We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, pity about the service”
Review of Alia

Alia
Ranked #693 of 1,522 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Vihti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, pity about the service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Most of teh food we had on Sunday were good or excellent.
The main course (meat) was just perfect, some item on the plate too sweet to my liking, but all in all very, very good.
The service was amateurish, not enough eye to the detail, old plates sat on the table side for ages.
Two best comments: I waited for my espresso for about 5 mins and managede to mention it three times. Comment: This is not a speed restaurant (Tämä ei ole pikaravintola).
After pouring the coffee later the other girl in stead of Olkaa hyvät just commented: Noin!
Would I go back: perhaps?
Would I recommned: I don´t think so.

Outside too many things just hanging there unserviced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food surpassed expectations”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent New Year's eve in Alia. The restaurant is most popular in summer as it is surrounded by woods and sea, but winter is no "down-time" for Alia either (in winter it is best to book in advance, though, to get your menu wishes exactly). Suggested menu was innovative and delivered well to 24 persons. Waiting was intelligent and humorous, and - to our surprise - in several European languages, as one of us is not fluent in Finnish. Wine recommendations were good as well.

The restaurant is an old wooden villa but large enough to accommodate several large parties. Decor is period-compatible (lilac velvet chairs!), not overwhelming, and there is a feeling of space - good for larger parties or people with children, when people want to move around a bit. The view is not seen at dinner in winter (darkness falls early) but the inside is pleasant and table setting beautifully done.

Alia is excellent for larger parties who wonder where to eat in festive season without giving up quality of food. In all too many places restaurants are overbooked and food is a compromise. Not in Alia. It is located 10 minutes from Helsinki city center, so it is a good alternative for groups of people who can and want to book&plan a bit in advance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eeva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good brunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I went to Alia with girl friends for a bachelorette party; the place is lovely, best traditional finnish style.
It is definitely pricy, but worth the experience. Brunch was very good, it starts with a cold dish buffet table which looked and tasted already very good, with different options of traditional finnish food: salads, fish, potatoes and other veggies.
The main course is then served on ready made plates, there are usually two choices: meat or fish. I took the meat and it was very good.
Service was a bit slow but the dessert buffet pays off! Best desserts ive had in a Helsinki restaurant.
Plus: vintage silverware and tableware add a special pretty touch. Also, plan a visit to the zoo after brunch since it is close, at walkinh distance

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I ate here on my Helsinki trip for lunch. I took the buffet. It was exceptional. All the selections was fresh and delicious. Didn't try the main course though, since I'm already too full from the buffet.
The dessert buffet was excellent. I love the chocolate mousse with a strawberry on top.
The location is a bit far from the city. But well worth to travel to.
On a summer day, sit in the outdoor terrace and enjoy the sun and green scenery around.
Pricing is quite expensive for me. But it was worth the experience.
The staffs was helpful, nice and the restaurant has a vintage classic ambiance.
Love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aya_suhastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice brunch in beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a nice brunch with friends. Food and atmosphere - excellent. Sparkling wine was unfortunately cold enough - felt like it hadn't been in the frigde at all. The personnel's attitude is good. Change of the table was organized on request. At the same time, service was slow... Overall pretty nice experience, will repeat it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alia also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Alia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing