We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noteworthy building by Steven Holl, enjoyed "Reality Bites" exhibition 2012”

Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo)
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.48*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #13 of 279 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berlin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Noteworthy building by Steven Holl, enjoyed "Reality Bites" exhibition 2012”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

There doesn't seem to be a permanent collection here, so your view of the museum will depend largely on whether your lucky enough to catch a good exhibition. (I was lucky -- I thought the "Reality Bites" exhibition in autumn of 2012 featured a diverse selection of artists and mostly interesting work.) The building itself is also worth a visit; I thought its ramps and curves felt a bit reminiscent of the NYC Guggenheim, and a few of the rooms offer a good view of the Parliament building.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    228
    89
    30
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“For modern art lovers”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My review is conditioned as someone who does not like modern art. Nevertheless, I gave an opportunity to this museum. The entry is around 10 euros and you have a number of floors and rooms in which you can enjoy multiple work arts from modern artists. Truth is that I did not get any meaning from most of them. You actually need to read the author intention and even so, it may not make any sense. The building is visually attractive and the cafe shop is great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary-yes, but did I really like it?”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I´ve been to Kiasma quite a few times. Sometimes I have liked the exhibitions, sometimes I just don´t didn´t get it. The building is in itself really an piece of art already, it feels like the art has to find a way to fit in to an already finished piece of art. Maybe that´s why I am so ambivalent? There´s a lot of good contemporary art that does not fit here at all... This time only two exhibitions on floor two were open and they were good! Don´t miss Kiasma, and make up your own mind!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank onthemove2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Misleading”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Sorry to give a poor rating but upon arrival and after purchasing tickets we were informed that only one gallery was in fact open as others were in preparation - none of permanent collection was on display - great space but we felt let down

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HawkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toto
1 review
“Don't go there when only one floor is open”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If only one floor is open, it's a total rip off. In this case, don't bother visiting the museum. Instead, just go inside to see the hall and see the cafe with the funky green chairs.
If the whole museum is open, it can be worth it. Otherwise, I'd recommend to go to the Taidehalli instead to see art from Finnish artists.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing