We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, clean quiet hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean quiet hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the outside the hotel is unassuming, on the inside it is fresh and well appointed. We stayed one night in a room with twin beds together. The room was of a good size and clean. We stayed on a Saturday night and the room was quiet and we had a comfortable nights sleep. No coffee/tea making facilities as is generally the case in Europe - it would improve travel in Europe if all hotels provided such facilities. However there is an iron and ironing board in the room. There is a good size shower room (no bath). Good towels and bath robes provided. There is also good wardrobe space with a room safe.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There is a good buffet selection for breakfast. Overall this is a very comfortable and quiet hotel which provides a great base from which to explore Helsinki at a very reasonable price.

At the moment the courtyard is undergoing renovation but this did not affect us in any way.

The hotel is just a few minute walk from the market square and harbour. Helsinki is easy to walk around if you are moderately fit. Also the number 2/3 tram (formerly 3T) which passes through market square, does a figure 8 loop through the city and is an inexpensive way to tour the city. A 24 hour ticket is 8 Euros. From the harbour at market square you can also catch the ferry to Suomenlinna Fortress which is also covered by the 24 hr travel ticket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    237
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
140
461
79
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Admittedly, I booked our stay at the Fabian due to the strength of the reviews from this site. I am delighted to report that the Fabian didn't let me down in any way!

We came in to Helsinki via the Silja line ferry, and the Fabian was only a 5-6 block walk from the ferry dock, easily manageable even with baggage. It is also only about a 4-6 block walk to the "Esplanade", the main shopping street, and Alexanterinkatu, another vibrant street with tons of shops and restaurants. It is also close to the city's harbor market, which had some great produce.

We stayed in a "Style" room, although I'm not sure what the difference is. Turned out to be a loft room on the top floor, complete with slanted ceiling beams (watch your head!) and a courtyard view. The room was impeccably decorated, with all of the modern touches you'd expect from such a new hotel. The bed was very comfortable and we had tons of towels and bathrobes, whatever we needed.

The breakfast downstairs was solid (typical European breakfast: bread, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, cold cut meats) and was included in our room rate. The staff at the hotel did everything they could to go above and beyond. We arrived mid-morning and our room was not ready, so they took our baggage so we could start exploring and then we returned in the afternoon to find that not only was our room ready, but they had delivered our bags to the room, without us even asking.

Overall, I couldn't recommend a stay here enough; it definitely has everything you need and the price is quite reasonable for all that you get with it. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Great Location, friendly staff, big room. Couldn't really ask for anything more. Loved the breakfast each morning. The staff were also really friendly. Wifi was really fast. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Helsinki.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Conor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This well-located hotel is delightful in every way, from the consistently warm welcome of the knowledgeable, friendly Receptionists, to the beautifully designed, well-maintained and well-equipped bedrooms/bathrooms, to the delicious, healthy, spoilt-for-choice breakfast (and excellent coffee), to the comfortable bar/sitting area and the welcome courtyard - for me it was faultless.

Helsinki is doubtless an expensive city but Hotel Fabian represents good value for money in that context. And for those, like us, watching their pennies there is an excellent off-license next door stocked with a wide range of surprisingly well-priced wines and spirits, as well as a good supermarket just five minutes' walk away.

In a word: superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed for four nights n September 2013 on non-business travel in a "Comfort Room" (Room 304) in the Fabian. I paid 520 euros total (120 each for 3 nights (Fri/Sat/Sun), 160 for Monday). I enjoyed it and would stay there again.

Location:
- Very good. Not quite as convenient to shops and restaurants as being slightly north of the Esplanade would be, but quieter, and still fine. More attractive neighborhood than the area around the train station.
- About a 7-minute walk from the Fabian to the harbor end of the Esplanade, passing a large grocery store and a couple of restaurants (didn't try) along the way.
- About a 5-minute walk slightly downhill from the hotel to the Makasiini Terminal, from which the fast Linda Line ferries to Tallinn leave. There's a handy stop on the #3 tram line on that same path to the ferry terminal.
- About a 15-minute walk to the main train station.

Room:
- My room (304, "Comfort Room" class) was smallish but immaculate and chic. The room I was initially assigned was quite a bit larger and brighter, but I asked to change to one with a single large bed rather than two small beds.
- Few flat surfaces in the room (the bedside tables are more for looks than utility), so most things had to be stored on the desktop or in the closet.
- Very large and nice flat-screen TV (see photos).
- No tea-and-coffee-making setup provided in the room -- but I called down to the front desk, and they cheerfully brought up an electric kettle within five minutes.
- Excellent lighting -- lots of it (overhead and lamps), and everything controllable with dimmers.
- Good wifi, included in price of room.
- Roomy bathroom, with no tub but a huge walk-in shower (the kind with no curtain or door).
- Three accessible plugs -- one on either side of the bed, one at floor level near the desk.

Breakfast:
- Stylish breakfast area, on the small side but never so packed that a seat was unavailable.
- Nice spread of meats, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.

Hotel staff and lobby:
- Staff were friendly and efficient. As another reviewer wrote, they seemed happy to be there.
- The seating side of the hotel lobby is a very comfortable and stylish lounge/bar. I took a cup of coffee over there after breakfast to sit with a book, and a couple of other guests were using the space to collaborate on some work. It's a nice space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

...this hotel is located within a block of the harbour and well within reach of the downtown attractions. The room was well appointed, although my room (607) was quite small. Shower, no tub, and probably too small for two people in the bathroom. Good use of space, though the shower door was tight to get around. Would really have liked one of those collapsing suitcase benches, but setting it up would have been tight!
Reception and checkout was excellent - I arrived at 0230h but the doors were open and there was someone waiting for me to check me in. Nice for such a small hotel, but it probably helped that I had warned them in advance.
For a two night business stay, though, the place was excellent. Breakfast was limited by the space available but there was a good variety of fresh food, and an outdoor patio to eat it on if you wanted to. Plenty of restaurants around the hotel, but the busier, main shopping area is closer to the railway station almost directly north - a short walk, no more.
There are hotels at the airport for those passing through, but if you have the time, the city centre is quite surprisingly worth a visit if the weather is good, and the Fabian is a good central base. Cab fare in the early morning was 50 Euros, but it is a long ride.
If I did stay there again, I might ask if they had a slightly larger room, but otherwise much recommended.

Room Tip: If you have baggage or more than one person, ask for a larger room, if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a well located hotel a short walk from the harbour in Helsinki. The hotel is well maintained and beautifully decorated in a modern style. We stayed in a comfort room which was a very good size with a large bathroom and shower area. As a guide the bedroom included a desk, small glass table and a chair and there was still plenty of room to move around. Also the bed was very comfortable. The hotel breakfast buffet was of a very good standard with plenty of healthy options. The staff were very helpful and obliging. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from Esplanadi, the main shopping street in Helsinki and within an easy walk of restaurants.
This hotel comes highly recommended and well worth considering for accommodation in Helsinki.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506, no view but an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49-States-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing