We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I used to stay in the Holiday Inn near the railway station but decided to have a change. I'm glad I did. This hotel is small in comparison and perhaps not so centrally located but it more than makes up for that with its friendly staff, beautifully decorated and immaculate rooms and fabulous walk in showers. It's located near the harbour so within easy walking distance of the historical parts of Helsinki, the old market and harbour cruises.
The beds are sooo comfortable. I had the best night's sleep I have ever had away from home. I just didn't want to get up!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Comfort Room which was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent small hotel in close walking distance to ferries, the Esplanade and town centre, in a quiet location. Very helpful friendly staff, well organised and efficient in the Finnish way. Room clean and modern and well equipped, very confortable. Excellent self-service breakfast, fresh and constanly renewed. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I arrived from Singapore and at the airport my Myanmar traveling companion lost her handbag with all travel documents. After checking lost and found and being turned away by the airport police who were too busy to make a report we went to the hotel. Despite very early checkin the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was ready for use as a base and they helped us contact the police for the report, to establish the closest Myanmar embassy was in Berlin, to contact the Schengen visa authorities in Singapore to get copies of the stolen papers and print out the emails, organize sworn translations into Italian for the next day's flight to Italy, and into English for our return to Singapore, contact the Singapore Embassy (also not in Helsinki).
The upshot was that we were able to complete our planned schedule of meetings without a hitch and return home with only some delay in clearing passport control.
Without thus kind if exceptionally efficient help we could have been stranded abroad for weeks since Myanmar takes 90 days to replace passports!
Words are just not enough to cover this assistance - and since all the arrangements were dine in the morning they were able to advise my daughter about sights to see and where to try exceptional traditional Finnish dinner at a reasonable price.
They turned a nightmare into a pleasant stay with good memories.
I have stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels the world has to offer, but what the people at Fabian did was beyond even the greatest luxury - service way beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MNDCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The decor and facilities are top class, the location very convenient for all the sights and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Much more personal than the larger chains and can't fault anything. Small but high quality breakfast and excellent wifi speed. Unlikely to consider anywhere else next time in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottzbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in late July 2013. Great location, easy walking distance to Esplanade, harbor, restaurants. Best of all was the staff and how helpful they were. They were amazing when we had to deal at length with problems with our flights back to the US--helpful, patient, encouraging. They also were very helpful in finding restaurants, when many were closed for the summer holidays. Lovely room, nice breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Unobtrusive and individualistic boutique hotel down a long side street about 5 minutes walk away from the more select part of the city centre.

The lobby was tidily designer, with a reception manned by polite and efficient young staff.

We had a stylish Lux suite just off the ground floor patio. We had asked for a quiet location, and didn't hear a peep our entire stay. The comfortable little lounge was probably slightly overfurnished, but we liked the clean and versatile kitchenette. Just like being at home, with all that one might need to supplement a hotel stay. Big fridge, kettle and plenty of hot beverage facilities (including a Nespresso), loads of utensils, cutlery, crockery and glasses - even a microwave. We also had an MP3 player and a large flatscreen TV with plenty of sports and undubbed american/british programmes

In the bedroom area there was a big, firm, wide bed with individual duvets, and another large flatscreen TV right opposite. Not much room for bedside stands. In fact, on one side an adjacent cupboard door could barely open due to lack of room which made accessing the easy-to-operate safe a bit of a contortion. Wardrobe space slightly impeded by the occupation of an ironing board with a monster iron attached to the top.

The attractive cloakroom had plenty of space including a capacious shower stall with an adjustable shower head generating plenty of consistent hot water. No water seepage or mirror misting, and a top of the range hairdryer was available for tonsorial activities.

Just a step across the patio for breakfast each day. Impressive economy of space in a pseudo-kitchen just off reception and manned by two industrious ladies providing fresh wares and ensuring a spotlessly clean and tidy facility. There's a good range of mainly cold options on offer, but all high quality and plenty of it (slightly questionable porridge excepted). Good to see plenty of fresh filter coffee too.

All areas were clean, tidy and attractive. Our room missed servicing one day, but once reported the guy in reception came round to empty bins and do any other room stuff that was necessary.

We had taxied in from the Airport, but Reception got us a fixed fare cab back for 40E which was 5E less than the metered fare on the way in.

Next to the hotel is a very well stocked Alko (yes, really) off licence, and there is also a supermarket just across the nearest square. Several restaurants within 10 minutes walk away.

Helsinki is a very civilised, orderly place and most places are generally central so easily walkable, although the tram system is regular and easy to use. Use of the english language is widespread and, it seemed to me, just about perfectly spoken by all practitioners. Not a lot of Brits or Americans around either so it seems less touristy as a result. And it's certainly very bracing in April!

If I returned, I wouldn't even bother to look for an alternative to the Fabian. Book direct; rates were very competitive

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElmParkRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Fabian and what else can I say other than... amazing.

Was nice to get off a 27hr flight from Sydney into such a nice establishment and be welcomed so warmly into the city. The room is well appointed with great comfortable beds, great shower\bathroom.

The guys at the front desk pointed us towards a great pub for a few drinks, suggested a great place to eat as well and were more than happy to help out. We were catching the boat to Stockholm in the afternoon after checking out and they were more than happy to store our bags for us during this time. Breakfast was amazing, a great spread indeed.

As commented in other posts there is a supermarket around the corner (about 100m away) and is central to EVERYTHING, so walking to just about everywhere is more than possible from this location.

Do yourself a favour and stay here if you are in Helsinki.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank KarlNLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
510 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
570 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,094 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,843 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $149 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing