifull. Staff is very friendly, and they are there to help you when ever you need it. i just love this hotel. Great location. Prices are a bit high, but it's worth it. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishanP252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Kamp hotel is one of a kind in Helsinki. They manage to convince guests that there is a luxury market for discerning travellers who want both both an international and a Finnish experience. The spa and it's saunas are most definitely Finnish. Couple that with the amount of fish, especially the huge side of salmon on the breakfast buffet, and one feels the Nordic influence. Could possibly do with a bit of updating in the older rooms but overall standard is quite good. Front desk very helpful and recommended fabulous restaurants. Beware service charges for hiring a guide. Overall extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing