We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good breakfast, clean and sharp looking rooms. Fast internet. Great hot shower. Well located in downtown Helsinki. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff was quite professional. A very clean room with modern look and feel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zapoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    263
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
155
523
85
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Surely there are cheaper ways to stay in Helsinki, but this cute hotel has its own atmosphere with a very design oriented look and feel. Its not one of these dark design hotels where you hardly find your way. Every room has its specialty. The service is very welcoming and I strongly recommend the very home made breakfast, really a good start into the day.

Some of the rooms are barrier-free for wheelchair usage, I had one of those but I did not really recognized it until somebody was talking about the same installations in his room.

The hotel is close to the water/ ferries and also to the old city center, so you can enjoy seeing different things close by.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andro7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon and were a little wary after our experience in Stockholm. We need not have worried as the room was spacious and the bathroom the same. It is the little things that make a hotel; the welcome at the desk, having space and pegs for the jackets and coats that are necessary for the climate, a comfortable bed, proper doona, a good size shower and a good breakfast (included for us at least). Hotel Fabian has it all. Although a little out of the centre of the city, it was only a 5 minute walk to the Etelaesplanadi, where many of the tourist activities are located. I have seen it rated as number 1 in Helsinki and can see how that ranking might have been achieved based on our experience. They also facilitated our late night departure providing luggage storage and somewhere to change our clothes for the trip home to Melbourne (Finnair of course).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at Fabian's is just great! The small reception and the really cosy ambient are just perfect! The super polite and super professional receptionist makes the arrival even more comfortable.
Rooms are clean, nice design and with all comfort! Definitively my choice during my next travel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My fiance and I loved our stay here last weekend! The room was perfect for a weekend away for a couple - spacious - the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. The decor was lovely. The breakfast was varied and tasty and the hotal staff were ever so helpful. We will definitely be returning when we vist our friends in Helsinki next

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was an awesome hotel!!!!! I arrived early but no problem my room was already ready! Got checked in and was off to explore. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the water, many cathedrals, parks, and the main shopping area. Very convenient! The room was very spacious!! Really a large area. Had space for comfy chairs and a huge bed! It was also very clean and sleek looking. The breakfast buffet is pretty good. Not a lot of hot options but still good. Free wifi and maybe about 20 minutes ride to the airport!! Great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed for 2 nights during a short break in Helsinki and hotel entirely met our expectations. Arrived a little earlier and were offered to keep our bags at the reception while we explore the city. The check in was fast and they brought us kettle in the room with some tea bags when we asked for it. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, but I would also love to have some omlettes and bacon. Our check-out was at 4 a.m. so we asked for some breakfast to go, which hotel gladly provided. We stayed in basic room on the fifth floor right next to the elevator. But it was super quiet, we couldn't hear a thing which was a great surprise. The bed was luxurious and comfortable, sheets are changed every 3 days, but you can place a "laundry day" card on the bed and they will change it as often as you like. We didn't notice complimentary water in the room, but we were fine without it.
The location is in the quiet part of Helsinki, but very close to the city center. There is no sauna, swimming pool or gym, as other reviewers mentioned, so this is not the place for the gym bunnies.

Overall a wonderful hotel we loved and would gladly recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 501 right next to elevator, but it is completely sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewWave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
441 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
384 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
997 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,345 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing