We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spend a wonderful night in Kämp hotel on 29th august. Our room was in 9th floor, no smoking rooms. First room 928 (if Im not mistaken) had little smoke smell, I guess previous guest had done the forbidden:) Anyway we were given new room, 931, perfect. The last room in the floor, very quiet and facing inner courtyard.
The bed was marvellous, slept like baby. You can also choose among different pillows to sleep on, additionally would you wish they bring spray with relax odour, heated mattress, feet massage thingie, a pillow for aching back and few more accessories (free of charge). Cupboard in the room had also ironing board and presser, plus of course other 5 star amenities (shoe polisher etc). Only when staying longer than I would think bigger cupboard space would be handy.
Bathroom had both bath and shower. Among shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, cotton bads etc you find also bath salt and rubber duck :) wonderful

Breakfast was superb, wide range of fresh juice - very good quality.

I have no comments regards spa, as had no time to visit. During working days spa opened at 11, gym was open 24h.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We reserved a deluxe room with the fantastic "Love Kämp" promotion for 259€/couple that included rose petal baths each day, a welcoming bottle of champagne, and fantastic room service full breakfast every morning. Great concierge service never tired of obtaining for us a restaurant reservation when most were already booked or closed on Sunday or Monday. They even brought a book to the room containing a section on each of the new "foodie" spots. Air conditioned. Windows do open. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Fantastic large bathroom with hand spray at bath, shower, and toilet. Downside: extremely expensive internet service, although they did comp ours due to having to wait for our room to become available. Great location right on the Esplanade. Do recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel well located in the centre for business meetings, the rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel staff we friendly and helpful, it’s a little bit expensive but most definitely the nicest Hotel in Helsinki.

I had a breakfast meeting the following day and was a little disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

As a frequent traveler, I used spg points for the Hotel Kamp, so a great deal . I did check out prices, and it was a bit pricey in comparison ( 30 Euros for breakfast), but the rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The historic Hotel Kamp is in an EXCELLENT location, beautiful rooms, lovely spa and fitness center and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKV3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and in that respect, it is great if you are in town for multiple meetings. But a warning about their restaurant. It seems they tend to forget that you ordered. This has happened to me twice now (once about a year ago, the second time just today). You sit there for 30 minutes like an idiot and then when you ask them about it they faint surprise that the food has not been served, when in fact I suspect they simply forgot to file the order. Whatever the case for the tardiness, this is very frustrating, especially when you arrive late in the evening and hope to catch a quick bite before bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
5  Thank tanabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Passing thru Helsinki and stayed at the Hotel Kamp. My travel agent recommended this hotel as being well located and having nice rooms. I felt that the rooms were not small and that they were more like an American Hotel in size than the typical European Hotel. The group that I was traveling with were all very happy with the accommodations. All of us travel all over the world and stay in the nicest hotels. This is not a 5 star property but one that could achieve that status with improvements to reception and concierge services. I would have no apprehensions of staying here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Awb7bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed here many times. Very consistent service & quality. The rooms are all very comfortable with good bedding and pillows. The bathrooms are very elegant. The location is excellent as you can walk right out on to the esplanade. Great gym with all Cybex equipment.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the Esplanade. The usual rules apply, higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,116 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
550 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
603 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $264 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing