We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is close to all the action in Helsinki. We stayed 2 nights and found the room fresh, modern and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and spacious and the overall sleep quality was excellent- very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was of great quality and variety. Would definitely stay again!

If you have time in Helsinki, Suomenlinna is worth an afternoon visit (in any weather- it's not just for summer) and you can easily take the ferry from the harbour. Very nice to walk around; you feel very distant from the city. About €8 for a travel card.

Porvoo is also an excellent day trip - a quaint Finnish town with wooden buildings. The buses leave from under the Kamppi shopping centre, about 2 an hour for a 1 hr journey. About €11-12 each way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    263
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
155
525
86
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Friendly service, nice rooms, comfy beds, hearty breakfast. Go for Fabian. Oh, the other bicycle they're lending for city touring was broken but let's not mention that, because the staff immediately called the hand man to fix it... ;)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked Hotel Fabian based on the excellent reviews and weren't disappointed. We stayed for 9 nights. Our comfort room (#210) was a good size. The room was square so the sofa was at the end of the bed and made the room feel larger than a typical oblong room where the sofa is next to the beds. There was a closet with built-in shelving/iron & board. A second cupboard held two sliding shelves, a safe and fridge/mini bar. We took a few things out of the mini bar and stored some store-bought wine and sandwiches. Lots of lighting in the room. Bathroom was a good layout with lots of counter space and counter above the toilet. Large shower with rain shower head and great water pressure. Water temperature was easily adjustable. A plug-in 1200 watt hair dry supplied. Worked well on my chin length hair. The magnifying mirror was approximately 3X so bring your own if you need more magnification. The room faced the courtyard (south) and was very quiet. Never heard any running water from other rooms as is typical in a lot of hotels. Central air conditioning worked well and without any mechanical sounds, just the sound of the air blowing. Temperature was adjustable. There's a thin mesh curtain over the windows to give privacy and light during the day and then curtains for overnight. They weren't total blackout curtains and there was some light filtering through in the early morning, but wasn't an issue for us. Large flat screen TV with Finnish/English/Swedish/Russian/German stations. My husband is trying to learn Finnish so enjoyed listening to the English programming and reading the Finnish subtitles. Location was great. 15 minute level walk from the train station and 5 minutes to the waterfront. Area was very quiet (seemed to be predominantly offices) and it seemed everyone who was walking along the street in the evenings was staying at the hotel. Liquor store right next door, grocery store and post office just a block away. Breakfasts were filling...lots of cheeses, meats, fruits, breads, yoghurt, cereal, peppers, tomatoes and hard cooked eggs. Juices, tea, coffee and even lactose free milk. You could eat inside, in the sun room or outside in the courtyard. There's a laptop at reception for your use if you don't travel with a laptop or smartphone. We did our airline check in on-line using the laptop and the reception staff printed out the boarding passes for us. The hotel has two bikes you can use (first come-first served). Also a good supply of full sized umbrellas. They loaned us a European adapter to keep in our room for the time we were there to re-charge our camera batteries. The hotel is about 3 years old and from what we saw was in excellent condition. Only used the elevator when we had luggage. We used the stairwell door that lead off of the courtyard. You needed your room card to access the stairwell from the courtyard and then again to get to the hallway on your floor. Front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. Kiitos, Noora, for letting John practice his Finnish with you! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Fabian and hope we get a chance to stay there again one day.

Room Tip: Looking at the fire escape chart on the back of the door, our room (210) seemed to be larger than so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseTracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The atmosphere of this hotel is very nice: modern, tranquil and cosy. Our room was very spacious compared to most hotelrooms in Helsinki. Breakfast was good and staff extremely friendly. Location beside the sea and the Tähtitorninmäki park is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMaria2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. It is as good as stated on here.

The room was very clean and comfortable with a terrific bed and great bathroom. You have an iron, a safe, a mini fridge stocked with plenty of drinks, and snacks (drinks and snacks are not free).

The front desk staff is extremely helpful and will give you whatever it is you need (they will even make you a stiff drink right at the front desk!).

Standard European complimentary breakfast (no hot food, plenty of breads, cereal, pastries, sliced meats and cheeses, fruits).

It is a very clean, comfortable, quiet, and well maintained hotel at a fairly affordable price. I don't believe it will be frequent for me to afford the #1 rated Tripadvisor hotel in a city so it was a real treat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This simple boutique hotel has a great location and a pieceful atmosphere. Very nice and clean rooms are very different than what most hotel chains offer in Finland. Also the breakfast is very healthy and fresh. The hotel is very small, but the atmosphere is excellent and the service really nice.

Top floor rooms feel like a stylish attic and even offer a little bit of view to Helsinki's roof tops. There are great restaurants just around the corner and a park area just a block away to relax or go running.

We visited the hotel in June 2013 and were surprised how mixed the visitors were. There were families, couples and business travellers from all around the world.

Fabian is a very safe bet if you want to stay in Helsinki and have a nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Top floor "style" rooms are recommended since they offer a little bit of view above the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived in Helsinki very tired after a transatlantic trip and a missing suitcase. The hotel staff was so genuinely friendly and empathetic. They right away asked for a copy of our luggage claim in order for them to follow up also. The staff remained attentive throughout our stay. The staff was the best part of our stay.
Check in and out were smooth and the room was clean, modern and comfortable.
The location of the hotel is excellent making walking around to shops, restaurants and attractions easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jullisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
442 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
385 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,002 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,345 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing