We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, inviting hotel”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm, inviting hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of January – first time at this hotel. Excellent location in central Helsinki, in easy walking distance to many fine restaurants. The hotel is very well appointed with comfortable and quiet rooms. All the amenities that a business traveler might require are included. Internet was complimentary. It’s located on a small park that looks like it would be pleasant to walk on during warmer weather. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would like to bring my wife when we hope to come back in the summer.

If you can, try and have dinner at Sundmans Restaurant, just a few blocks away, opposite the Old Market Hall. Was taken there for dinner by my client – one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever enjoyed. Very charming, comfortable restaurant, dating back to 1817.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Kentfield,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on Hotel Kämp. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Specifically I would like to thank you for your compliments on the comfortable rooms and amenities.

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Kämp, I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With Warm Regards,

Mika Makkonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    357
    114
    27
    12
See reviews for
233
480
111
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent 1 night for pleasure. Everything was working pleasently. Room was big, clean and stylish. Valet parking (not so common in Finland) worked perfectly and we got it free of charge as there was just 10min delay to get our car back in the morning. Breakfast was excellent. Rare to see in Finland a hotel of such international high level of service overall.

Only complaint about some unremoved room service dishes in the corridoor for the whole evening.

It is expensive, but for a reason

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

In recent times I stayed 3 times in Kamp and had the same good experience. The hotel has extremely good location and outstanding service for Finland, if you SPG member, they can provide you some extra benefits which save you substantial amounts, as extra are very expensive in Kamp. My friends were even disappointed with the cost of breakfast and parking, but for that service and location I consider it justified.
If you are time conscious and price tag not a first priority for you, I would definitely recommend Kamp

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreySt_Pete15-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Kämp is a very good hotel with room for improvement in service and some kind of facelift. Having said that, it is still the best hotel in Helsinki by far (and, according to Condé Nast, the 2nd best in Northern Europe).

Pros:
+ Location
+ Old world charm hotel
+ Fantastic rooms
+ The doorman wears a proper hat!
+ Good bar with a strong local following

Cons:
- Service can be a bit hit and miss
- Some rooms are rather small, but very tastefully decorated
- Food quality hasn't been that great recently - good news, the restaurant will reopen revamped next month

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a really comfortable hotel in the best location, in the middle of the old town and the shopping district. Two minutes walk from the harbour. I have stayed here twice and have very much enjoyed both visits. We had dinner in the Brasserie, which was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

An elegant old hotel in the city center, nice clean upgraded rooms. but very limited room service menu. And when I asked for coffee at 6am, the front desk told me that I could walk down the street 50 meters to their sister hotel to get coffee, since the hotel facilities were not yet open. that seemed nuts to me. and in the room, you cant turn the lights off from the bed. you need to switch off the master at the door

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millions_0Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good hotel; not five star; but has a great amount of authentic charm. Primary complaint: "internet for a fee"; "free in lobby/bar and restaurant" yet it somehow never seemed to work. Its 2013 in Finland: where free wifi should be a GIVEN. Also: breakfast not included in room price; and the charge for a sub-par buffet breakfast is extortion.
That aside: friendly professional staff, clean spacious rooms which is refreshing as Nordic/Scandi hotels generally lack room space. The furnishings were a bit shop worn - was initially given a room with a grim interior non-view onto a heating/ac until on the 4th floor- i immediately went down to the front desk and asked to be moved. was given a room over looking the side street (not the prettier park view but preferable to what looked like a sad airport hotel view of the interior rooms)
Another Plus: very large bathroom; tastefully subdued, marble tub and shower- all nice.
Minus: the "new" lobby entrance seems to be in need of a refresh; seems tired and a bit worn. The restaurant and bar areas have a lot of charm but again- in the cold light of day it all needs a good scrub down refreshening.
Location: central to shops, museums sites etc.

Room Tip: executive rooms are large if you don't want to pay for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
963 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
342 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing