We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but great!”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but great!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Large room. Great bathroom, comfy single beds - our choice, good service in reception. Close eough to good range of cafes and restos to not take breakfast options nor included meals in advance. Worth considering for a special visit!

Room Tip: We were on third floor but the sound insulation is very good so the room was peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Fredo F,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
Please be informed that I have shared your lovely words with our Front Desk Team, who were delighted to hear they were of good help to you during your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mika Makkonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    353
    113
    27
    12
See reviews for
224
468
111
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Luxurious hotel, style however is quite "American" and nothing that reminded of Finland.
Great location, great spa and sauna.
We often had to queue at the concierge and reception, it looked they were quite short on staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Expected much more from a five star hotel. The mattress cover was so old it had yellowed. The carpet was torn to the point you could see the sub floor. I asked for extra pillow cases because the pillow covering was filthy. The rooms definitely need a makeover, and the restaurant was also sub par.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jim H,

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate all of our guest’s feedback as it helps us to constantly evaluate and improve our levels of service. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at our property.

Regarding your specific comments I would like to mention that the mattres covers have been replaced and we are looking forward to replace our beds as well.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. I hope that you will still consider us for your next stay in Helsinki. We will prove you that we can provide a flawless stay experience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I hardly could imagine that a 5 star hotel could be this bad  (speaking of Europe). When we arrived around 10 pm  there was a long queue  (mainly businessmen). The first thing which caught my eye in the room - bed dressing was filthy! Tap water was yellow, but then was  ok after I let it run for a few minutes. Toilet flush worked every second time only. The worst is a very noisy air conditioning! And no, the noise doesn't stop when you turn your room air-con off! I could not fall asleep until 2 am and had to wake up at 6 am. On the other side, breakfast was great! And there even was a good choice for people who are not particularly keen on having Finnish venison sausages and smoked/salted fish :) for breakfast. Later on we had a major issue with our taxi booking. And even though it was a taxi driver's fault I would expect a 5 star hotel to follow it through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faux-gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Faux-Gourmet,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. As we are in a constant process of improvement, your feedback is highly appreciated.

Firstly I am very sorry to read we were not able to provide you with an exceptional and indigenous experience. Please be informed that I have shared your comments and feedback with the relevant departments, in order to improve on the points given and prevent similar situations from happening in the future.

I hope we may welcome you again in the future, to show you we can do better.

With Warm Regards,

Mika Makkonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have travelled often to Helsinki for work in the past 6 years and have never been disappointed by a stay at the Kamp. Consistently excellent service, very comfortable beds, perfectly located in the centre but always quiet in the rooms, great bar downstairs. A very well-managed hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of January – first time at this hotel. Excellent location in central Helsinki, in easy walking distance to many fine restaurants. The hotel is very well appointed with comfortable and quiet rooms. All the amenities that a business traveler might require are included. Internet was complimentary. It’s located on a small park that looks like it would be pleasant to walk on during warmer weather. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would like to bring my wife when we hope to come back in the summer.

If you can, try and have dinner at Sundmans Restaurant, just a few blocks away, opposite the Old Market Hall. Was taken there for dinner by my client – one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever enjoyed. Very charming, comfortable restaurant, dating back to 1817.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Kentfield,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on Hotel Kämp. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Specifically I would like to thank you for your compliments on the comfortable rooms and amenities.

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Kämp, I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With Warm Regards,

Mika Makkonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent 1 night for pleasure. Everything was working pleasently. Room was big, clean and stylish. Valet parking (not so common in Finland) worked perfectly and we got it free of charge as there was just 10min delay to get our car back in the morning. Breakfast was excellent. Rare to see in Finland a hotel of such international high level of service overall.

Only complaint about some unremoved room service dishes in the corridoor for the whole evening.

It is expensive, but for a reason

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing