We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“KarlJohan - once again”

Restaurant Karljohan
Ranked #95 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“KarlJohan - once again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We live close to KarlJohan - so we have visited there normally once/twice a year during several years. It has been a pleasure to see that they have kept their style and quality of food and service on a level equalling their prices.

This time we had.crayfish soup and gratinated snails as a starter, followed by grilled whitefish and Black Angus sirloin steak as the main course and finishing with chocolate ganache with white chocolate mousse and pistachio ice cream. The menu was completed with recommended white and red wines, which were available by glasses. The menu was just enough to make you content - you were not hungry but you did not want anything more.

The quality of food was almost perfect, except some slight toughness of the meat and personally I was expecting some more garlic in the sauce. The wines recommended matched very well with the food and our mouths.

The service was fast and efficient but not in a exaggerative way.

So as a summary we recommend the place and shall visit sooner or later.again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expensive for the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My long time friends decided to meet for dinner in this restaurant. I found the prices high and portions small, as well was the choise for poor. Plusses for not too loud music.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate dining experience in central Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was a very good find. The restaurant is in a quiet area just of the main central shopping area. If you are looking for something just a little bit different from standard restaurant fare then this is certainly worth considering. The menu changes regularly and there is a daily special. The menu is carefully thought out and well presented. Portions are not enormous but are more than enough and the real experience is much more about savouring the various dishes that have been so thoughtfully created. There is also a good selection of wines by the glass to choose from. The staff are also extremely friendly and helpful. Price wise, you can expect to pay around €40 -€50 per head including wine. (Wine as in most restaurants can significantly add to the cost but here they had a very decent range of house wines ranging from € 6.70 to €8.30 per glass). We would certainly go there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lincs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, WI
Level Contributor
378 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cozy and very Finnish in an elegant way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Conveniently located in the market section of town but tucked away on a side street so is very private. On line reservations work well, and the setting is typical Scandinavian simple elegance. Wait staff is attentive and friendly and facile in English, probably other languages as well. Expect to pay 50 euros for a decent meal, but they had 3 prixe-fixe meals in that range that were nice with a mix of seafood and "turf" meat, although I was disappointed that they did not have reindeer that night. Very tasty and excellent presentation, but the wait time for food was long (very small kitchen), and the portions are more like appetizers, at best. You will not gain weight on their account! Overall, pleasant, relaxed meal in walking distance from the Sokos Presidentti Hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank occdocbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent gem in central Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I initially visited Karl Johan for lunch, based on the good reviews and reasonable prices. The restaurant offers 8 or so lunch options that change daily--the website seems to be updated very diligently with the next days lunch specials, albeit in Finnish only (Google Translate to the rescue!). Prices range from 10e-19e for entrees, and includes salad and bread (to which you help yourself next to the cashier counter after you have ordered). I opted for the sautéed reindeer with mashed potatoes and lingonberries, although I noted that the meatloaf was very popular with the large lunch crowd (which appeared to be mostly local patrons). My entree was excellent--the reindeer was flavorful and not overcooked--but the delicious poppy seed bread stole the show for me.

I enjoyed the lunch so much that I returned for dinner with my traveling companions. Dinner prices are steeper, but average or below for central Helsinki standards, I think. Our table had the reindeer starter, butternut squash soup, vorschmack, fish of the day (grilled salmon with dill sauce), and calf cheek. All of the dishes were done well, particularly the calf cheek, which was very tender. Of course, the poppy seed bread made a return appearance, this time accompanied by a tasty tapenade. The restaurant is not large, but there were only 3 or 4 other tables occupied when we went around 7:30 p.m. on a Wednesday evening in January, so we did not need reservations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Karljohan also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
 

Been to Restaurant Karljohan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing