We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A precious market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauppatori

Kauppatori
Book In Advance
$32.50*
and up
Helsinki Red Bus 24h Hop-On Hop-Off Ticket
Ranked #17 of 273 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A precious market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

It's the second time I stop in this market and I have always a lot of fun. I adore the salmon and I ate there it both the times. It was lovely. The vendors are friendly and the atmosphere was very nice. I recommend to stop here at least once.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    262
    79
    19
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
436 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good place to browse, window-shop, and eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were on a tour, but the 7 of us were here on our own so could spend as much time as we wanted to. It was along the way from our hotel, Scandi Marina, to Senate Square and back, so very convenient.
There were all kinds of interesting things, vendors were friendly for the most part, and we had lunch at a Thai food stall right at the end from the Marina (or Uspensky Church) - food was good, but not great, but the food vendor was very friendly.
Vendors offered samples, such as cherries and other food items. However, we didn't find anything in terms of souvenirs to buy.
Can't say there was anything that really "grabbed us", but ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
367 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Souvenirs and food ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I'm going to take a ferry ride to Suomenlinna fortress and I walk past this market to the hkl ferry terminal . Some souvenirs stall are pricey but some stalls are reasonable and you can bargain a little . Compare to Sweden , Norway and Denmark , this country is the cheapest I find to buy souvenirs from this market and it's in Euros not in Kronas. After a tour in Suomenlinna I came back here for a light quick lunch as I was heading to the rock church from the tram nearby . Ate some berries and deer meatballs and salmon rice from one of the stalls . It's tasty ! Very friendly fruit vendors .

Helpful?
Thank kenkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tourist trap :( ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Very expensive prices. Small cafeterias with market athmosphere is worth of money.
Avoid fish restaurants in market square if you like to have good finnish fish food, there is nothing finnish and nothing fresh. In the middle of summer season cheap frozen vegetables with frozen salmon from Norway. Not recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank 15janik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

After visiting this market on a warm Monday in July we feel a little disappointed. There seemed to be no locals here, only tourists, which is always a bad sign. Not all fruit was super fresh, but the prices certainly were super high ...:-) But if it is a reindeer fridge magnet you are after - you've come to the right place!

Better skip this market and opt for the Saluhall just opposite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Knusseltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauppatori also viewed

 

Been to Kauppatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing