We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely hotel, great position.”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely hotel, great position.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014. The hotel was warm (very necessary when it's so cold outside the sea has frozen over!), the room stylish and the bed was really really comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and one of the best I have experienced in any hotel in the world. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again should we return to the wonderful city of Helsinki.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tilstongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    260
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
154
513
81
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Fabian hotel during a weekend trip to Helsinki. The hotel is a very good hotel, good service from the staff. The room was spacious, clean and very nice. Breakfast was in a comfy place, relaxing and the food was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Got a deluxe courtyard room since the sister hotel where I usually stay, Hotel Haven, was fully booked. Hotel Fabian is a very good hotel, although it can't quite match Its sister. Very friendly staff in the reception, excellent breakfast buffet, good WiFi and clean & adequate rooms. No hotel restaurant where it's possible to have dinner was the only drawback. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on New Year's eve this year. We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. It is positioned well, easy walking distance to centre of town but in a quiet little side street.

The studio room was great. It had everything we could need but most of all the pillows, duvet and Bed were all good quality (it makes such a difference). In fact the beds are split (not that its overly noticeable except you don't get disturbed when your partner fidgets!) and you each have your own duvet, which I quite liked and might copy! The room was spotlessly clean and tidy. We slept extremely well, with no noise heard at all. Shower was powerful. Bathroom not huge but sufficient. Towels white and fluffy and big enough. Breakfast was decent with a good choice.
Staff were really friendly and helpful.
An extremely nice hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallycooperOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Large well furnished rooms that are clean, large and modern even though the hotel is one of the smaller hotels. The staff were very helpful with very good English and the breakfast was very good. It is about a 10 -20 minute walk to the city and the staff will help you find the a restaurant that is not to pricey - Helsinki is expensive. We loved Helsinki and only spent two days and will be coming back and staying at the marvelous hotel. It does not have a swimming pool but we were told we could avail ourselves of a sister hotels facilities. We decided not too as we were too tired so can't comment of the sports facilities. Our room was whisper quiet even though it was close to the lift.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrainChangeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Yes, this hotel is going to get a great review. Again. I travel a lot for work around Asia, where high quality hotels and service are available in abundance. But when I travel on holiday I rarely go to chain hotels. I usually look for something with its own character, which the Fabian has. The biggest surprise was the size of my room. I chose the Comfort room - the lowest rate type available. It was the largest I've stayed in when travelling in Europe. No, I did not have a view and to be quite honest, who cares when you have such a lovely space to stay. I looked into the central 'courtyard' if you like, which is not uncommon in Europe. The large tiled entrance area of the room was such a bonus. I hate lugging a suitcase into hotel rooms, then, with hardly any room to swing it around, am expected to perch it on one of those strap tables for the duration of my stay. Here I didn't need to. I opened everything up in the entrance area, unpacked and then rolled my suitcase into the wardrobe. The room had a large, comfortable bed. Big windows. A sofa. TV. Safe. Good wi-fi (included). Mini-bar. There were probably tea and coffee making facilities, I don't know, I don't worry about that stuff. I prefer to find local cafes. The bathroom had a nice size shower. Reception was pleasant and helpful. Helsinki is an expensive city, and while this was not the cheapest hotel, it was certainly not the most expensive. Especially for a room of this size and decor. I loved the location. There is a wine shop next door, and a supermarket and post office around the corner. You are minutes away from the city's Design Centre, and less than 10 minutes walk to the main thoroughfare. You can be at the waterfront in a matter of minutes. There are a number of cafes and restaurants nearby. I was there on New Year's Eve so beware - a lot of places close at this time. There is a small market down at the waterfront that includes a couple of nice silver jewellery makers. The breakfast was excellent and included in the price. Choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheeses, cold meats, boiled eggs, breads, croissants, salmon... put it this way, you won't be left wanting. If I return to Helsinki, this is where I will stay. No hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpujarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed here three times in the last 6 months (heading back there again tomorrow - 09/01/14). The staff are great. Very friendly, courteous and helpful. Rooms are modern smart and clean. Complimentary WiFi throughout.

The hotel is quiet, being away from the main shopping area. However, it's just a couple of minutes walk to the Esplanadi.

There are no tea/coffee main facilities in the room. But an espresso or cappuccino is always available from the reception/bar - plus some nice local beers. Great choice at breakfast too!

Cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Helsinki now.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
346 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
418 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
965 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,319 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing